$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 26, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
View map of 550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike V
Business
Fort Myers, Fl
Jul 24, 2011

Great location

The overall experience at the hotel was good. It was very clean, the room was spacious and had everythin you would expect. It was within walking distance to The Mall and other DC spots to sightsee. For those interested in the nightlife, Dupont Circle is a short cab ride away and averaged $8 ea way. The largest problem I had with this hotel was the management staff. I accidentally double booked th room and the hotel manager would not refund the money for the second (accidental) booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

I would recommend investing in one of the tour buses that you can use as transportation to all the sightseeing destinations. It saves time that would normally be consumed with a lot of walking. I walked the whole time I was there but if I did it again I would use the tour bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 14, 2011

At least it was in a good location

Pros: Good location 2 blocks south of the National Air and Space Museum. Clean rooms. Cons: $35 per night to park. Parking in DC can be limited but at least have the decency to disclose this to customers on the web site and not at check-in. Added 20% to the room rate. Rooftop pool sounded cool but not so enjoyable when it is the size of a picnic table. A clown car at the circus comes to mind. There was more human body mass than water in this pool. Avoid the hotel restaurants unless you enjoy a three hour potluck one course meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Jul 3, 2011

Great hotel, great location!

The hotel location is perfect, two blocks from the Capitol Mall and the museums. If you can walk up to ten blocks you can visit most of the museums, the Capitol building and more from this hotel. Friendly staff, two restaurants and a deli on the first floor, a rooftop pool and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

get maps of the DC Circulator bus which only costs $1 to ride. also, the Metro subway is very easy to ride - you can do most of your sightseeing for no cost at all if you are willing to walk a bit. We paid for a twilight tour on Tourmobile and to Mt Vernon which was definitely worth it. Also, see if your senator will arrange a tour of the Capitol for you. Don't miss the Museum of Natural History and the Air and Space Museum. The National Cathedral is stunning - but out of the way. If you don't want to walk much there are trolley buses that you can passes for a day or two, although a little spendy. You can get a one-day pass for the Metro subway for $9 and go anywhere/everywhere for a day - great deal!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Racine, WI
Jun 27, 2011

Good value for money

Very nice option of room upgrade if you own ICH Ambassador card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 20, 2011

Great location

Hotel has a great location, very helpfull staff we will definetlly chose it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

China town is in walking distance and has lots of good restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC in a day
Business
West Palm Beach, Florida
Jun 13, 2011

Washington in a day

We had only one day to see DC. And no, you can't do Washington in a day but you can get close enough to give it a good try. This hotel was located so close to everything that we could walk to to anywhere we wanted to go. The hike to the Lincoln Memorial was a long one though so be sure to wear comfortable shoes. The hotel was perfect. Rooms were unbeatable clean. They had the small shampoos, iron and hair dryer we've come to expect. The towels were fluffy enough and the pillows were very nice. The bed was supportive yet soft; a very nice bed to sleep in when you've walked as far as we did. The restaurants on site were a little pricey and the food was adequate but there was a McDonalds 1/4 block down and other places within walking distance as well. The bus to Dulles was close and very economical but the people at the hotel were not so easy with their directions, not even with directions to the monuments. When I asked they gave me a map but no instructions or other information. I had no idea that the reflective pond was drained or that there was some event at the Air and Space museum that closed many exhibits; in fact, they didn't even tell me the hours the sites were open. All in all the hotel was perfect in location and accommodations but don't expect help from the staff with visiting the sites. Without our computer to do some searching we would have been lost. This is a hotel we'd return to because of it's location and cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tel Aviv, IL
May 30, 2011

Unbeatable location for the pric

Went to show my grandson the Smithsonian and the monuments in DC. This hotel is in walking distance from the museums and the hotel, location and price was much more competitive then our last visit to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vineland Visitor
Business
Vineland NJ
May 23, 2011

DC Wreekend Getaway

The hotel is well kept and clean and employees were friendly and helpful. We strongly recommend this hotel for those visiting the DC museums and monuments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had lunch at the Mitsitam Café at the National Museum of the American Indian. It is a bit pricey for lunch but one of the better lunch choices in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 23, 2011

A really nice trip

The hotel was great! Loved everything about it, except the parking fees. I think if you are a hotel guest, your parking fee should be more nominal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 16, 2011

Not again

We went to the US Capitol, White House, Smithsonian museums and several monuments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro 5 day pass was a great $ saver

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top