$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
View map of 550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott Peterson.
Family
Erie PA
Jun 18, 2012

Well located but underwhelming

Had to wait an hour for check-in, which I have never had to do at any hotel. Had to settle for a room on the railroad tracks or risk waiting longer. Hotel needs an update as it is run down. Staff was okay, the maids kept the room clean enough. Pool was nice. Great location. Close to the museums and monuments. We spent most of our time away from the room which was probably a blessing. I might stay again for the location itself but the place really does need remodeled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the museums and monuments.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane G.
Family
Buffalo, NY
Aug 7, 2012

fabulous time

This hotel was the perfect location to many of the museums and only a short cab ride to anything else. I would certainly stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Town Trolley gives a wonderful tour of the city and allows you to hop on and off and different stops. There are three different lines, so you can see tours of different areas of Washington. We loved it!

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kal693
Family
North Tonawanda, NY
Aug 8, 2012

Good Hotel

The hotel was very clean. The location was good to get to the Washington Mall, the Capitol,and the subway; however it only had one restaurant and a bar/grill. There was really no restaurants in the area except fast food. You would have to take the subway or city bus to get to an area that had a number of restaurants to choose from because it would be too far to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
woodguy3
Couples
North Carolina
Sep 27, 2012

Quick vacation

Overall a good experience. Hotel is very well located for business or vacation. It is a little dated but quite serviceable. Rooms are comfortable but nothing special--typical Holiday Inn. We will go back on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip expensive hotel breakfast and go to Cosmo Cafe across the street.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Political Observer
Friends
Louisville, Ky
Dec 9, 2012

Great for tourist access.

The location was great for the location and price. We were happy with the cleanliness and how quiet it was. Staff were helpful with keeping our bags for us when we arrived early and wanted to begin our sightseeing prior to checking and after we checked out. The location allowed for walking to many tourist locations and cab rides were not expensive when we got too to walk any more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vega149
Family
Virginia Beach, VA
Jan 7, 2013

Great location

Great location, only 2 short blocks to mall area, Capital building side. Parking was additional $30/day, rollaway bed was additional $15/day (kid slept on floor instead), never saw either restaurant open, railroad track right outside window although only could hear freight trains (not to many).. asked for additional blankets and was told only 1 available, others "in the dryer" - strange for such a large hotel. Starbucks connects to lobby - that was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alewisga
Friends
Smyrna, GA, USA
Jan 23, 2013

Inguration Experience

The hotel was OK, the biggest issue was the room temperature was hard to regulate and refrigerator froze our food. Overall, it was a great location for attending the presidential inauguration. The hotel gave inauguration gifts, one per room, so if you had more than one person in the room, you were out of luck. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D.W.H.P.
Business
Washington D.C.
Mar 3, 2013

Business trip, week long stay

I have no complaints with my stay. I was in town for an entire week. I had to shuttle each day from one of the Smithsonian locations on the Mall to an outlying Smithsonian building so the location was perfect. Just two block behind the mall, it is easy and convenient. The hotel was satisfactory, nothing was wrong. Its not over the top classy, but I did not need that. There are two restaurants and a Starbucks on site which made food easy and accessible too. My only complaint about the area is that there was no easy way for me to get the groceries I would have liked to have on hand. The CVS next door allowed me a few standbys which I was greatful for, but it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit and veggies. But, its a small payoff for the convenience. And I'm sure I could have taken a cab to a local grocer if needed. Overall I was very satisfied with my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on visiting the museums and attractions on the National Mall this hotel is extrememly convenient. A very short two block walk to it all, making pit stops at your hotel a possibility.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Papa Golf
Family
New York, NY, USA
Mar 30, 2013

location, location!

perfect for a visito to the Mall + historic DC with children

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC Tourist 2013
Family
Charlottesville, VA
Apr 9, 2013

Could be better

We arrived and had a room ready for us. Unfortunately, the A/C didn't work and we ended up having someone come to fix it (not offered a different room) at midnight! The "unit" was replaced after about 30 min of work, which meant....we went to bed at 1 am and checked out at 10 am! Breakfast is expensive and not a significant variety to offer (buffet breakfast is $16 plus taxes) so, for a group of 4 be prepared to pay about $85 total. Breakfast a la carte doesn't go below $11 and with coffee and OJ ($3 and $4) you get an idea of what you're paying for a simple b'fast Location is good and the option to self park, the 24-H parking fee until 5 pm on check-out day is a very good deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top