$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

3 stars
815 14th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
266 reviews
Perfect location, awesome staff, terrific food.

We were met at the desk by Eddie, who promptly checked us in, asked if we needed area info, and... See full review

  • KC from Virginia
  • Mar 13, 2014
Perfect couples getaway

We loved our stay. All the way from Hawaii!! We will recommend this hotel to everyone we know See full review

  • Hawaii Couple
  • Jan 19, 2014
Hotel near the White House with whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi

The Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown is located a few blocks from the White House, just across the street from the McPherson Square Metro station. The classy lobby has dark wood accents and white marble floors. Amenities include a fitness room or a StayFit kit that can be borrowed from the front desk. Rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. The indoor pool is great for laps or lounging. The Great American Grill serves breakfast and dinner daily. Wi-Fi is complimentary.

Highlights
  • Central location near White House, Dupont Circle and many museums and monuments
  • Whirlpool
  • In-room microwave and refrigerator
Location

The Hilton Garden Inn is across the street from McPherson Square Metro station, three blocks from the White House, and within walking distance to Dupont Circle and the museums and monuments.

Rooms

The 14-story Hilton Garden Inn has 300 rooms. Each room includes a chair and ottoman, large work desk with Herman Miller chair, two phones, a microwave and refrigerator, 32-inch flat screen television, on-demand movies, complimentary high-speed Internet and Nintendo. Beds are topped with crisp white duvets. High chairs and cribs can be requested, and there's a children's menu for room service. Many rooms have views of the city skyline.

Features

Start your day by working out in the fitness center, or borrow a StayFit Kit, which can be used in the room. Relax in the whirlpool or swim laps in the indoor pool. The Great American Grill serves breakfast and dinner daily -- the sliders are a favorite. The Pavilion Pantry sells snacks and beverages. Guests can grab a drink and chat in the cozy Pavilion Lounge. There is complimentary wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Valet parking (fees apply) is available.

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop (Across the street)
  • Regan National Airport (3.5 mi/ 5.7 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/ 38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 44 km)
Attractions
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • The White House (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • The National Mall (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Photocopying/fax/printer services
  • Audio-visual equipment rental
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • Meeting rooms

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9004 -77.032
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 30.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, S;

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.8 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.9 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (266)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
266 out of 266
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooke0588
Kentucky
Jun 30, 2014

Great Location!

The location of this hotel is awesome. The subway is right across the street, there are a few quick eateries and it's right down the road from all the action. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We didn't encounter any problems during our stay at all. The price of parking is steep but that is to be expected in a big city. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Medic
Mifflintown, PA
Jun 30, 2014

Great with Kids

My family and I stayed for a single night to enjoy a Weekend DC experience. The only problem that we encountered was with the initial parking. There is minimal space in front of the hotel to park. However, staff were great at keeping the traffic flow moving and getting us inside of the hotel. Once in the hotel, we were met by friendly staff who assisted us. We had arrived at the hotel early and there were no rooms cleaned and ready, staff checked our bags and offered multiple services while we waited. Because we were ready to go and see the sights, we declined. The Concierge was impressive. She offered to take care of all our needs. Upon returning to the hotel that evening, she recommended a great restaurant that was within walking distance and very kid friendly. On our second day, staff assisted us in checking all our bags and we were able to keep the vehicle at the hotel until 200 pm. This was a great experience and I will be returning to this hotel for future visits to the DC Area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grammy Carole
New Jersey
Jun 20, 2014

Very nice experience!

Perfect location for sightseeing...walking distance to all the major Monuments and Museums. There for the 200th Anniversary of the Star--Spangled Banner which was at the National Museum of American History which should be a must see on everyone's visit list. And thanks for the perfect weather!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Visit the Monuments at night...beautiful!

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beverly1984
Nashville, TN
Jun 17, 2014

Pleasant Trip

If you are looking for something in the heart of the city, you have found it. Hilton, overall, is a very good hotel, so I had no worries. The breakfast and restaruant wait staff were wonderful. The concierge was exceedingly helpful. And the room extremely comfortable. The only thing that need addressing at this hotel is the valet attendants; they are inattentive and slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Krystyna611
Hamtramck, Michigan
May 5, 2014

Met our expectations

We weren't looking for anything fancy. The room was clean and comfy. Our room was in the "back" and didn't have a great view but that's OK, that's not what was important to us. It was quiet and comfortable. It had a microwave, coffeemaker, mini fridge. The most important thing was the location, which was great. Only 3 blocks from the White House. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro station right across the street

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
URZ RSO
Wyoming
Apr 7, 2014

Business turned Casual

Had a conference in DC over the weekend. My wife came with me and while I was busy listening to people talk she was able to sight see and after a couple of days we got to spend the rest of the weekend vacationing. The location of this hotel was perfect. Across the street from a metro stop and just a couple blocks from the White House. The staff were very friendly and the concierge at the front was helpful and knowledgeable about things to do and the best ways to get around. Rooms were clean but nothing special to add a flare or make the service stand out. Compared to other hotels I've stayed at I enjoyed the baggage check option, we had to check out in the morning but our flight didn't leave until late afternoon, so we were able to leave our luggage with the hotel staff and go sight seeing for a few extra hours before we needed to head out to the airport on the very nearby metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Went to a restaurant called the Woodward Table just a couple blocks from the hotel. Very good appetizers and my wife loved her filet mignon.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bc5k
Lexington, KY
Mar 23, 2014

Great weekend getaway

I am a business traveler and expect a lot from a hotel... This one definitely delivered. From the day early arrival at 2:30am to a late check out at 1pm they were very accommodating. The wife and I have special dietary needs and the fridge and microwave were an excellent touch that most more upscale hotels lack. Perfect for the epilepsy walk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Public transit (orange and blue lines) right across the street.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KC from Virginia
Harrisonburg, VA
Mar 13, 2014

Perfect location, awesome staff, terrific food.

We were met at the desk by Eddie, who promptly checked us in, asked if we needed area info, and filled us in on pool, gym n snack locations within the hotel. We had to get a rollaway for my niece, and she said it was so comfy. Perfect locale. Across from McPherson Station, or the friendly doorman will hail a cab for you. Food was good in restaurant, bartender not so great on margaritas! Larger rooms than normal DC Hotels. Very safe area, lots of bakeries n snack restaurants nearby. Waking distance to most of the historical sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Old Ebbitts Grille a few blocks away. A little.bit of DC history, and a fantastic brunch.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lynn Tay
Forked River, NJ
Feb 13, 2014

hectic get-away

confusion with our check in that lead to one disaster after another. clean hotel. friendly staff. nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SBW9
New Jersey
Feb 10, 2014

Good place!

Would stay here again. The only thing was parking was a little expensive. But overall good experience and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top