$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
550 C STREET SW, WASHINGTON, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
397 reviews
good location

everything good' great location. need to have limo service to and from airport, See full review

  • lucfy
  • Jun 25, 2014
Weekend getaway

This hotel is within walking distance of countless attractions and the rooms are amazing. Will... See full review

  • Your Helpful Friend
  • Jun 12, 2014
Downtown hotel near the National Mall, museums and monuments

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.8856 -77.0193
Nearby airports
BALT-WASH INTL, (BWI), 32.00, MI; DULLES INTERNATIONAL, (IAD), 28.00, MI; Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Serving breakfast buffet daily, lunch buffet on weekdays and dinner nightly.
Express Deli
In a hurry? No time to spare? The Shuttle features continental style breakfast, Krispy Kreme donuts, sandwiches on fresh baked rolls, soup, fruit salads, the Megameal of the Day and Pizza Hut Express Pizza.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (397)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winters, CA
Jun 25, 2010

Sub Par hotel for the money

My wife and I travel frequently for our jobs. We know a fleabag from a five star. The only thing going for this hotel is the location. It is dirty! The main hallways between the rooms are filthy, the rooms are filthy. All the little things that could be easily fixed, look to be ignored by Mgmt and Maint. The on-site restaurants are mediocre at best. At an average of $200/night, this hotel is seriously lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is only 2 blocks away from the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum (http://www.nasm.si.edu/)

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dirty guest
New York
Apr 19, 2010

$260 and no shower or hot bath!

My worst hotel stay ever. Much worse than my penny pinching student days, cause then you could still shower down the hall. First room had wet carpet and pile of dirty towels in the bathtub. when I came back they were still there. They said they would "move me" to another room. I had to move myself. Next morning, on my way to a breakfast meeting, discovered no water in shower, bathtub only had cold. The managers only offer was for a free breakfast. I had to go to my breakfast meeting unshowered. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winters, CA
Jun 25, 2010

Sub Par hotel for the money

My wife and I travel frequently for our jobs. We know a fleabag from a five star. The only thing going for this hotel is the location. It is dirty! The main hallways between the rooms are filthy, the rooms are filthy. All the little things that could be easily fixed, look to be ignored by Mgmt and Maint. The on-site restaurants are mediocre at best. At an average of $200/night, this hotel is seriously lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is only 2 blocks away from the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum (http://www.nasm.si.edu/)

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago
Apr 19, 2010

Not Good

Stay away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BlackDude
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 16, 2014

Payment reconcilliation needs some beef up

Good place to stay, staff okay. But they do not pay attention to their accounting enough. They'll charge you first and then investigate, which in my opinion is VERY bad customer service, especially when you know this is a hospitality business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dirty guest
New York
Apr 19, 2010

$260 and no shower or hot bath!

My worst hotel stay ever. Much worse than my penny pinching student days, cause then you could still shower down the hall. First room had wet carpet and pile of dirty towels in the bathtub. when I came back they were still there. They said they would "move me" to another room. I had to move myself. Next morning, on my way to a breakfast meeting, discovered no water in shower, bathtub only had cold. The managers only offer was for a free breakfast. I had to go to my breakfast meeting unshowered. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gary E
nebraska
Jun 18, 2012

Rude employees

The employees were very rude and the service was poor. They were more worried about the business customers than the general tourist. Price was very expensive on weds and thurs nights. Would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago
Apr 19, 2010

Not Good

Stay away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Camp Lejeune, Nc
Jan 5, 2011

Worst Stay of my LIFE!

First off you have to pay $30 for parking PER NIGHT. Which i wouldnt mind doing if the hotel was anywhere near the standards of a holiday inn... or a hotel period. This place was like a $30 a night MOTEL!! The furniture was from the 70's.. and was FILTHY!! There was literally a urine stain on the desk chair, which had BITE marks on the handles! The room itself was filthy as well, mini fridge, bathroom closet door was falling apart. No microwave as it was listed, and you had to PAY EXTRA for it! The front desk girl didnt know what the work amenities was, We were planning on staying several days and decided to leave early stayed at the Fairfield Inn by Marriot. They were amazing. STAY THERE, not here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley tour!! $40 for two days!! It was amazing! Guides were Wonderful!

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frightened Traveler
Business
Kansas
Mar 6, 2012

Worst Stay I Have Ever Had

I stayed the weekend in D.C. at the Holiday Inn-Capitol and had the absolute worst experience ever at a hotel. I have traveled around the world, and I have never been disturbed by rowdy guests to the extent that I was here. I was woken by a group of young men yelling, cursing, and threatening one another both nights of my stay. Apparently the hotel neglected to ask these young men to leave because the same thing happened the next night. Each time the disturbance went on for at least 45 (from 2:30-3:15 on Friday and from 4:30 on, Saturday), and on Saturday night, I had to call the front desk when I heard the fight escalate to the point of one man breaking glass. I was frightened to leave my room after midnight each night I stayed there. Also, on the second night of my stay, I was awoken at 3:30 in the morning by a fire alarm. The entire hotel was evacuated, and we stood outside in 40 degree weather in pajamas for thirty minutes. The entire time we were outside, I never once saw a hotel official. No one came out to inform the guests what was going on. I never heard hotel staff tell us we could return to our rooms. Do not stay at the hotel simply for the fact that they host unruly guests and do not properly address the safety issues that arise from their unruly guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top