$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
View map of 550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NanaBea
Salisbury, MD
Oct 9, 2012

Holliday Inn Capitol

Overall experience was very good,. However upon arrival I was told parking would be an additional $40 including taxes. We were not there long enough to use additional amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Several blocks walk to the Smithsonian, which was the purpose of this trip. This walk also put us on the mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frightened Traveler
Business
Kansas
Mar 6, 2012

Worst Stay I Have Ever Had

I stayed the weekend in D.C. at the Holiday Inn-Capitol and had the absolute worst experience ever at a hotel. I have traveled around the world, and I have never been disturbed by rowdy guests to the extent that I was here. I was woken by a group of young men yelling, cursing, and threatening one another both nights of my stay. Apparently the hotel neglected to ask these young men to leave because the same thing happened the next night. Each time the disturbance went on for at least 45 (from 2:30-3:15 on Friday and from 4:30 on, Saturday), and on Saturday night, I had to call the front desk when I heard the fight escalate to the point of one man breaking glass. I was frightened to leave my room after midnight each night I stayed there. Also, on the second night of my stay, I was awoken at 3:30 in the morning by a fire alarm. The entire hotel was evacuated, and we stood outside in 40 degree weather in pajamas for thirty minutes. The entire time we were outside, I never once saw a hotel official. No one came out to inform the guests what was going on. I never heard hotel staff tell us we could return to our rooms. Do not stay at the hotel simply for the fact that they host unruly guests and do not properly address the safety issues that arise from their unruly guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mearl
Business
Florida, USA
Feb 27, 2012

plus minus minus

the hotel was nice and had good location.... thats about it, first when I called they did indeed tell me they had a parking garage but then when I got there I got hit with 30$ a night and then a 10$ dc parking tax to park my car for the weekend. if you have time look around the city and talk to other hotels to see what the deal is with parking, even if its more it might work out in the end. second, I went downstairs to get coffee in the morning while the other people in my party got ready and decided to use the lobby bathroom before I went back to my room, when I walked in a homeless man was washing in the sinks, full blown washing his face and hair. I finished my biz and went back upstairs shaking my head, after our day was over the guy was still in the hotel and hanging around the starbucks begging for change, I guess this is allowed around the grounds but it was not something I expected to see. aside from that the hotel was ok for the most part, great location for the smithsonian museums, not so great for night time dining but a simple cab ride and you can eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tmoz
Business
Hartford, CT, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Amazing Spot in DC

This was a great spot for me and my family to spend four days exploring the Smithsonian museums. When you step out of the hotel you can see the entrance to the Air and Space Museum. L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop was a quick cut through the next door building. We took the train into Union station and everything was easy to navigate and see from arrival to departure. Capitol Bistro had a great brunch but dinner wasn't exceptional. The kids eat free promotion was a great feature though the brunch is not included in that offer, but the buffet was reduced. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was so close we didn't have whiny kids who thought it was too far to walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HB Clan
Business
West Chester, PA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Just OK for the price...........

Overall the place was pretty average. It's older and shows that way and the front desk staff was cold and unwelcoming. Food was a bit pricey for the quality. The most interesting event occurred during check-in. I was told the room we reserved had sleeping capacity for only four even though the reservation we placed clearly stated we had five people staying at the hotel. How does that happen?? The manager was quick to resolve this issue without trying to charge me the extra fee for a cot which the Front Desk person tried to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Carmine's for great family style Italian.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Treesee
Business
Texas
Feb 14, 2012

Really liked this hotel

Holiday Inn Capitol is a AWESOME place to stay--especially if this is your first time to D.C.. Very easy walking access to National Mall and Capitol--central and safe location. Starbucks access from lobby--hotel restaurant gave generous portions and was good food. Our room/bathroom was plain and a little dated BUT was very clean and the beds were comfortable--that's all we cared about. Hotel staff was pleasant. Definetly would stay here again. Only downside--not many eating choices around here but we either walked about 10-12 minutes up 7th or 9th street to one of the letter street area or grabbed a $7 cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adrian Pablo
Business
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Feb 14, 2012

Nice place to stay in DC

well located, ideal for a visit to DC. All musseums are very close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Smithsonians are closer than Metro station!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GirlFromMinnesota
Business
Shakopee, MN
Jan 17, 2012

Great Location!

We were pleasantly surprised that our hotel was so convenient to downtown D.C. AND the Metro system. The front desk was VERY helpful with all our questions and we did ask a lot. Everyone was friendly and ready to help us when we needed. Great place/location and we will definitely use this hotel again when we visit in the future. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to visit the D.C. area for a great price and great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro System! We had such a cheap vacation because we didn't have to pay to get into things and took the Metro/walked everywhere.!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC visitor
Business
Wyoming, USA
Jan 16, 2012

DC visit

Perfect location for Metro, Capitol, and Mall. Breakfast buffet marginal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Good for the money
Business
New Orleans
Jan 2, 2012

Close to the museums

The hotel was one block from the museums. Near the capitol and Lincoln monument. There are two restaurants inside of the hotel that were good. It is an average room, however the cleaning staff was in and out in a timely manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy tickets for the trolley. They are good for three days and will save you alot of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GA Travelers
Business
GA
Dec 5, 2011

Perfect Location

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The location was next to the Metro and a block from the Air & Space Museum. The rooms were clean, pillows very comfy, lots of amenities in the bathroom, and beds were comfortable. Be warned that because this is a business/government area, there aren't many sit-down restaurants nearby. Quick counter service places, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a CVS next door for snacks. Stock the mini-fridge to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top