$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
550 C STREET SW, WASHINGTON, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
247 reviews
DC trip

I came to DC for a day trip to see the national mall. It is perfectly located just a block off the... See full review

  • SDOuch
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great fun and Convenient

The staff were extremely helpful and greeted us. The rooms were clean. I didnt get a chance to have... See full review

  • SecretNinjaTraveler
  • Jul 11, 2013
Downtown hotel near the National Mall, museums and monuments

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8856 -77.0193
Nearby airports
BALT-WASH INTL, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; DULLES INTERNATIONAL, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Serving breakfast buffet daily, lunch buffet on weekdays and dinner nightly.
Express Deli
In a hurry? No time to spare? The Shuttle features continental style breakfast, Krispy Kreme donuts, sandwiches on fresh baked rolls, soup, fruit salads, the Megameal of the Day and Pizza Hut Express Pizza.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.8 / 5
247 out of 247
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
May 12, 2008

Great location and good comfort

The hotel staff was very helpful in recommending tours of Washington, D.C.; there was no pressure. The Metro is very close and, of course, the staff was helpful with directions and recommendations. We were very busy touring and during the middle of the day or at the end of the day it was nice to know we were going back to our clean and very comfortable room. Also we enjoyed the food and it was convenient having a CVS next door. We would definitely stay at The Holiday Inn Capitol again. The weekend was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Metro is clean, easy, inexpensive and fast. We went to the Smithsonian and toured the museums, we saw a play at the Kennedy Center; I forget the name but it is the longest running play in the U.S. and it was great. At night we took a tour of the monuments with a guide; wonderful.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
May 6, 2008

very busy but very friendly and helpful

The Holiday Inn Capital was very comfortable and the staff was friendly. They were knowledgable about how to get around and what to see etc. My only concern was there was not shuttle to and from the air port, but the Blue Van was avaliable. The rooms were roomy and has enough space to hang up clothes and enough space to work as needed. The hotel was quiet at night. The dining arrangements were good, once I found them. A good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the hop on and hop off tour to get used to where everything is. Wear comfortable clothing and good shoes as you do more walking that you think. Do't try to see everything in one day.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Apr 20, 2008

awesome trip

location location location---what can i say more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

closest to all sights--yet not in the hustle and bustle on the north side of mall

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Feb 18, 2008

very family friendly

The room was great, had a great view and the only item that we did notice, was that the beds, (we had double beds)were harder than we were use to sleeping on both in hotels and at home. Layout of the room was very nice with the bathroom and vanity away from and divide from the sleeping area. What was really nice and the reason we selected the hotel was that it was in walking distance of the Mall. The staff was more than friendly, in fact as a point of interest, when walking to and from our room, the house cleaning staff always greeted us and thanked us for staying at the hotel....( several times that we passed them) a first for us, as we do travel throughout the states and Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just one block from the Air and Space Museum on the mall.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 20, 2007

Friendly Hotel

The Holiday Inn Capital was very comfortable. It is in a great location, close to Reagan National Airport and many of the attractions in Washington, DC. We had a wonderful visit there in November. The rates were great. Four of us shared a room and it was large enough for us all. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a short walk to the Smithsonian.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Antsiranana
Sep 16, 2007

Good DC Location

This hotel was decent. The rooftop pool was a nice feature. It was comfortable and has a decent DC location, close to the Mall. The Metro is also easy to get to, although the hotel was a bit confusing to find from the L'Enfant station. People in DC are fairly friendly and gave directions. The bathroom was a bit run down, but clean, and had nice soap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a nice, short walk to the Capitol, where you can sit in front of the pool and have deep thoughts.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Newport News, VA
Sep 3, 2007

Extremely Friendly Staff

The staff was very welcoming and accomodating to our early check-in and our check-out was seamless. The proximity of the hotel to the National Mall and surrounding sites was great. We will highly consider this hotel for future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Jul 17, 2007

close to all the sites to been seen in Washington DC

bit close to railroads, but overall not too much noise from that. room was just big enough for four, but bedding was bit cramped. room and bathroom clean. one has to walk some but on a nice day easy to see the highlights (Lincoln mem., Capitol Hill, white house, etc.) downtown shopping within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Jul 15, 2007

great value and location

i was very pleased with the value and location.to be able to walk to the national mall was a great surprise. the staff was very friendly and accomadating,giving directions, helpful hints. room size was more than adequate for 2 people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 27, 2007

great location

This was a great location for a d.c. trip. We walked everywhere and it couldn't have been easier. The TV in the room was terrible, very 80s, but the rest of the room was great. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat, but there is no convenient dining, other than the hotel restaurants, which are very average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

air & space museum

Back to menu Return to top