$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2015 Check-out: Aug 16, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
View map of 550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The I Traveler.
Rocky Mount, NC
Sep 6, 2012

Perfect.

Excellent accommodations, excellent location. One block away from the National Mall and Smithsonian. Metro station right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MarcandEl
Business
East Hartford, CT
Mar 29, 2013

Great location, except for the train tracks!

I had a pleasant stay here 8 yrs. ago and remembered the convenient location near the Mall and Capitol. This time, our first room we had was across from the service elevator, ice machine, vending machines, and guest elevators. Outside were railroad tracks. Our first night was spent hearing the trains rumble by with the occasional whistle blowing from 2 AM on. The guest elevator was busy. In between, we could hear the ice machine making and dropping the ice in the bin. Around 6:30 AM you hear the "flop" of newspapers being thrown in front of every room. After complaining, we were moved to another location.The 2nd room was not much better. The train whistles could still be heard. We were there for 5 nights with little sleep. As compensation, we were given one day free parking ($30/day)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mall was about 2 blocks away. It was a fairly easy walk to the Smithsonian museums and the Capitol.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 14, 2011

At least it was in a good location

Pros: Good location 2 blocks south of the National Air and Space Museum. Clean rooms. Cons: $35 per night to park. Parking in DC can be limited but at least have the decency to disclose this to customers on the web site and not at check-in. Added 20% to the room rate. Rooftop pool sounded cool but not so enjoyable when it is the size of a picnic table. A clown car at the circus comes to mind. There was more human body mass than water in this pool. Avoid the hotel restaurants unless you enjoy a three hour potluck one course meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 15, 2011

ok

Bed was uncomfortable and bathrooms were not as clean as you would expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Nov 1, 2010

Average at Best

The rooms were adequate, the location was either great or poor depending on your needs. It is great as it is 2 blocks from the Smithsonian and plenty of landmarks. While you are near the sights, you are really far from any restaurants or bars. There are a couple fast food joints outside, but that's it. The hotel bar had such poor service that we just left after waiting 30 minutes to even be acknowledged. The Hotel Bistro was slightly below average for price and food quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a string of bars/restaurants/shops about a half mile or so up Independence past the Capitol.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B-girl
Business
Virginia
Jan 5, 2011

Not What Expected

Hotel was OK. Lacked some of the basic things (i.e. Travel Shampoo etc). Cleaning staff was very noisy (vacuuming at 8:30pm) and it didn't help the walls were paper thin and you could hear normal conversations from the room next door. Also failed to mention in the description that the hotel was right next to (you could see it) the rails and every couple of hours you were blasted by the train horn. Also not disclosed until check-in was the $30 + taxes PER DAY to park your car. There are no restaurants within a reasonable walking distance either, only fast food. I would try a different hotel next time and would only stay here in a pinch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No shopping or dining within a reasonable walking distance. All good restaurants are 1+ mile away.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 16, 2011

Not again

We went to the US Capitol, White House, Smithsonian museums and several monuments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro 5 day pass was a great $ saver

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Relocated Jersey Girl
Business
Elkton, MD
Sep 28, 2009

Hotel Room in need of updating

The hotel is in a great location to see the National Mall. Very close to Air & Space Museum-- but-- our room was close to the Railroad tracks-- very loud, the toilet seat slid everytime you sat on it-- and we are not heavy, the faucet handles were so loose you could take them off and the showerknob would not turn past a certain point so the temperature was milldly warm.-- no newspaper in the morning either-- it was fine for the price and location but the room needed maintenance. We traveled to the monuments and museums by bike. -it was the best way to travel with the kids-no complaining about being tired!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short walk to the Air & Space Museum. Travel by bike. it made the trip enjoyable.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Taco AJF
Business
Zebulon, GA
Aug 21, 2014

Not What I Paid for

I booked a 2 queen bed room for the 4 of us to sleep comfortable. Once I Arrived there at 11 Pm ready for my bed i find out that they do not have the room i paid for weeks in advance. So they gave me a Suite with one bed and a pull out couch. While settling for that I notice that Four other rooms had been promised but not given to them. They offered a Roll away and reniged on that as well. I was so tired i took the room the next night they called then came to the door saying that I had a loud party going while we where all truly fast asleep. I think the Hotel has the possiblity to be a great hotel but they need to become more professional and orginized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Museums of national history

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moira's big adventure
Business
Seymour, in
May 4, 2014

My great adventure 2

Room clean & comfortable, staff welcoming amenities average. Biggest complaint is room was small & tv not comfortable watching from bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Good for the money
Business
New Orleans
Jan 2, 2012

Close to the museums

The hotel was one block from the museums. Near the capitol and Lincoln monument. There are two restaurants inside of the hotel that were good. It is an average room, however the cleaning staff was in and out in a timely manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy tickets for the trolley. They are good for three days and will save you alot of walking.

Back to menu Return to top