$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
View map of 550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B-girl
Business
Virginia
Jan 5, 2011

Not What Expected

Hotel was OK. Lacked some of the basic things (i.e. Travel Shampoo etc). Cleaning staff was very noisy (vacuuming at 8:30pm) and it didn't help the walls were paper thin and you could hear normal conversations from the room next door. Also failed to mention in the description that the hotel was right next to (you could see it) the rails and every couple of hours you were blasted by the train horn. Also not disclosed until check-in was the $30 + taxes PER DAY to park your car. There are no restaurants within a reasonable walking distance either, only fast food. I would try a different hotel next time and would only stay here in a pinch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No shopping or dining within a reasonable walking distance. All good restaurants are 1+ mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camp Lejeune, Nc
Jan 5, 2011

Worst Stay of my LIFE!

First off you have to pay $30 for parking PER NIGHT. Which i wouldnt mind doing if the hotel was anywhere near the standards of a holiday inn... or a hotel period. This place was like a $30 a night MOTEL!! The furniture was from the 70's.. and was FILTHY!! There was literally a urine stain on the desk chair, which had BITE marks on the handles! The room itself was filthy as well, mini fridge, bathroom closet door was falling apart. No microwave as it was listed, and you had to PAY EXTRA for it! The front desk girl didnt know what the work amenities was, We were planning on staying several days and decided to leave early stayed at the Fairfield Inn by Marriot. They were amazing. STAY THERE, not here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley tour!! $40 for two days!! It was amazing! Guides were Wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hatesville, NC
Dec 31, 2010

good value hotel, great location

Room was clean, two double beds, fridge in room was useful, a small microwave would have been nice. Lighting in bathroom was very dim. Front desk, housekeeping, and restaurant staff were pleasant and helpful. Great location for Smithsonian museums. A good value hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Smithsonian museums

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Dec 26, 2010

Great Hotel

Our Family was on an extended vacation, and we are staying at this hotel over the holiday's. It is a quality hotel with beautiful spacious rooms. You can't beat the location. There are a few restaurants in the lobby, and a Starbucks. It is just right off the National Mall, and we walked to the capital and all of the monuments. On Christmas Morning we had a stocking full of candy hanging on our door. That was a very nice touch. The one thing that isn't mentioned is that parking is extra. It was $33 a day, but the parking garage is in the same building, so it is very convenient. I'd highly recommend this hotel for a Washington Vacation. I got big Kudo's from the family for booking it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leilanimoo
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 27, 2010

Great location!

So, this hotel is only average for it's rooms that are older and look worn...but, it is awesome for its' customer service and their location which sits almost right next to the National Mall. If you are traveling with small kids, this makes it perfect for sight-seeing as you can return back to the hotel very easily when the kids get tired. The hotel also sits right next to a railroad track so let the front desk know that you want a quieter room...not next to the tracks. There are not many restaurants nearby within walking distance but a small cab fare and you have plenty of options (Old Ebbitt's Grill, for example). The hotel restaurant was only so-so for the price but there is a Starbucks inside (a plus for tired parents!) and a McDonald's right down the street for picky kids. Overall, I would totally recommend this hotel for convenience and friendliness. Our vacation was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't worry about the lack of restaurants nearby...It was only a short cab ride most of the time and the food was well worth the small fare (about $10-15)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Nov 27, 2010

great stay

we didn't get to the hotel until late that night. The staff was very helpful to us. The rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. We also enjoyed that there were three different places to eat at the hotel. The deli was a great price and nice variety to please everyones taste buds for lunch.....and there was a STARBUCKS!!!!!!!! yum yum!!! The hotel was a skip away from the Smithsonian Air and Space museum...the kids favorite place. I loved the hotel allowing us to have a late check out without extra cost....Holiday Inn has won me over with the their kindness,courtesy, and charm. loved it!!!! can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to the Smithsonian Museums. We rode a taxi to the White house, and walked back to the hotel for lunch. It was only about a 20 min. walk. Great location. We only drove to the Lincoln Monument, but if it was warmer....we would have walked there too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Peezy
Business
Columbia, SC
Nov 22, 2010

Great Location, Friendly Service!

The Holiday Inn Capitol is located just a couple blocks from Capitol Hill and a couple blocks from the L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop. This makes it very easy to get around DC and hit all the sites that you want to see. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Metro Fans
Business
Northern California
Nov 13, 2010

Location Location Location!

Coming from Northern California arriving Monday evening and depaarting Friday morning. Location made it perfect to plan see what we wanted. Housekeeping staff was excellent. Problem with virtually no hot water for showers. Tepid at best. Business Center didn't respond when the printers weren't functioning. Printing Boarding Passes was impossible. Starbucks right there! YES. Hotel Breakfast Buffet was mediocre and overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Metro! Full Day pass is $9.00. Can be used on all the lines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Nov 1, 2010

Average at Best

The rooms were adequate, the location was either great or poor depending on your needs. It is great as it is 2 blocks from the Smithsonian and plenty of landmarks. While you are near the sights, you are really far from any restaurants or bars. There are a couple fast food joints outside, but that's it. The hotel bar had such poor service that we just left after waiting 30 minutes to even be acknowledged. The Hotel Bistro was slightly below average for price and food quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a string of bars/restaurants/shops about a half mile or so up Independence past the Capitol.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayne, PA
Nov 1, 2010

Friendly staff, great location and price

We came to DC for the Stewart/Colbert rally...I booked this the day after it was announced. It has to be the closest hotel to the Natl' Mall, and we thought it was a great value for the rates. Hotel and room were clean, staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top