$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2015 Check-out: Aug 16, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
View map of 550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
277 reviews
Great location for a wonderful family trip

This hotel was perfect for accessing all of DC's sights. It is within walking distance to most... See full review

  • Rachel P.
  • Jun 12, 2015
Very close to air space museum

Close to smithsonian air space museums Capitol national mall and metro station friendly staff.... See full review

  • Waycool
  • May 29, 2015

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Property features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Nearby attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Daily breakfast buffet and lunch buffet on weekdays. Dinner buffet available on some weekends.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 277
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly1116
Business
State College, PA
Apr 28, 2014

wonderful for weekend visit

I was incredibly pleased with this hotel. Recommended by a friend for the weekend of the Nike Women's Half Marathon, the location, staff & amenities were all wonderful. Just a few blocks from the Smithsonian Museums & not far from other great sights. Will definitely be staying at this hotel again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

two blocks from Air and Space Museum

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trainertothestars
Business
Elkton, MD, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Great location

Very clean rooms, friendly staff, safe environment. Fabulous pillows and comfortable bed. Great bar close to lobby. Person I spoke with told me there was a microwave in the room but there wasn't . It would have been an additional charge to have it delivered. Not good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a Starbucks with a door right into the lobby

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Sep 24, 2012

Great location, comfortale room

The location is great, right next to the National Air and Space Museum. Good neighbourhood, quite near the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lasetta
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Oct 23, 2012

Quick Weekend Getaway

We spent 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Capitol and couldn't have been happier. The walk to the Mall is a breeze and close enough to the Metro and quick cab rides to anywhere else you would like to go. The rooms (we had two) were large and had everything you could want, except a safe. The Capital Bistro Buffett was good, would have been better if they had an egg/omlet stand; but what they had was a good variety. We ate dinner at the grill one night and the food was very good; however, it seemed that the wait staff were very slow. Took forever to get waited on and to get our food. We've stayed at quite a few places previously; but would definitely consider this hotel again - maybe for our Spring venture to our Capitol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you are planning on a particular well-known Restaurant, be sure to make reservations a few days ahead.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elrodz
Business
Vaughan, Ontario
Jun 9, 2014

Great hotel

Everything at the hotel was great. Had to pay extra 38$ for parking . Hotel bar closed at 1pm which i going early. Over all experience was great . It was a good hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, CA
May 2, 2009

Great location for sightseeing!

The location was great....we were within 1 block of the National Mall and we walked to most of the Smithsonian Museums, the Capitol, National Monuments. The only drawback was that the room we had was at the back of the hotel and the train tracks (yes, multiple tracks!) were right outside our window. That 5:00 a.m. freight train was our wake-up call if not the 3:30 a.m. train! The tour desk in the hotel was very helpful in booking tours to Gettysburg, Mount Vernon, etc. For the price these tours were excellent. Also, they assisted us in choosing an excellent restaurant in Georgetown. Even though we had to deal with the early morning trains (I suppose we could have ask for a different room), I would definitely consider staying at the Holiday Inn-Capitol again. The location is unbeatable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If visiting the Smithsonian Museums, get there early! Don't wait until noon or later, they tend to be really crowded later in the day. Also, try the hop-on, hop-off trolley, it was a great way to see a lot and eliminate some of the walking.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Aug 29, 2009

good location

Tour and meet with a friend, we stayed only few nights but everything was cool. I ewnjoyed my stay with you guys. I've already recommended to friends to stay with you if ever they visit WA.DC. there was one little thing we did'nt like but it was rectified immediately. So thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KaceyB
Business
Morgan City, LA
Jul 12, 2012

Little brothers sr trip

Upon arrival, everything was chaotic. I booked our room months in advance. Apparently that did not matter. We had to change rooms three times due to staff miscomunication. Our final room was not clean. We had to wait for it to get clean. Our checkin time was 3:00 (we arrived at the hotel at 10:00 am mind you after a long flight). We didnt get our room until 6:00. They apologized. After that first hectic day, things went better. Overall, the location was not bad, and the rooms were clean. The housekeepers were nicer than the people at the front desk. We didnt get to enjoy the rooftop pool because of the high volume of people. I would stay there again. It wasnt completely unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Mansion on O street. It was built by a billionare long time ago. it has 100 rooms with 62 trap doors, and everything inside is for sale. It also doubles as a hotel. It was really neat. Worth it!

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Political Observer
Business
Louisville, Ky
Dec 9, 2012

Great for tourist access.

The location was great for the location and price. We were happy with the cleanliness and how quiet it was. Staff were helpful with keeping our bags for us when we arrived early and wanted to begin our sightseeing prior to checking and after we checked out. The location allowed for walking to many tourist locations and cab rides were not expensive when we got too to walk any more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alewisga
Business
Smyrna, GA, USA
Jan 23, 2013

Inguration Experience

The hotel was OK, the biggest issue was the room temperature was hard to regulate and refrigerator froze our food. Overall, it was a great location for attending the presidential inauguration. The hotel gave inauguration gifts, one per room, so if you had more than one person in the room, you were out of luck. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top