$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
View map of 550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MarcandEl
Business
East Hartford, CT
Mar 29, 2013

Great location, except for the train tracks!

I had a pleasant stay here 8 yrs. ago and remembered the convenient location near the Mall and Capitol. This time, our first room we had was across from the service elevator, ice machine, vending machines, and guest elevators. Outside were railroad tracks. Our first night was spent hearing the trains rumble by with the occasional whistle blowing from 2 AM on. The guest elevator was busy. In between, we could hear the ice machine making and dropping the ice in the bin. Around 6:30 AM you hear the "flop" of newspapers being thrown in front of every room. After complaining, we were moved to another location.The 2nd room was not much better. The train whistles could still be heard. We were there for 5 nights with little sleep. As compensation, we were given one day free parking ($30/day)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mall was about 2 blocks away. It was a fairly easy walk to the Smithsonian museums and the Capitol.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
30th Bday Traveler
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Mar 11, 2013

Weekend Getaway

We were only in town for two nights and this hotel was located perfectly to make quick trips to the National Mall. Would stay here again in the future - great location/hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D.W.H.P.
Business
Washington D.C.
Mar 3, 2013

Business trip, week long stay

I have no complaints with my stay. I was in town for an entire week. I had to shuttle each day from one of the Smithsonian locations on the Mall to an outlying Smithsonian building so the location was perfect. Just two block behind the mall, it is easy and convenient. The hotel was satisfactory, nothing was wrong. Its not over the top classy, but I did not need that. There are two restaurants and a Starbucks on site which made food easy and accessible too. My only complaint about the area is that there was no easy way for me to get the groceries I would have liked to have on hand. The CVS next door allowed me a few standbys which I was greatful for, but it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit and veggies. But, its a small payoff for the convenience. And I'm sure I could have taken a cab to a local grocer if needed. Overall I was very satisfied with my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on visiting the museums and attractions on the National Mall this hotel is extrememly convenient. A very short two block walk to it all, making pit stops at your hotel a possibility.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zulfi
Business
Prague
Feb 25, 2013

a very nice location

we had a vacation in Washington with our 3 kids and stayed 4 nights in this hotel. A room was very nice and comfortable. The hotel has a very good location, close to many museums. The staff is very friendly. We became a member of the Holiday Inn Club and there was a possibility to check out at 2 P.M.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is Mc. Donald's in a walking distance, it is much cheaper than the restaurant in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperMom69
Business
New York, NY
Feb 20, 2013

A pleasant stay

Like all Holiday Inns this was a very serviceable cheap hotel/motel but it did have a great location right by the Smithsonian, Capitol and Mall and the amenities were good. The breakfast buffet in the morning is nothing to brag about but decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trifire
Business
Dunedin, FL
Feb 12, 2013

Weekend away

The location was perfect for visiting national landmarks. Right next to L'Enfant metro station, so can get anywhere. The staff was helpful and in house restaurants good. Great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alewisga
Business
Smyrna, GA, USA
Jan 23, 2013

Inguration Experience

The hotel was OK, the biggest issue was the room temperature was hard to regulate and refrigerator froze our food. Overall, it was a great location for attending the presidential inauguration. The hotel gave inauguration gifts, one per room, so if you had more than one person in the room, you were out of luck. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
p.dizzle
Business
harrisburg, pa
Jan 8, 2013

Good value

I didn't pay a lot for this hotel room, so I didn't expect a lot. But it was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. The only complaint I had was that the toilet ran off and on throughout my stay which disrupted my sleep - not a huge deal, but it was slightly annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vega149
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Jan 7, 2013

Great location

Great location, only 2 short blocks to mall area, Capital building side. Parking was additional $30/day, rollaway bed was additional $15/day (kid slept on floor instead), never saw either restaurant open, railroad track right outside window although only could hear freight trains (not to many).. asked for additional blankets and was told only 1 available, others "in the dryer" - strange for such a large hotel. Starbucks connects to lobby - that was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ako1257
Business
phoenix,AZ
Jan 6, 2013

good choice

good location.good staff.but wifi too slowly in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top