$83 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

3 stars
550 "C" Street S.W., Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
279 reviews
GREAT!

We went there for a weekend with my parents and they also loved their king bed room! GREAT PRICE... See full review

  • zokica
  • Sep 28, 2014
Excellent

Great location, close to the national mall, and all museums. Very clean and nice. Bathroom was... See full review

  • Vladtrujillo
  • Sep 1, 2014
Downtown hotel near the National Mall, museums and monuments

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is in a prime location for visitors who want to be close to the Capitol Hill, National Mall and museums. Two Metro stations are nearby. Many rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. Kids eat for free at the on-site restaurant. The hotel lounge features live music. Cool off or relax by the seasonal rooftop pool and take in the view of the Capitol.

Highlights
  • Rooftop pool with view of the Capitol
  • Kids eat free at the on-site restaurant, Capitol Bistro
  • The 21st Amendment Bar and Lounge has live music two nights a week
Location

The Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol is located just off the National Mall and near many museums. It is close to Capitol Hill and two Metro stations.

Rooms

Rooms at the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol are decorated in warm beige and rose tones with traditional wood furniture, a work desk and a 32-inch flat screen television. Beds have are triple sheeted and include soft and firm pillows. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access is available. Suites have a separate living area with a sleeper sofa, lounge chair and wet bar.

Features

The seasonal rooftop pool has views of the Capitol. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio equipment and weights. Guests can obtain passes to nearby Gold's Gym with more extensive fitness options (fees apply). The front desk has maps for jogging, walking and biking. There's a Shuttle Express Deli. The on-site Capitol Bistro serves a breakfast or lunch buffet and ala carte dinner where kids eat for free. Grab a drink and relax at the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with live music two nights a week. There is a parking garage (fees apply).

Transportation
  • L'Enfant Plaza Metro stop (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (2.7 mi/ 4.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (24 mi/ 39 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • The National Mall (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • National Air and Space Museum (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.7 km)
  • United States Capitol (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The White House (1.1 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Georgetown (2.5 mi/ 4.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive suites
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.2 mi
  • National Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.4 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1 mi

Dining

Capitol Bistro
Enjoy classic American fare. Serving breakfast buffet daily, lunch buffet on weekdays and dinner nightly.
Express Deli
In a hurry? No time to spare? The Shuttle features continental style breakfast, Krispy Kreme donuts, sandwiches on fresh baked rolls, soup, fruit salads, the Megameal of the Day and NY Style Pizza.
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Contemporary Lounge setting. Features 4 large LCD TV's. A hip and trendy setting. Delicious food and signature cocktails. Live Entertainment twice a week.
Starbucks
Starbucks offers breakfast, lunch and light fare including salads, sandwiches and fresh fruit. We have a wonderful variety of foods to complement your delicious drink.
Vie de France
French, Bakery
21st Amendment Bar & Grill
Did you know our Washington hotel is a great place to relax? The 21st Amendment Bar & Grill offers a light menu, as well as favorite cocktails and beers in a convivial atmosphere. You can also enjoy live jazz entertainment Wed and Thur from 6pm to 9pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (279)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oakleyman
Business
Oakley, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Great intro to D.C.

This was my first time to D.C., and i can't say anything negative about it! The Holiday Inn Capitol was great. Excellent location ( 1.5 blocks to the Air & Sapce Museum and 2 blocks to the Smithsonian Castle. L Enfant Plaza Metro is less than a block away, and if you want to take the 5A Bus from Dulles Int. it drops you off right across the street. Good buffets offered for both breakfast and dinner and a nice bar to relax in at the end of a long day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop on the Metro at L Enfant Plaza and head to Chinatown Gallery metro stop for a lot of evening action. Check out the Rocket Bar and District Chophouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Copper vane
Business
Topeka, KS, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Great location

Staff was very nice. Room was comfortable and clean. We picked this hotel due to location all the museums and National Mall. Also very close to a metro stop. We would stay there again hands down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJ66
Business
michigan
Mar 26, 2012

great location and value

We just spent five nights at the Holiday Inn and had a great time. The room was large and comfortable. Staff very attentive from the front desk to the conceige. We easily walked to almost all the monuments as well as to China town. This is a great location for seeing the DC area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Air and space museum is just two blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bostonfamily
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Good choice for families

We stayed here for four days over the the weekend of the cherry blossom festival. The hotel is located very close to the museums. There are no decent restaurants nearby, Starbucks in the lobby was great though. The room was average. A little worse for the wear, but worth the price. Our room was right next to the elevator, and surprisingly not that loud. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to most of the museums, and take the trolley to the monuments, White House, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rock Hill, SC, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Great for Smithsonian museum visitors

I stayed here with my 9 year old grandson on a recent DC trip. The hotel is only two short blocks from the Air and Space museum. Very convenient for visitng all the wonderful national museums on the mall and in the area. Very comfortable large rooms. This is a kid friendly hotel , kids under 12 eat free in the hotel restaurant. There is a CVS on the same block where you can pick up snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The trolley gives a good informative overview of the Capital as well as letting you hop on and off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
saluda
Business
Suffolk, VA
Mar 19, 2012

DC trip

good hotel near everything we wanted to see. nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kakie
Business
Texas
Mar 15, 2012

Fantastic Trip to DC

The hotel is in a superb location a block off the mall and a short walk to the Aero and Space Museum. The rooms were clean and comfortable but we spent little time in the room it self. We wandered the 19 Smithsonian (all free of charge) and took in the monuments, State Captial and White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't get the Trolley bus ticket, Metro is faster and cheaper. Often the bus was full and one had to wait an additional 30 min. for the next Trolley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GarBmeer
Business
Brookings, SD 57006, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Great place to stay for work or pleasure

We've stayed at this hotel many times for our business travel and is a perfect location because of the close proximity to capital hill and also the mall area, which makes it convenient to take in a few tourist attractions before or after business. The staff has always been very helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet is a little spendy if you're not a large breakfast eater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close enough to walk the mall area. Be sure to bring your walking shoes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frightened Traveler
Business
Kansas
Mar 6, 2012

Worst Stay I Have Ever Had

I stayed the weekend in D.C. at the Holiday Inn-Capitol and had the absolute worst experience ever at a hotel. I have traveled around the world, and I have never been disturbed by rowdy guests to the extent that I was here. I was woken by a group of young men yelling, cursing, and threatening one another both nights of my stay. Apparently the hotel neglected to ask these young men to leave because the same thing happened the next night. Each time the disturbance went on for at least 45 (from 2:30-3:15 on Friday and from 4:30 on, Saturday), and on Saturday night, I had to call the front desk when I heard the fight escalate to the point of one man breaking glass. I was frightened to leave my room after midnight each night I stayed there. Also, on the second night of my stay, I was awoken at 3:30 in the morning by a fire alarm. The entire hotel was evacuated, and we stood outside in 40 degree weather in pajamas for thirty minutes. The entire time we were outside, I never once saw a hotel official. No one came out to inform the guests what was going on. I never heard hotel staff tell us we could return to our rooms. Do not stay at the hotel simply for the fact that they host unruly guests and do not properly address the safety issues that arise from their unruly guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn WASHINGTON-CAPITOL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mearl
Business
Florida, USA
Feb 27, 2012

plus minus minus

the hotel was nice and had good location.... thats about it, first when I called they did indeed tell me they had a parking garage but then when I got there I got hit with 30$ a night and then a 10$ dc parking tax to park my car for the weekend. if you have time look around the city and talk to other hotels to see what the deal is with parking, even if its more it might work out in the end. second, I went downstairs to get coffee in the morning while the other people in my party got ready and decided to use the lobby bathroom before I went back to my room, when I walked in a homeless man was washing in the sinks, full blown washing his face and hair. I finished my biz and went back upstairs shaking my head, after our day was over the guy was still in the hotel and hanging around the starbucks begging for change, I guess this is allowed around the grounds but it was not something I expected to see. aside from that the hotel was ok for the most part, great location for the smithsonian museums, not so great for night time dining but a simple cab ride and you can eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top