$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
View map of 550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
319 out of 319
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Micky S
Business
San Antonio
Jul 3, 2015

Nice hotel but...

This is a nice hotel with close proximity to the national mall. The room was very updated, modern and clean. However, we had a huge issue at night that was swept under the rug. Our AC would not stay on at night!! We would wake up sweating and very uncomfortable since the room was stifling. On our last day there, we voiced our concerns AGAIN and finally, someone at front desk recognized that there are motion sensors in the rooms and because of lack of movement (we were sleeping), the AC was not turning on!! No remorse or apologies for our discomfort. I feel this issue should have been resolved well before we ever stayed there since the front desk employee said the motion sensor should have been switched off prior to us staying there. I am still upset that we were tired and grumpy during the day because of an easily resolved issue at night that was not addressed. Also, be well aware that parking in their parking garage is $37/day!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanajanet
Business
Plyymouth MA
Apr 24, 2014

History Buff

Staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff was awesome. the food was ok but too expensive. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the metro as much as possible too much walking to different attractions

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fFreddy G. World Traveller.
Business
Boston Mass.
May 20, 2009

memorable vacation

Our trip was solely for pleasure.Did a lot of sight seeing, shopping and eating, very educational as well. We have travelled alot and this trip is one of the best. What we liked best was convience of location and your wonderful staff. Cannot think of anything that would of made our stay any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

wear comfortable shoes.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Mom of 2
Business
Yorktown
Jul 13, 2009

Would Return

We stayed in this hotel while driving back and forth to Vienna, McLean and Herndon. Without traffic it was a 25 minute drive to Herndon. We walked around the mall and Smithsonians and back to the hotel, no taxi needed. Friendly front desk service, clean rooms, good location. YEH for the Starbucks in the lobby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You may want a taxi to get to farther memorials like the Lincoln and Jefferson but we walked to the Washington Monument with no problem in addition to 4 Smithsonian Museums and the Navy Memorial. There were many more within walking distance also. You will need a taxi for the Zoo or National Cathedral

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean City, MD
Nov 10, 2009

Great location!

The location was incredible for visiting all of the monuments and museums! The only small problem was the 21st Restaurant's service. They were very slow and forgetful and with 3 children that was tough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 20, 2010

Very nice for the price!

Service was very good. Restaurants were very satisfactory. Location is outstanding, however, proxmity to Union Station make this a bit on the noisy side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Smithsonian Musuems and Capital Hill. Taxi fare to DCA is < $20

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerry, Nell & Shawn
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 26, 2010

Great place to see US history

Execelent. No complaints. Comfortable bed with nice clean sheets, blankets and pillows. Breakfast and dinner provided a wide range of good food. Location was perfect for site seeing. Had a problem with the hop-on-hop-off tour bus. We could never find where to get back on when we were walking around. The room could have easier access to plug-ins for charging phones, lap-tops, etc (no problem, only a suggestion).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS drug store was just around the corner. Buy water, drinks, and snacks to carry on your site seeing trip. There are plenty of refreshment carts available, but expensive-like $3.00 for water.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike V
Business
Fort Myers, Fl
Jul 24, 2011

Great location

The overall experience at the hotel was good. It was very clean, the room was spacious and had everythin you would expect. It was within walking distance to The Mall and other DC spots to sightsee. For those interested in the nightlife, Dupont Circle is a short cab ride away and averaged $8 ea way. The largest problem I had with this hotel was the management staff. I accidentally double booked th room and the hotel manager would not refund the money for the second (accidental) booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

I would recommend investing in one of the tour buses that you can use as transportation to all the sightseeing destinations. It saves time that would normally be consumed with a lot of walking. I walked the whole time I was there but if I did it again I would use the tour bus.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanny30
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Oct 21, 2011

Family Getaway

Was good with nice location! The hotel is located near fast foods and pharmacy, also it's walkig distance to air and space museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at Capitol Bistro

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calvin S
Business
Illinois
Oct 25, 2011

Great Value

Friendly helpful staff. Great location. Good price, lots of food options. A microwave in the room would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Longish short walk. North on 7th Street, 1 block east, Capitol Liquors is very reasonably priced and has a good selection.

Back to menu Return to top