$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
276 reviews
GREAT!

We went there for a weekend with my parents and they also loved their king bed room! GREAT PRICE... See full review

  • zokica
  • Sep 28, 2014
Excellent

Great location, close to the national mall, and all museums. Very clean and nice. Bathroom was... See full review

  • Vladtrujillo
  • Sep 1, 2014
Downtown hotel near the National Mall, museums and monuments

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.8856 -77.0193
Nearby airports
DULLES INTERNATIONAL, (IAD), 28.00, MI; Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI; BALT-WASH INTL, (BWI), 32.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Serving breakfast buffet daily, lunch buffet on weekdays and dinner nightly.
Express Deli
In a hurry? No time to spare? The Shuttle features continental style breakfast, Krispy Kreme donuts, sandwiches on fresh baked rolls, soup, fruit salads, the Megameal of the Day and NY Style Pizza.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
Vie de France
French, Bakery
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (276)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 276
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
granny JOJO
South Bend, IN
May 7, 2007

Helpful & Friendly

Holiday Inn Capitol , easy excess to the main attraction. Taxi's available , metro is easy to get too . Walking , very easy to get to alot of attractions. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable . rooms very clean and serviced every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Smithonians buildings are 2 blocks away Educational bldg , across the street StarBucks connected to the hotel lounge has TV's and good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mercersburg
Sep 2, 2008

Great Location

The Holiday Inn - Washington-Capitol was very comfortable, the king size bed was comfy and I liked the fact we were given several different pillows to choose from. The on site restaurant had a great breakfast buffet. But best of all was the location - just a block from the Air & Space Museum and easy walking distance to all the museums and monuments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norman, Oklahoma
Apr 22, 2009

Great trip

Service was great. I broke the coffee pot pitcher and it broke into a million pieces on the floor. Within minutes after I called housekeeping, they were there with a vaccum and new pitcher. He even went back and got me a wine opener when he heard me say I could'nt drink the bottle of wine that I had bought earlier. I had also left some articles of clothing the the drawer and I called when I arrived home and they sent to right back to me fed ex. Great experience, I would visit them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is not any close places to eat, we did walk to Pier 7, but it was about a 20 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Treesee
Texas
Feb 14, 2012

Really liked this hotel

Holiday Inn Capitol is a AWESOME place to stay--especially if this is your first time to D.C.. Very easy walking access to National Mall and Capitol--central and safe location. Starbucks access from lobby--hotel restaurant gave generous portions and was good food. Our room/bathroom was plain and a little dated BUT was very clean and the beds were comfortable--that's all we cared about. Hotel staff was pleasant. Definetly would stay here again. Only downside--not many eating choices around here but we either walked about 10-12 minutes up 7th or 9th street to one of the letter street area or grabbed a $7 cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
IOWA
Apr 22, 2009

GREAT LOCATION .GREAT FOOD

the hotel was in agreat location to see washington and it's landmarks .there was great food and restraunts in the hotel and around the hotel which was nice when we came back tired and did't want to go far for anice meal . >The hotel staff were very informative about where to go and what we wanted to see.. It was one of thebest trips we have had for locations..to se the sites . thanks for a great trip to your city .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great to have agood place to eat whe we came back tired it was most relaXING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Peezy
Columbia, SC
Nov 22, 2010

Great Location, Friendly Service!

The Holiday Inn Capitol is located just a couple blocks from Capitol Hill and a couple blocks from the L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop. This makes it very easy to get around DC and hit all the sites that you want to see. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 15, 2007

great value and location

i was very pleased with the value and location.to be able to walk to the national mall was a great surprise. the staff was very friendly and accomadating,giving directions, helpful hints. room size was more than adequate for 2 people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 12, 2008

Great location and good comfort

The hotel staff was very helpful in recommending tours of Washington, D.C.; there was no pressure. The Metro is very close and, of course, the staff was helpful with directions and recommendations. We were very busy touring and during the middle of the day or at the end of the day it was nice to know we were going back to our clean and very comfortable room. Also we enjoyed the food and it was convenient having a CVS next door. We would definitely stay at The Holiday Inn Capitol again. The weekend was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Metro is clean, easy, inexpensive and fast. We went to the Smithsonian and toured the museums, we saw a play at the Kennedy Center; I forget the name but it is the longest running play in the U.S. and it was great. At night we took a tour of the monuments with a guide; wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 18, 2008

very family friendly

The room was great, had a great view and the only item that we did notice, was that the beds, (we had double beds)were harder than we were use to sleeping on both in hotels and at home. Layout of the room was very nice with the bathroom and vanity away from and divide from the sleeping area. What was really nice and the reason we selected the hotel was that it was in walking distance of the Mall. The staff was more than friendly, in fact as a point of interest, when walking to and from our room, the house cleaning staff always greeted us and thanked us for staying at the hotel....( several times that we passed them) a first for us, as we do travel throughout the states and Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just one block from the Air and Space Museum on the mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Copper vane
Topeka, KS, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Great location

Staff was very nice. Room was comfortable and clean. We picked this hotel due to location all the museums and National Mall. Also very close to a metro stop. We would stay there again hands down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top