$83 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
279 reviews
GREAT!

We went there for a weekend with my parents and they also loved their king bed room! GREAT PRICE... See full review

  • zokica
  • Sep 28, 2014
Excellent

Great location, close to the national mall, and all museums. Very clean and nice. Bathroom was... See full review

  • Vladtrujillo
  • Sep 1, 2014
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block from Smithsonian's National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building (4 blocks), Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free. Grab a quick breakfast or lunch at the Shuttle Deli Express that also serves Starbucks, or visit the full service Starbucks located in the hotel. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill featuring live jazz music on Thurs and Fri. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Serving breakfast buffet daily, lunch buffet on weekdays and dinner nightly.
Express Deli
In a hurry? No time to spare? The Shuttle features continental style breakfast, Krispy Kreme donuts, sandwiches on fresh baked rolls, soup, fruit salads, the Megameal of the Day and NY Style Pizza.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
Vie de France
French, Bakery
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (279)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
momtojamn
Business
Lincoln, NE
Mar 13, 2011

Great location, clean hotel

The hotel is in a great location to visit Smithsonian museums and other D.C. must-see spots. One and a half blocks from the L'Enfant metro stop, which can be taken from Reagan National airport. For the location, the price is excellent. The hotel isn't the nicest in the area, but for the price, it's not bad. If you're interested in night-life, stay somewhere around Dupont Circle instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 15, 2011

ok

Bed was uncomfortable and bathrooms were not as clean as you would expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Asperger Mom
Business
Tacoma, WA
Jan 26, 2011

Unbeatable location

They were wonderful and even allowed me to check in early as I arrived at 11:30 a.m. The location was amazing near all the museums. I even forgot my toothbrush and they gave me one. The room service menu was excellent and very well priced, since I was working I ate in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camp Lejeune, Nc
Jan 5, 2011

Worst Stay of my LIFE!

First off you have to pay $30 for parking PER NIGHT. Which i wouldnt mind doing if the hotel was anywhere near the standards of a holiday inn... or a hotel period. This place was like a $30 a night MOTEL!! The furniture was from the 70's.. and was FILTHY!! There was literally a urine stain on the desk chair, which had BITE marks on the handles! The room itself was filthy as well, mini fridge, bathroom closet door was falling apart. No microwave as it was listed, and you had to PAY EXTRA for it! The front desk girl didnt know what the work amenities was, We were planning on staying several days and decided to leave early stayed at the Fairfield Inn by Marriot. They were amazing. STAY THERE, not here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley tour!! $40 for two days!! It was amazing! Guides were Wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B-girl
Business
Virginia
Jan 5, 2011

Not What Expected

Hotel was OK. Lacked some of the basic things (i.e. Travel Shampoo etc). Cleaning staff was very noisy (vacuuming at 8:30pm) and it didn't help the walls were paper thin and you could hear normal conversations from the room next door. Also failed to mention in the description that the hotel was right next to (you could see it) the rails and every couple of hours you were blasted by the train horn. Also not disclosed until check-in was the $30 + taxes PER DAY to park your car. There are no restaurants within a reasonable walking distance either, only fast food. I would try a different hotel next time and would only stay here in a pinch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No shopping or dining within a reasonable walking distance. All good restaurants are 1+ mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hatesville, NC
Dec 31, 2010

good value hotel, great location

Room was clean, two double beds, fridge in room was useful, a small microwave would have been nice. Lighting in bathroom was very dim. Front desk, housekeeping, and restaurant staff were pleasant and helpful. Great location for Smithsonian museums. A good value hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Smithsonian museums

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Dec 26, 2010

Great Hotel

Our Family was on an extended vacation, and we are staying at this hotel over the holiday's. It is a quality hotel with beautiful spacious rooms. You can't beat the location. There are a few restaurants in the lobby, and a Starbucks. It is just right off the National Mall, and we walked to the capital and all of the monuments. On Christmas Morning we had a stocking full of candy hanging on our door. That was a very nice touch. The one thing that isn't mentioned is that parking is extra. It was $33 a day, but the parking garage is in the same building, so it is very convenient. I'd highly recommend this hotel for a Washington Vacation. I got big Kudo's from the family for booking it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leilanimoo
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 27, 2010

Great location!

So, this hotel is only average for it's rooms that are older and look worn...but, it is awesome for its' customer service and their location which sits almost right next to the National Mall. If you are traveling with small kids, this makes it perfect for sight-seeing as you can return back to the hotel very easily when the kids get tired. The hotel also sits right next to a railroad track so let the front desk know that you want a quieter room...not next to the tracks. There are not many restaurants nearby within walking distance but a small cab fare and you have plenty of options (Old Ebbitt's Grill, for example). The hotel restaurant was only so-so for the price but there is a Starbucks inside (a plus for tired parents!) and a McDonald's right down the street for picky kids. Overall, I would totally recommend this hotel for convenience and friendliness. Our vacation was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't worry about the lack of restaurants nearby...It was only a short cab ride most of the time and the food was well worth the small fare (about $10-15)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Nov 27, 2010

great stay

we didn't get to the hotel until late that night. The staff was very helpful to us. The rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. We also enjoyed that there were three different places to eat at the hotel. The deli was a great price and nice variety to please everyones taste buds for lunch.....and there was a STARBUCKS!!!!!!!! yum yum!!! The hotel was a skip away from the Smithsonian Air and Space museum...the kids favorite place. I loved the hotel allowing us to have a late check out without extra cost....Holiday Inn has won me over with the their kindness,courtesy, and charm. loved it!!!! can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to the Smithsonian Museums. We rode a taxi to the White house, and walked back to the hotel for lunch. It was only about a 20 min. walk. Great location. We only drove to the Lincoln Monument, but if it was warmer....we would have walked there too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Peezy
Business
Columbia, SC
Nov 22, 2010

Great Location, Friendly Service!

The Holiday Inn Capitol is located just a couple blocks from Capitol Hill and a couple blocks from the L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop. This makes it very easy to get around DC and hit all the sites that you want to see. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top