$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Henley Park Hotel

3 stars
926 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
151 reviews
Wonderful downtown hotel

This place was great! Very charming, comfortable, clean, luxurious. The room was surprisingly... See full review

  • Dancin' Fool
  • Apr 15, 2014
Wonderful stay

Loved our stay. Convenient to the convention center and within walking distance to the monuments,... See full review

  • Triangle Volleyball Mom
  • Feb 18, 2014
Historic, boutique hotel in Penn Quarter near convention center

The Henley Park Hotel was built in 1918 as the Tudor Hall Apartments. The historic hotel has long been a favorite of senators and congressmen. The distinct Tudor-style structure boasts leaded, stained glass windows and 118 exterior gargoyles. The Henley Park Hotel is a member of Historic Hotels of America, has antique furnishings and evokes a classy, elegant ambiance. Rooms are quaint with all the usual amenities. Suites have an extra living area and sitting room. The hotel is one block from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center.

Highlights
  • Historic building with stained glass windows and gargoyles
  • One block from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access in rooms
  • Traditional afternoon English tea service
Location

The Henley Park Hotel is located in the Penn Quarter neighborhood of D.C. next to the convention center. The hotel is near Chinatown, the National Mall, central downtown and within blocks of the Metro.

Rooms

The charming rooms of the Henley Park Hotel are decorated with warm colors and antique furniture. Every room offers plush robes, coffeemakers, luxurious bath products, fully stocked mini bars and 24-hour room service.

Features

The highlight of the Henley Park Hotel is its charming, historic space that reminds one of a quaint European inn. More modern amenities include complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet. The fitness room has a mix of cardio equipment.

Dining

The Henley Park Hotel's restaurant, The Tavern at The Henley Park Hotel, serves gourmet New American cuisine and has an extensive wine list. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wilkes room offers afternoon tea. Guests stop for a drink and light fare at the Blue Bar Cocktail Lounge.

Transportation
  • Mt. Vernon Square/Convention Center Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.3 km)
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The National Mall (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary overnight shoeshine
Policies and fees
  • Parking is valet only at a cost of $33 per night plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9032 -77.0258
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport Dulles International
Area description
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4 miles, Convention Center 1 blk, Smithsonian Museum nearby, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 30 mi, Dulles International 30 mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Henley Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Henley Park Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Beautifully decorated guest rooms offer one queen size bed with all modern amenities.
Junior Suite
A large room featuring a king bed, sitting area with sofa and chairs, wet bar, desk. All rooms include: Free high-speed wireless Internet access, 24-hour room service, Nightly turndown service, Italian Frette Linens and towels, Full bathroom with Bath and Body Works personal bath amenities, Spa robes, Refrigerator, Fully stocked mini-bar, Remote-control flat panel cable television, In-room safe, Free bottled water daily, Coffeemaker, Telephone with voicemail, Alarm radio, Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board. Also available are: Free delivery of The Washington Post daily, Free access to our fitness room with 24-hour secure key access, and free use of the business center.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi

Dining

Blue Bar
Rich fabric appointments and a zinc bar adorn this cozy lounge. Area is available for cocktail and buffet receptions for 20-150 guests.
The Tavern
Our critically acclaimed restaurant, The Tavern at The Henley Park Hotel, continually receives top ten ratings in the Zagat Survey for food, service and dcor. The innovative menu features new American cuisine with regional seasonal inspirations. Enjoy live jazz every Saturday night.
Wilkes Room
Features traditonal afternoon English tea service.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Eton Room: Set either for conference, classroom, banquet, reception or theatre style. Windows offer natural sunlight in the Eton room which can accommodate up to 60 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for Henley Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gimmeabrekplez
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Historic maybe, professional, not a chance

Personally, I would not recommend this place for a stay while in DC. I have stayed at better places for less money. Staff was just OK. Don't eat there! Food is way over price and not that good. Don't ask for anything from the wait staff. They acted as if it was a chore to get you anything. Then they charged my card for a day I was not even there. I came in on Friday, and after disputing the bill when I checked out, they claimed a reservation was made for the 3rd. When asked to speak with Halle, we were told she was not around. I even asked if they could call her, and the reply was they did not have her number. I said, well how do you contact her if she doesn't show up for work. Poor, Poor, service! Would never recommend that place! Rip off kings!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Political Junkie
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 19, 2011

Unexpected Dream Stay

This place looked exceptional from its website, but it went beyond the highest expectations. The value was good, and it has old-charm character beyond anything you can find for its price. This used to be a sketchy neighborhood, but since the Convention Center and CATO institute moved across the street (and corporations such as Microsoft moving next door) it makes this a close walk to almost everything on our agenda -- the White House and Chinatown are both just minutes to walk to, as well as most museums of interest to us (Newseum -- which is great fun for the family, Spy Museum, and many of the Smithsonians). On top of all this, the dinner was top-rate, the bar fun (with weekend live entertainment) and they even serve a high-tea, which my daughter will surely enjoy when she gets older.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Newseum was FAR better than we expected, so we went back a second day! (you get two days for each ticket). The Capital Building Tour is far better than the White House, which is self-guided. Both require tickets from your Congressman so plan at least six months in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vicki from Boston
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 17, 2011

DC in 4 Days

The hotel is above average! The rooms were great-very clean and lots of space! The staff held our bags until check in which was nice and they gave us a visitors map. This is really nice so we were able get around without any trouble. They have live jazz music on Saturday nights. They have a bar and dining. Over all a great place. The only down side is a hike to the mall area but very close to China town. I found that even getting to the Metro was several blocks away and if you've even been to DC walking is part of the package so be ready with appropiate walking shoes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk 1.5 miles to the Dupont Circle which has lost of shops, dining and great night life!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamcel
Business
Marathon, Fl
Aug 16, 2011

Great 1st Time DC Trip

The staff was very polite and helpful. They allowed us to check in a little early which was nice. They were very efficient. The room was a bit smaller then most standards rooms but that is probably because it is a historic hotel. Still good enough for 2 people to be in comfortably. The property was very nice and gave an atmosphere that added to the history of the city. The hotel was not to far from trains that took you anywhere in the city you wanted to go so a car was not necessary for us. There was construction going on in the street but that didn't bother us because our day started at 6:30am. The hotel provided ear plugs for those who were light sleepers and not familiar with city noises at night. Over all, we would stay in the hotel again and I thought that it was a perfect location/ environment to go with the theme of learning about our capital city's history. It is also just a short walk from Chinatown where you can find good food for good prices.*(not Just Oriental Food.)FYI: there is no pool if you are expecting one but there are so many things to do around town that you won't have time for a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Centennial, CO
Jul 26, 2011

Great hotel stay

I visited my daughter, who lives a few blocks away. We endured the worst heat wave EVER-but my hotel room was cool and comfy! My only advice is to post a sign regarding how to activate the shower..a little challenging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smithsonian American Archives and the pop-up restaurant "America Eats"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 21, 2011

Overall good experience

The good: Very friendly, accommodating staff. The bed, pillows, and comforter were extremely comfortable. The room included a small safe, a small fridge, and a flat-screen TV. It was hot during our visit, and thankfully the air conditioning worked very well. They provided us with two bottles of water every time the maid came - a nice touch. The hotel is within walking distance of the national mall. There is a liquor store 2 blocks away and there is a Whole Foods about a 15 minute walk away. The bad: The room was smaller than expected, and the view out the window was non-existent. Plan on eating your meals elsewhere, because the prices in the hotel restaurant were exorbitant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feelingtakenforgranted
Business
delaware
Jul 7, 2011

watch out for those fees

We went to Washington to have a fourth of july fun time and for our anniversary. The town was packed but fun. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is friendly but boy do they get you. They give valet parking but do not inform you that it costs close to $38.00 per day, and then they take out of your bank a charge of $60.00 in case you use their room bar. They charged us twice for the parking thinking we were not going to pay them, but we did, in cash. They still did not renig on the withdrawal and it has been three days. It was a good trip if you don't count the loss of $120.00!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

wear good shoes and light clothing but the smithsonian is wonderful to see

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 6, 2011

Decent stay with poor sleep

Henley Park Hotel is one of the Historic hotels in DC. However, the pictures on their sites makes it look much more luxurious and bigger than it is. It is a small romantic hotel is a graet part of the city from where you can walk to Chinatown (5 minutes), and Capital Building (15 minutes). It is an old hotel and has not had it's hallway and lobby carpet replaced for decades. As such it has rips, swells an smells. There are no fans in the bathrooms, so when you use the bathroom it smells and fogs that does not clear out. Our bathtub backed up after each shower; we called the front desk and they cleaned up the drain, but that did not stop the slow flow -- so during a 5 minute shower expect to stand in ankle deep soap water. The worst part was the bed: the mattress is bouncy and hard to sleep. Having said that, you cannot expect a historic hotel to have all the modern conveniences due to lack of infrastructure. The hotel staff is courteous and helpful with directions and the location is away from crowded busy streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 29, 2011

Great experience

I really enjoyed staying at this very charming hotel and would definitely stay there again. The service was prompt and courteous (when I needed assistance, someone arrived within minutes) and the bar/restaurant staff was friendly and helpful as well. I appreciated the mini-fridge and laptop safe. The only down side was that my room was small--fine for one, but perhaps challenging for two. On the other hand, the bathroom was more than ample.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
May 2, 2011

My point of view

I visited DC for the Holidays and I had a blast. The weather was nice, the monuments are impressive and the museums are at the same level as in Europe. The hotel is located next to the mall, by the White House and taking a cab is just below 7 usd. I took some tours and all of them started at Union Station whish is also located in MASS Ave, so again the location is the best point for the Henley Park Hotel. Its a good value price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in DC is not easy because there is not a single mall in DC, but inside the Union Station there are lots of high end stores worth a visit, plus the building itself is impressive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top