$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
550 C STREET SW, WASHINGTON, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
398 reviews
good location

everything good' great location. need to have limo service to and from airport, See full review

  • lucfy
  • Jun 25, 2014
Weekend getaway

This hotel is within walking distance of countless attractions and the rooms are amazing. Will... See full review

  • Your Helpful Friend
  • Jun 12, 2014
Downtown hotel near the National Mall, museums and monuments

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8856 -77.0193
Nearby airports
BALT-WASH INTL, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW; DULLES INTERNATIONAL, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Serving breakfast buffet daily, lunch buffet on weekdays and dinner nightly.
Express Deli
In a hurry? No time to spare? The Shuttle features continental style breakfast, Krispy Kreme donuts, sandwiches on fresh baked rolls, soup, fruit salads, the Megameal of the Day and Pizza Hut Express Pizza.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (398)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Camp Hill, PA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Good location to take in a Nats game

We stayed here while attending a Phillies-Nats game. It was just a short metro ride away. The hotel was clean and well-kept. Hotel pool was nice but small. Just around the corner from the hotel was a CVS pharmacy, a McDonald's, a Quiznos, a bakery, and a cafe. There was a pizza place in the opposite direction. The L'Enfant Metro stop is diagonally one block away. The bellman held our bags in a secure closet after checkout. Our room was two double beds with satellite TV. The bathroom had a huge countertop, so we could spread out our stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast buffet was pricey for what was offered and the first round of pancakes at the buffet were frozen. Walk to Quiznos or McDonald's for breakfast.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Camp Hill, PA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Good location to take in a Nats game

We stayed here while attending a Phillies-Nats game. It was just a short metro ride away. The hotel was clean and well-kept. Hotel pool was nice but small. Just around the corner from the hotel was a CVS pharmacy, a McDonald's, a Quiznos, a bakery, and a cafe. There was a pizza place in the opposite direction. The L'Enfant Metro stop is diagonally one block away. The bellman held our bags in a secure closet after checkout. Our room was two double beds with satellite TV. The bathroom had a huge countertop, so we could spread out our stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast buffet was pricey for what was offered and the first round of pancakes at the buffet were frozen. Walk to Quiznos or McDonald's for breakfast.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FirstTimeTravelertoDC
DeKalb, IL, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Decent - but recommend some deep cleaning

Pros: Great location for our first trip to DC. Was able to walk to many of the museums and landmarks that were on our list. Easy access to Metro stops. Was mostly clean and had the amenities I expected. Nice to have a fridge in the room. Also there's a Starbucks in the same building and a less expensive coffee/deli option on the same block and a CVS pharmacy on the same block. There is also a McDonalds on that same block. Cons: Bathroom had mold in the shower/tub ceiling. Possibly due to the fact that there's no vent fan in the bathroom. Also mold on the tiles/grout in the tub area. Air conditioning unit looked nasty. The grates on the unit looked like they had not been cleaned in a long time. Also - when it turned on there was a nasty smell - not unlike rotten eggs. The smell eventually went away (or we got used to it). Lastly, they tried to bill us $16.99 for a movie. When we checked out I inquired which movie and she came back with an adult-film title. I assured the front desk staff that since I was traveling with my husband, 20 month old, mother and father, I was 100% certain no adult movies were viewed. She said she'd take it off the credit card. Glad I double-checked the invoice and didn't just do the "express" checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you just want basic coffee and an inexpensive breakfast, walk down the block to the Deli/Cafe instead of Starbucks.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mud puddle
grand junction,co.
Aug 21, 2011

friends trip

Every thing was to my satifaction except for ONE THING I WAS NOT TOLD THAT I HAD TO DID OUT 33.00 ANIGHT FOR PARKING CAR IN THEIR OWN PARKING AT MOTEL!!!!!!!!!! Other then that they seemed to fulfill my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mud puddle
grand junction,co.
Aug 21, 2011

friends trip

Every thing was to my satifaction except for ONE THING I WAS NOT TOLD THAT I HAD TO DID OUT 33.00 ANIGHT FOR PARKING CAR IN THEIR OWN PARKING AT MOTEL!!!!!!!!!! Other then that they seemed to fulfill my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FirstTimeTravelertoDC
DeKalb, IL, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Decent - but recommend some deep cleaning

Pros: Great location for our first trip to DC. Was able to walk to many of the museums and landmarks that were on our list. Easy access to Metro stops. Was mostly clean and had the amenities I expected. Nice to have a fridge in the room. Also there's a Starbucks in the same building and a less expensive coffee/deli option on the same block and a CVS pharmacy on the same block. There is also a McDonalds on that same block. Cons: Bathroom had mold in the shower/tub ceiling. Possibly due to the fact that there's no vent fan in the bathroom. Also mold on the tiles/grout in the tub area. Air conditioning unit looked nasty. The grates on the unit looked like they had not been cleaned in a long time. Also - when it turned on there was a nasty smell - not unlike rotten eggs. The smell eventually went away (or we got used to it). Lastly, they tried to bill us $16.99 for a movie. When we checked out I inquired which movie and she came back with an adult-film title. I assured the front desk staff that since I was traveling with my husband, 20 month old, mother and father, I was 100% certain no adult movies were viewed. She said she'd take it off the credit card. Glad I double-checked the invoice and didn't just do the "express" checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you just want basic coffee and an inexpensive breakfast, walk down the block to the Deli/Cafe instead of Starbucks.

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Edison, NJ
Aug 7, 2011

Nice hotel.. great location

Good hotel at best price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Near to capitol..

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Edison, NJ
Aug 7, 2011

Nice hotel.. great location

Good hotel at best price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Near to capitol..

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori Traveling Granny
Kansas City MO
Aug 6, 2011

Great location and value for the money

Room was very comfortable. Room type purchased was sold out when checked in but they provided rollaway to make up for it. Room cleaned well every day except found flip flop under one bed on 3 night of stay. Restaurant had good food, nice buffet. Pool area little crowded on one visit, plenty of room on 2 other visitsl

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some simple dining close to hotel have to walk to other, but for best dining have to drive or take metro to other location

Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori Traveling Granny
Kansas City MO
Aug 6, 2011

Great location and value for the money

Room was very comfortable. Room type purchased was sold out when checked in but they provided rollaway to make up for it. Room cleaned well every day except found flip flop under one bed on 3 night of stay. Restaurant had good food, nice buffet. Pool area little crowded on one visit, plenty of room on 2 other visitsl

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some simple dining close to hotel have to walk to other, but for best dining have to drive or take metro to other location

Back to menu Return to top