$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
275 reviews
Excellent

Great location, close to the national mall, and all museums. Very clean and nice. Bathroom was... See full review

  • Vladtrujillo
  • Sep 1, 2014
good location

everything good' great location. need to have limo service to and from airport, See full review

  • lucfy
  • Jun 25, 2014
Downtown hotel near the National Mall, museums and monuments

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.8856 -77.0193
Nearby airports
DULLES INTERNATIONAL, (IAD), 28.00, MI; Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI; BALT-WASH INTL, (BWI), 32.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Serving breakfast buffet daily, lunch buffet on weekdays and dinner nightly.
Express Deli
In a hurry? No time to spare? The Shuttle features continental style breakfast, Krispy Kreme donuts, sandwiches on fresh baked rolls, soup, fruit salads, the Megameal of the Day and NY Style Pizza.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
Vie de France
French, Bakery
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crafty Mom
Springfield ILL
Jun 9, 2009

Great stay

Helpful staff in planning activities Speedy check in and check out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Metro can be taken from Union station to within 2 blocks of hotel

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
papa04
Dayton, Ohio
Jun 6, 2009

Washington Holiday Inn Capitol

Was excelent service. astaff very friendly and coustomer orientated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alternative dining is available other then Hotel fair.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
pine mtn Ga
Jun 5, 2009

Not "Great", "not bad", will stay again.

Close enough to everything to make it a walking tour at the right time of the year, when not to warm and humid. CVS, Micky D's, blimpy, and starbucks are right there. And its easy to metrorail right from Reagan to the hotel. Good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington State, Olympia
May 26, 2009

Excellent Location

I really enjoyed the location of the hotel and the hotel staff. While I was there I attended Howard University's Graduation. I also took in a site seeing tour of the White House, Museums, Washington mounment, George Town, Arlington National Cementary etc. (Wonderful) The staff in the Bar area lounge were very slow on serving. Did not enjoy the lack of service in the Bar area. Staff wasn't very friendly. Compared to previous trips I've taken it was still a very pleasant trip. The room service was great. I would stay at the Holdiay Inn for the good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed being able to view and walk to the Mall area.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fFreddy G. World Traveller.
Boston Mass.
May 20, 2009

memorable vacation

Our trip was solely for pleasure.Did a lot of sight seeing, shopping and eating, very educational as well. We have travelled alot and this trip is one of the best. What we liked best was convience of location and your wonderful staff. Cannot think of anything that would of made our stay any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

wear comfortable shoes.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frustrated Graduation mom
Muskegon, MI
May 20, 2009

Cheats

Rooms were nice. Close to Metro stop. Not much in this area to do, it was in the office building district. Dishonest to us about parking cost also added charges to bill that were not ours. Staff could seem to do nothing with out a manager until we got angry. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eastern PA
May 9, 2009

Great Location Exceptionally Clean

This is a great location. One block to Air and Space Musuem. We walked to all the monuments and musuems. The breakfast buffet was very good. The bathroom in our room was spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Older but Bolder
Aberdeen, WA
May 8, 2009

Very convenient location

The hotel had everything we needed, but the location was the best feature. It was close to the metro, and close to the sites people go to see in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save money by taking the Metro -- DCs subway system -- from the airport. It really is easy. Follow the signs to the Metro at the airport. Get a ticket for the Blue line (they each have a color) and get off at L'Enfant (I think that is how you spell it). From there, the hotel is only one block. While you are on the Metro, check out the map of where it goes. You can go almost anywhere (not Georgetown, unfortunately), and it is cheap. Be Brave!!

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redding, CA
May 2, 2009

Great location for sightseeing!

The location was great....we were within 1 block of the National Mall and we walked to most of the Smithsonian Museums, the Capitol, National Monuments. The only drawback was that the room we had was at the back of the hotel and the train tracks (yes, multiple tracks!) were right outside our window. That 5:00 a.m. freight train was our wake-up call if not the 3:30 a.m. train! The tour desk in the hotel was very helpful in booking tours to Gettysburg, Mount Vernon, etc. For the price these tours were excellent. Also, they assisted us in choosing an excellent restaurant in Georgetown. Even though we had to deal with the early morning trains (I suppose we could have ask for a different room), I would definitely consider staying at the Holiday Inn-Capitol again. The location is unbeatable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If visiting the Smithsonian Museums, get there early! Don't wait until noon or later, they tend to be really crowded later in the day. Also, try the hop-on, hop-off trolley, it was a great way to see a lot and eliminate some of the walking.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norman, Oklahoma
Apr 22, 2009

Great trip

Service was great. I broke the coffee pot pitcher and it broke into a million pieces on the floor. Within minutes after I called housekeeping, they were there with a vaccum and new pitcher. He even went back and got me a wine opener when he heard me say I could'nt drink the bottle of wine that I had bought earlier. I had also left some articles of clothing the the drawer and I called when I arrived home and they sent to right back to me fed ex. Great experience, I would visit them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is not any close places to eat, we did walk to Pier 7, but it was about a 20 minute walk.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search