$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
550 C STREET SW, WASHINGTON, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
398 reviews
good location

everything good' great location. need to have limo service to and from airport, See full review

  • lucfy
  • Jun 25, 2014
Weekend getaway

This hotel is within walking distance of countless attractions and the rooms are amazing. Will... See full review

  • Your Helpful Friend
  • Jun 12, 2014
Downtown hotel near the National Mall, museums and monuments

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.8856 -77.0193
Nearby airports
BALT-WASH INTL, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; DULLES INTERNATIONAL, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Serving breakfast buffet daily, lunch buffet on weekdays and dinner nightly.
Express Deli
In a hurry? No time to spare? The Shuttle features continental style breakfast, Krispy Kreme donuts, sandwiches on fresh baked rolls, soup, fruit salads, the Megameal of the Day and Pizza Hut Express Pizza.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (398)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 398
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frightened Traveler
Business
Kansas
Mar 6, 2012

Worst Stay I Have Ever Had

I stayed the weekend in D.C. at the Holiday Inn-Capitol and had the absolute worst experience ever at a hotel. I have traveled around the world, and I have never been disturbed by rowdy guests to the extent that I was here. I was woken by a group of young men yelling, cursing, and threatening one another both nights of my stay. Apparently the hotel neglected to ask these young men to leave because the same thing happened the next night. Each time the disturbance went on for at least 45 (from 2:30-3:15 on Friday and from 4:30 on, Saturday), and on Saturday night, I had to call the front desk when I heard the fight escalate to the point of one man breaking glass. I was frightened to leave my room after midnight each night I stayed there. Also, on the second night of my stay, I was awoken at 3:30 in the morning by a fire alarm. The entire hotel was evacuated, and we stood outside in 40 degree weather in pajamas for thirty minutes. The entire time we were outside, I never once saw a hotel official. No one came out to inform the guests what was going on. I never heard hotel staff tell us we could return to our rooms. Do not stay at the hotel simply for the fact that they host unruly guests and do not properly address the safety issues that arise from their unruly guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 15, 2011

ok

Bed was uncomfortable and bathrooms were not as clean as you would expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 15, 2011

ok

Bed was uncomfortable and bathrooms were not as clean as you would expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
momtojamn
Business
Lincoln, NE
Mar 13, 2011

Great location, clean hotel

The hotel is in a great location to visit Smithsonian museums and other D.C. must-see spots. One and a half blocks from the L'Enfant metro stop, which can be taken from Reagan National airport. For the location, the price is excellent. The hotel isn't the nicest in the area, but for the price, it's not bad. If you're interested in night-life, stay somewhere around Dupont Circle instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D.W.H.P.
Business
Washington D.C.
Mar 3, 2013

Business trip, week long stay

I have no complaints with my stay. I was in town for an entire week. I had to shuttle each day from one of the Smithsonian locations on the Mall to an outlying Smithsonian building so the location was perfect. Just two block behind the mall, it is easy and convenient. The hotel was satisfactory, nothing was wrong. Its not over the top classy, but I did not need that. There are two restaurants and a Starbucks on site which made food easy and accessible too. My only complaint about the area is that there was no easy way for me to get the groceries I would have liked to have on hand. The CVS next door allowed me a few standbys which I was greatful for, but it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit and veggies. But, its a small payoff for the convenience. And I'm sure I could have taken a cab to a local grocer if needed. Overall I was very satisfied with my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on visiting the museums and attractions on the National Mall this hotel is extrememly convenient. A very short two block walk to it all, making pit stops at your hotel a possibility.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
momtojamn
Business
Lincoln, NE
Mar 13, 2011

Great location, clean hotel

The hotel is in a great location to visit Smithsonian museums and other D.C. must-see spots. One and a half blocks from the L'Enfant metro stop, which can be taken from Reagan National airport. For the location, the price is excellent. The hotel isn't the nicest in the area, but for the price, it's not bad. If you're interested in night-life, stay somewhere around Dupont Circle instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 6, 2010

Price

[...] Only negative - guests slamming doors kept me awake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try cafe at Native American Museum nearby for unusual (although not cheap) lunch.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LizSue
Business
Greenville SC
Jul 2, 2012

Great location, fine hotel

This hotel is in a great location near the National Mall and the metro. Conveniently, has a few restaurant options and Starbucks. Room is average but clean. I have stayed in this hotel a number of times because of the great location. The fitness room needs work and usually only one treadmill is working - however, this visit none of the treadmills were working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat at Matchbox near Chinatown. It is right off the Gallery Place/chinatown metro stop.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 6, 2010

Price

[...] Only negative - guests slamming doors kept me awake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try cafe at Native American Museum nearby for unusual (although not cheap) lunch.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
p.dizzle
Business
harrisburg, pa
Jan 8, 2013

Good value

I didn't pay a lot for this hotel room, so I didn't expect a lot. But it was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. The only complaint I had was that the toilet ran off and on throughout my stay which disrupted my sleep - not a huge deal, but it was slightly annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top