$140 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
View map of 550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alewisga
Business
Smyrna, GA, USA
Jan 23, 2013

Inguration Experience

The hotel was OK, the biggest issue was the room temperature was hard to regulate and refrigerator froze our food. Overall, it was a great location for attending the presidential inauguration. The hotel gave inauguration gifts, one per room, so if you had more than one person in the room, you were out of luck. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D.W.H.P.
Business
Washington D.C.
Mar 3, 2013

Business trip, week long stay

I have no complaints with my stay. I was in town for an entire week. I had to shuttle each day from one of the Smithsonian locations on the Mall to an outlying Smithsonian building so the location was perfect. Just two block behind the mall, it is easy and convenient. The hotel was satisfactory, nothing was wrong. Its not over the top classy, but I did not need that. There are two restaurants and a Starbucks on site which made food easy and accessible too. My only complaint about the area is that there was no easy way for me to get the groceries I would have liked to have on hand. The CVS next door allowed me a few standbys which I was greatful for, but it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit and veggies. But, its a small payoff for the convenience. And I'm sure I could have taken a cab to a local grocer if needed. Overall I was very satisfied with my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on visiting the museums and attractions on the National Mall this hotel is extrememly convenient. A very short two block walk to it all, making pit stops at your hotel a possibility.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Papa Golf
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 30, 2013

location, location!

perfect for a visito to the Mall + historic DC with children

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC Tourist 2013
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Apr 9, 2013

Could be better

We arrived and had a room ready for us. Unfortunately, the A/C didn't work and we ended up having someone come to fix it (not offered a different room) at midnight! The "unit" was replaced after about 30 min of work, which meant....we went to bed at 1 am and checked out at 10 am! Breakfast is expensive and not a significant variety to offer (buffet breakfast is $16 plus taxes) so, for a group of 4 be prepared to pay about $85 total. Breakfast a la carte doesn't go below $11 and with coffee and OJ ($3 and $4) you get an idea of what you're paying for a simple b'fast Location is good and the option to self park, the 24-H parking fee until 5 pm on check-out day is a very good deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jwilly
Business
phila
Aug 5, 2013

DC Weekend

Very close to the sites and Downtown DC-Room could have been better though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dine in downtown dc its a short drive with lots of options

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1 weekender
Business
Charlottesville VA
Oct 1, 2013

weekend trip to nat mall

Pleasant front desk staff, I didn't interact with other staff. Room has some wear-some peeling and older wall paper, older furniture. Bed was comfy enough. Parking costs about $35 extra. About 2 blocks to air and space museum. Capital, Washington mom, Natural History museum all w/I walking distance and I had 2 younger kids. Able to walk to China town/Gallery within 15-20 minutes. Need to walk about 10 min to get a good meal (did not try hotel restauants) but there is McDonalds and sub place 2 doors away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel Mom w 3 kids
Business
Syracuse, NY
Oct 15, 2013

Had fun despite government shut down

OK - so not luxury 5 star - but this hotel is is a great location. If you are driving in, plan on $30+tax per night for parking. But was able to park until 5pm the night of our check out so we were able to sightsee more that day. Kudos to the staff there. My daughter forgot her iPod charger (and was distraught) it was too late for us to shop for a replacement. We asked Cedric at the bell desk and he and the person at the front desk asked around until they found a staff member with the same charger. They offered to charge her iPod while we went out to dinner - this made for a very happy daughter! Many thanks to the staff there. The hotel is very close to Air and Space Museum (and the tour bus/trolley stops) Even with the government shutdown, this was very convenient for us becasue we could jump right on for a ride to the Newseum or the International Spy Museum. I didn't find the noise to be an issue, the room was clean / very little mold/mildew stains in the shower. But generally good all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks is right off the lobby and McDonalds is on the corner. There is also a Quiznos and a CVS pharmacy in the adjacent plaza. Kids eat free at Holiday Inn - but menu is very limited - very small portions for a 12 year old.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kellyannfer
Business
Cleveland, OH
Dec 3, 2013

Great Location!

This is a great hotel for a budget-friendly trip to DC. Everything is within walking distance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Not a lot of dining in this area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha
Jul 22, 2009

The staff were helpful and polite..

Went to DC for vacation, chose this hotel due to location, room appeared to be clean, accidently split some salad dressing on the carpet. I wet a washcloth to "dab" up the dressing, was shocked to see how dirty the washcloth got, it was like I had used it to wipe off a shoe that had been in the mud. I was shocked. I found a convenience store and bought some Lysol cleaner for the bathroom. The wallpaper in the bathroom was pealing off, the tile in the bathroom needed to be recalked and the tub needed to be reglazed. The cleaning staff spent very little time in the room. On the positive side, the room was quiet and we did have very warm water for showers. I was very disapointed, I would have expected better and cleaner rooms from hotels costing half as much. The workout room was nice with good equipment, however it was so warm in there, I didn't want to stay in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We chose the Open Top Bus Tour, I would recomment this to my friends as a good buy and worth the money. The L'enfant plaza is a short distance from the hotel (1 1/2 blocks), which offers rides via the Metro to most all locations, including the Union Station. When given the choice, take the Metro instead of the MARC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FirstTimeTravelertoDC
Business
DeKalb, IL, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Decent - but recommend some deep cleaning

Pros: Great location for our first trip to DC. Was able to walk to many of the museums and landmarks that were on our list. Easy access to Metro stops. Was mostly clean and had the amenities I expected. Nice to have a fridge in the room. Also there's a Starbucks in the same building and a less expensive coffee/deli option on the same block and a CVS pharmacy on the same block. There is also a McDonalds on that same block. Cons: Bathroom had mold in the shower/tub ceiling. Possibly due to the fact that there's no vent fan in the bathroom. Also mold on the tiles/grout in the tub area. Air conditioning unit looked nasty. The grates on the unit looked like they had not been cleaned in a long time. Also - when it turned on there was a nasty smell - not unlike rotten eggs. The smell eventually went away (or we got used to it). Lastly, they tried to bill us $16.99 for a movie. When we checked out I inquired which movie and she came back with an adult-film title. I assured the front desk staff that since I was traveling with my husband, 20 month old, mother and father, I was 100% certain no adult movies were viewed. She said she'd take it off the credit card. Glad I double-checked the invoice and didn't just do the "express" checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you just want basic coffee and an inexpensive breakfast, walk down the block to the Deli/Cafe instead of Starbucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top