$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
550 C STREET SW, WASHINGTON, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
398 reviews
good location

everything good' great location. need to have limo service to and from airport, See full review

  • lucfy
  • Jun 25, 2014
Weekend getaway

This hotel is within walking distance of countless attractions and the rooms are amazing. Will... See full review

  • Your Helpful Friend
  • Jun 12, 2014
Downtown hotel near the National Mall, museums and monuments

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8856 -77.0193
Nearby airports
BALT-WASH INTL, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; DULLES INTERNATIONAL, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Serving breakfast buffet daily, lunch buffet on weekdays and dinner nightly.
Express Deli
In a hurry? No time to spare? The Shuttle features continental style breakfast, Krispy Kreme donuts, sandwiches on fresh baked rolls, soup, fruit salads, the Megameal of the Day and Pizza Hut Express Pizza.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (398)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NanaBea
Salisbury, MD
Oct 9, 2012

Holliday Inn Capitol

Overall experience was very good,. However upon arrival I was told parking would be an additional $40 including taxes. We were not there long enough to use additional amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Several blocks walk to the Smithsonian, which was the purpose of this trip. This walk also put us on the mall.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
woodguy3
North Carolina
Sep 27, 2012

Quick vacation

Overall a good experience. Hotel is very well located for business or vacation. It is a little dated but quite serviceable. Rooms are comfortable but nothing special--typical Holiday Inn. We will go back on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip expensive hotel breakfast and go to Cosmo Cafe across the street.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lynchburg, VA
Oct 26, 2010

Just okay

Hotel was fine but the reception staff were cold and unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane G.
Buffalo, NY
Aug 7, 2012

fabulous time

This hotel was the perfect location to many of the museums and only a short cab ride to anything else. I would certainly stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Town Trolley gives a wonderful tour of the city and allows you to hop on and off and different stops. There are three different lines, so you can see tours of different areas of Washington. We loved it!

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Old Bridge, NJ
Jul 5, 2009

convenient location - mattress terrible

Due to the rates, we could only afford to stay 1 night. The parking rates should have been included in the stay. The person that worked in the gift shop followed us around as if we were going to steal something. I didn't appreciate that at all. I had a hard time understanding most of the the people that worked at your front desk. I also told them about the lopsided bed mentioned above

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kal693
North Tonawanda, NY
Aug 8, 2012

Good Hotel

The hotel was very clean. The location was good to get to the Washington Mall, the Capitol,and the subway; however it only had one restaurant and a bar/grill. There was really no restaurants in the area except fast food. You would have to take the subway or city bus to get to an area that had a number of restaurants to choose from because it would be too far to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, IN
Apr 5, 2011

Spring Break 2011

This location is great for visiting the the sights. Our rooms were on the 5th floor and facing the train tracks that blew their horn many times during the night. A mircrowave would have also been nice to accompany the refridgerator that was in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Oct 3, 2010

Weekend in DC

Friendly staff. Quick check in and out. Dining options just okay. Typical hotel food. Out of the way location for restaurants. Take a cab or the Metro. Metro station is close. Room was just okay. Nothing special. Due for a refurb soon. Unless you want to spend all day walking don't believe the distance list to monuments and museums (except air and space museum). It's a long walk to anywhere! I'd stay there again now that I know what to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the subway (metro). Start sightseeing as sonn as everything opens up. DC at night bus tour is worth the $$.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Goldfish2113
Boston, MA
Sep 3, 2009

Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

comfortable, pool nice for kids, convenient location to Smithsonian, pleasant staff. Convenient restaurants, gift shop, coffee shop in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

within 200 yds of Air and Space museum

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Princeton, NJ
Oct 6, 2010

Great location, average hotel

I would say the location is perfect for mall walking and museums discovering, so I would recommend this hotel for people who don't want to walk so much. However, the area around the hotel is not nice at evening or night time, and there is nothing to do around (no bars, no restaurants). The hotel is typically an old Holiday Inn: Rooms are average, smell musty, refrigerator and AC are VERY noisy. The lobby, breakfast, restaurant room: everything is average. And the price is high... For a previous trip we did we went to the Grand Hyatt and we will definitely go back there next time, even if you have to walk a little bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D.W.H.P.
Business
Washington D.C.
Mar 3, 2013

Business trip, week long stay

I have no complaints with my stay. I was in town for an entire week. I had to shuttle each day from one of the Smithsonian locations on the Mall to an outlying Smithsonian building so the location was perfect. Just two block behind the mall, it is easy and convenient. The hotel was satisfactory, nothing was wrong. Its not over the top classy, but I did not need that. There are two restaurants and a Starbucks on site which made food easy and accessible too. My only complaint about the area is that there was no easy way for me to get the groceries I would have liked to have on hand. The CVS next door allowed me a few standbys which I was greatful for, but it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit and veggies. But, its a small payoff for the convenience. And I'm sure I could have taken a cab to a local grocer if needed. Overall I was very satisfied with my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on visiting the museums and attractions on the National Mall this hotel is extrememly convenient. A very short two block walk to it all, making pit stops at your hotel a possibility.

Back to menu Return to top