$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 12, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
View map of 550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NanaBea
Family
Salisbury, MD
Oct 9, 2012

Holliday Inn Capitol

Overall experience was very good,. However upon arrival I was told parking would be an additional $40 including taxes. We were not there long enough to use additional amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Several blocks walk to the Smithsonian, which was the purpose of this trip. This walk also put us on the mall.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jwilly
Family
phila
Aug 5, 2013

DC Weekend

Very close to the sites and Downtown DC-Room could have been better though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dine in downtown dc its a short drive with lots of options

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1 weekender
Family
Charlottesville VA
Oct 1, 2013

weekend trip to nat mall

Pleasant front desk staff, I didn't interact with other staff. Room has some wear-some peeling and older wall paper, older furniture. Bed was comfy enough. Parking costs about $35 extra. About 2 blocks to air and space museum. Capital, Washington mom, Natural History museum all w/I walking distance and I had 2 younger kids. Able to walk to China town/Gallery within 15-20 minutes. Need to walk about 10 min to get a good meal (did not try hotel restauants) but there is McDonalds and sub place 2 doors away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel Mom w 3 kids
Family
Syracuse, NY
Oct 15, 2013

Had fun despite government shut down

OK - so not luxury 5 star - but this hotel is is a great location. If you are driving in, plan on $30+tax per night for parking. But was able to park until 5pm the night of our check out so we were able to sightsee more that day. Kudos to the staff there. My daughter forgot her iPod charger (and was distraught) it was too late for us to shop for a replacement. We asked Cedric at the bell desk and he and the person at the front desk asked around until they found a staff member with the same charger. They offered to charge her iPod while we went out to dinner - this made for a very happy daughter! Many thanks to the staff there. The hotel is very close to Air and Space Museum (and the tour bus/trolley stops) Even with the government shutdown, this was very convenient for us becasue we could jump right on for a ride to the Newseum or the International Spy Museum. I didn't find the noise to be an issue, the room was clean / very little mold/mildew stains in the shower. But generally good all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks is right off the lobby and McDonalds is on the corner. There is also a Quiznos and a CVS pharmacy in the adjacent plaza. Kids eat free at Holiday Inn - but menu is very limited - very small portions for a 12 year old.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kellyannfer
Friends
Cleveland, OH
Dec 3, 2013

Great Location!

This is a great hotel for a budget-friendly trip to DC. Everything is within walking distance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Not a lot of dining in this area.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Omaha
Jul 22, 2009

The staff were helpful and polite..

Went to DC for vacation, chose this hotel due to location, room appeared to be clean, accidently split some salad dressing on the carpet. I wet a washcloth to "dab" up the dressing, was shocked to see how dirty the washcloth got, it was like I had used it to wipe off a shoe that had been in the mud. I was shocked. I found a convenience store and bought some Lysol cleaner for the bathroom. The wallpaper in the bathroom was pealing off, the tile in the bathroom needed to be recalked and the tub needed to be reglazed. The cleaning staff spent very little time in the room. On the positive side, the room was quiet and we did have very warm water for showers. I was very disapointed, I would have expected better and cleaner rooms from hotels costing half as much. The workout room was nice with good equipment, however it was so warm in there, I didn't want to stay in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We chose the Open Top Bus Tour, I would recomment this to my friends as a good buy and worth the money. The L'enfant plaza is a short distance from the hotel (1 1/2 blocks), which offers rides via the Metro to most all locations, including the Union Station. When given the choice, take the Metro instead of the MARC.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FirstTimeTravelertoDC
Family
DeKalb, IL, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Decent - but recommend some deep cleaning

Pros: Great location for our first trip to DC. Was able to walk to many of the museums and landmarks that were on our list. Easy access to Metro stops. Was mostly clean and had the amenities I expected. Nice to have a fridge in the room. Also there's a Starbucks in the same building and a less expensive coffee/deli option on the same block and a CVS pharmacy on the same block. There is also a McDonalds on that same block. Cons: Bathroom had mold in the shower/tub ceiling. Possibly due to the fact that there's no vent fan in the bathroom. Also mold on the tiles/grout in the tub area. Air conditioning unit looked nasty. The grates on the unit looked like they had not been cleaned in a long time. Also - when it turned on there was a nasty smell - not unlike rotten eggs. The smell eventually went away (or we got used to it). Lastly, they tried to bill us $16.99 for a movie. When we checked out I inquired which movie and she came back with an adult-film title. I assured the front desk staff that since I was traveling with my husband, 20 month old, mother and father, I was 100% certain no adult movies were viewed. She said she'd take it off the credit card. Glad I double-checked the invoice and didn't just do the "express" checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you just want basic coffee and an inexpensive breakfast, walk down the block to the Deli/Cafe instead of Starbucks.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Hatesville, NC
Dec 31, 2010

good value hotel, great location

Room was clean, two double beds, fridge in room was useful, a small microwave would have been nice. Lighting in bathroom was very dim. Front desk, housekeeping, and restaurant staff were pleasant and helpful. Great location for Smithsonian museums. A good value hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Smithsonian museums

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Toledo, Ohio
Jul 28, 2010

Met my needs

Picked hotel based on location. Very happy with location to the 'mall'. Also, felt safe in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

breakfast buffet is a good value.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 26, 2009

Great Location,

Great Location; However the Cafe Bistro has the rudest wait staff I have ever encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 6, 2010

Price

[...] Only negative - guests slamming doors kept me awake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try cafe at Native American Museum nearby for unusual (although not cheap) lunch.

Back to menu Return to top