$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

Henley Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 926 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
169 reviews
couple stay over

I really enjoyed my self as well as my partner. The customer service was awesome and the room was a... See full review

  • Queen
  • May 18, 2015
Really neat hotel!

Old world style lobby! Nice restaurant & bar! Really comfortable bed & pillows! Very clean quiet... See full review

  • show cattle chic
  • Apr 6, 2015
Historic, boutique hotel in Penn Quarter near convention center

The Henley Park Hotel was built in 1918 as the Tudor Hall Apartments. The historic hotel has long been a favorite of senators and congressmen. The distinct Tudor-style structure boasts leaded, stained glass windows and 118 exterior gargoyles. The Henley Park Hotel is a member of Historic Hotels of America, has antique furnishings and evokes a classy, elegant ambiance. Rooms are quaint with all the usual amenities. Suites have an extra living area and sitting room. The hotel is one block from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center.

Highlights
  • Historic building with stained glass windows and gargoyles
  • One block from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access in rooms
  • Traditional afternoon English tea service
Location

The Henley Park Hotel is located in the Penn Quarter neighborhood of D.C. next to the convention center. The hotel is near Chinatown, the National Mall, central downtown and within blocks of the Metro.

Rooms

The charming rooms of the Henley Park Hotel are decorated with warm colors and antique furniture. Every room offers plush robes, coffeemakers, luxurious bath products, fully stocked mini bars and 24-hour room service.

Features

The highlight of the Henley Park Hotel is its charming, historic space that reminds one of a quaint European inn. More modern amenities include complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet. The fitness room has a mix of cardio equipment.

Dining

The Henley Park Hotel's restaurant, The Tavern at The Henley Park Hotel, serves gourmet New American cuisine and has an extensive wine list. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wilkes room offers afternoon tea. Guests stop for a drink and light fare at the Blue Bar Cocktail Lounge.

Transportation
  • Mt. Vernon Square/Convention Center Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.3 km)
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The National Mall (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary overnight shoeshine
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $38 USD/night plus tax, with in and out privileges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Henley Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Henley Park Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
A large room featuring a king bed, sitting area with sofa and chairs, wet bar, desk. All rooms include: Free high-speed wireless Internet access, 24-hour room service, Nightly turndown service, Italian Frette Linens and towels, Full bathroom with Bath and Body Works personal bath amenities, Spa robes, Refrigerator, Fully stocked mini-bar, Remote-control flat panel cable television, In-room safe, Free bottled water daily, Coffeemaker, Telephone with voicemail, Alarm radio, Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board. Also available are: Free delivery of The Washington Post daily, Free access to our fitness room with 24-hour secure key access, and free use of the business center.
Standard Room
Beautifully decorated guest rooms offer one queen size bed with all modern amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Eton Room: Set either for conference, classroom, banquet, reception or theatre style. Windows offer natural sunlight in the Eton room which can accommodate up to 60 people.

Dining

Wilkes Room
Features traditonal afternoon English tea service.
Blue Bar
Rich fabric appointments and a zinc bar adorn this cozy lounge. Area is available for cocktail and buffet receptions for 20-150 guests.
The Tavern
Our critically acclaimed restaurant, The Tavern at The Henley Park Hotel, continually receives top ten ratings in the Zagat Survey for food, service and dcor. The innovative menu features new American cuisine with regional seasonal inspirations. Enjoy live jazz every Saturday night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Henley Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gimmeabrekplez
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Historic maybe, professional, not a chance

Personally, I would not recommend this place for a stay while in DC. I have stayed at better places for less money. Staff was just OK. Don't eat there! Food is way over price and not that good. Don't ask for anything from the wait staff. They acted as if it was a chore to get you anything. Then they charged my card for a day I was not even there. I came in on Friday, and after disputing the bill when I checked out, they claimed a reservation was made for the 3rd. When asked to speak with Halle, we were told she was not around. I even asked if they could call her, and the reply was they did not have her number. I said, well how do you contact her if she doesn't show up for work. Poor, Poor, service! Would never recommend that place! Rip off kings!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lyles
Business
Raleigh
Jun 7, 2012

Very negative experience

I prepaid for a room one week out. I was driving in late and I called to say I would arrive late and the hotel said they had overbooked and were sending me to another hotel. The hotel they sent me to was of far less quality. The clerk was rude and short. What's even more frustrating is that I had stayed at this hotel over 20 times in 3 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lyles
Business
Raleigh
Jun 7, 2012

Henley Park

My experience was poor. I made the reservation and prepaid for the room almost a week before my reservation. I was driving up to DC and called the Henley to say I would be getting in late. The clerk informed me that they were overbooked and had transferred my reservation to a far less nicer hotel. I asked how could that be given I had prepaid and booked far advance. The clerk said she did not have an answer. So I prepaid and ended up in a very mediocre hotel. What is also very annoying is that I have probably stayed at the Henley Plaza over 20 times in the past three years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 6, 2011

Decent stay with poor sleep

Henley Park Hotel is one of the Historic hotels in DC. However, the pictures on their sites makes it look much more luxurious and bigger than it is. It is a small romantic hotel is a graet part of the city from where you can walk to Chinatown (5 minutes), and Capital Building (15 minutes). It is an old hotel and has not had it's hallway and lobby carpet replaced for decades. As such it has rips, swells an smells. There are no fans in the bathrooms, so when you use the bathroom it smells and fogs that does not clear out. Our bathtub backed up after each shower; we called the front desk and they cleaned up the drain, but that did not stop the slow flow -- so during a 5 minute shower expect to stand in ankle deep soap water. The worst part was the bed: the mattress is bouncy and hard to sleep. Having said that, you cannot expect a historic hotel to have all the modern conveniences due to lack of infrastructure. The hotel staff is courteous and helpful with directions and the location is away from crowded busy streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pjom03
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 19, 2012

Eh...

The hotel was just okay. It is highly outdated, (i.e. carpeted walls in the elevators, stained carpeting etc...) and the staff was not overly friendly. Housekeeping also did not come twice, despite my leaving a tip every day, and the days that they did come left much to be desired. Trash was rarely taken out, sinks were rarely cleaned, never replaced the water glasses etc... It is also quite a noisy hotel due to its location on a very busy road. This, of course, is not the hotel's fault, and they do provide a pair of ear plugs for you. That said, if you are a light sleeper, the noisy traffic and sirens may make for a difficult night's sleep. Also, the rooms are quite small. If you are only in the hotel to sleep, or if you are travelling solo, this is of course not an issue, but if you are planning to spend some time in the hotel, or are travelling with others, it may feel cramped. There were a few positives as well; they use Bath and Bodyworks toiletries, which are nice. They deliver two bottles of complimentary waters around 7:00 pm each evening, and a news paper awaits you each morning. The beds are relatively comfortable and when I requested a taxi back to the airport at the end of my stay, they had it promptly waiting for me. In the end, however, I will not likely stay here again, and would not recommend it to a friend. While it is relatively affordable, it is not very close to the subway (about a 15 minute walk), making getting around more of a challenge, especially in the extreme heat of summer or cold of winter. It does not feel very clean, housekeeping only came about 2/3rds of the time, and the staff was not very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RozC
Business
NY, NY
Sep 24, 2012

sleepless in DC

My first room assignment was next to the air vent on the top floor. I requested a new room because of the noise and was reassigned to an upgraded room in the front of the hotel. Unfortunately, no information was provided on the hotel website detailing the large construction project underway next to the hotel. On both nights of my stay I was awakened at 6am with unbearable construction noise. The hotel provided earplugs, but they did hardly improved the situation. I would have asked for a refund after the first night, but both mornings when I awoke, there was noone staffing the front desk. Horrible experience for an expensive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
qtn303[@]
Business
Reno, NV
Jun 14, 2009

mixed feelings

The only thing good about the hotel was the location (close to convention center). Otherwise, this hotel ranks in the lowest tertile of hotels I'd been in. The room was very small. The windows open to a construction area right next door. We had to keep the windows close during the daytime because the construction workers can look right into our room. When they paint at the construction site, the smell lingers for hours in the room. There was a stain on the ceiling. We told the front desk about it and they sent someone to the room to check it out and said it was not a leak, just a stain. We were there for 5 nights and the stain got bigger and changed shape, so I'm pretty sure it was a leak and not just an old stain. The bed gave us itchy rashes. Both of us felt sick after we left the hotel. All in all, this hotel is worst than motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 1, 2009

Historic Henley

Washington DC is a wonderful vacation distination. It was good that we did not spend much time at the hotel. The room was very small and there was not any room to put our clothes in drawers or in the closet for that matter. Understanding this is a historic hotel one would expect some less than modern amenities however this hotel has not had any updating. The airflow was bad and all around very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 2, 2009

Not a great hotel for business travel

Very small and old...not many comfortable...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
May 30, 2009

Perks and Problems

We were in DC to visit family and see the sights. Positive aspects: the hotel was a reasonable walking distance to Metro, although safety was questionable at night. It is a beautiful, well-kept historic hotel, located near downtown. We had fairly easy access to tourist points of interest. We found the staff to be wonderfully pleasant, and they tried hard to be helpful. Three problems made staying there an unpleasant experience: 1. Toilets were very low to the floor, and the water level was high. Move just a little and "splash!" Disgusting! Especially if you're a man! That was a problem we just couldn't find a way to work around. 2. The shower was slippery, and there was nothing to hold for balance. 3. The key card did not work reliably. This hotel compared favorably in some ways with many of the places we have stayed across the country - with the glaring exception of the toilet. That seems to be a pretty basic need, so I can't imagine how it hasn't been a problem for lots of adults. If the toilets were replaced with easier-to-stay-dry toilets, if grab bars were installed in the shower, and if the key cards were more reliable, I would undoubtedly feel much more inclined to recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is about a four block walk to either of two Metro stops, and the DC Metro is a marvelous way to get around the city to visit all the attractions there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top