$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

Henley Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 926 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
152 reviews
DC Trip

parking is a bit tricky there unless you valet which is of course expensive. See full review

  • Dancin' Fool
  • Feb 3, 2015
Wonderful downtown hotel

This place was great! Very charming, comfortable, clean, luxurious. The room was surprisingly... See full review

  • Dancin' Fool
  • Apr 15, 2014
Historic, boutique hotel in Penn Quarter near convention center

The Henley Park Hotel was built in 1918 as the Tudor Hall Apartments. The historic hotel has long been a favorite of senators and congressmen. The distinct Tudor-style structure boasts leaded, stained glass windows and 118 exterior gargoyles. The Henley Park Hotel is a member of Historic Hotels of America, has antique furnishings and evokes a classy, elegant ambiance. Rooms are quaint with all the usual amenities. Suites have an extra living area and sitting room. The hotel is one block from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center.

Highlights
  • Historic building with stained glass windows and gargoyles
  • One block from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access in rooms
  • Traditional afternoon English tea service
Location

The Henley Park Hotel is located in the Penn Quarter neighborhood of D.C. next to the convention center. The hotel is near Chinatown, the National Mall, central downtown and within blocks of the Metro.

Rooms

The charming rooms of the Henley Park Hotel are decorated with warm colors and antique furniture. Every room offers plush robes, coffeemakers, luxurious bath products, fully stocked mini bars and 24-hour room service.

Features

The highlight of the Henley Park Hotel is its charming, historic space that reminds one of a quaint European inn. More modern amenities include complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet. The fitness room has a mix of cardio equipment.

Dining

The Henley Park Hotel's restaurant, The Tavern at The Henley Park Hotel, serves gourmet New American cuisine and has an extensive wine list. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wilkes room offers afternoon tea. Guests stop for a drink and light fare at the Blue Bar Cocktail Lounge.

Transportation
  • Mt. Vernon Square/Convention Center Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.3 km)
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The National Mall (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary overnight shoeshine
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $38 USD/night plus tax, with in and out privileges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Henley Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Henley Park Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Beautifully decorated guest rooms offer one queen size bed with all modern amenities.
Junior Suite
A large room featuring a king bed, sitting area with sofa and chairs, wet bar, desk. All rooms include: Free high-speed wireless Internet access, 24-hour room service, Nightly turndown service, Italian Frette Linens and towels, Full bathroom with Bath and Body Works personal bath amenities, Spa robes, Refrigerator, Fully stocked mini-bar, Remote-control flat panel cable television, In-room safe, Free bottled water daily, Coffeemaker, Telephone with voicemail, Alarm radio, Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board. Also available are: Free delivery of The Washington Post daily, Free access to our fitness room with 24-hour secure key access, and free use of the business center.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Newseum: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Eton Room: Set either for conference, classroom, banquet, reception or theatre style. Windows offer natural sunlight in the Eton room which can accommodate up to 60 people.

Dining

Blue Bar
Rich fabric appointments and a zinc bar adorn this cozy lounge. Area is available for cocktail and buffet receptions for 20-150 guests.
The Tavern
Our critically acclaimed restaurant, The Tavern at The Henley Park Hotel, continually receives top ten ratings in the Zagat Survey for food, service and dcor. The innovative menu features new American cuisine with regional seasonal inspirations. Enjoy live jazz every Saturday night.
Wilkes Room
Features traditonal afternoon English tea service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Henley Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 22, 2009

not as good as expected

not as good as shown in pictures

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

park 14

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
qtn303[@]
Business
Reno, NV
Jun 14, 2009

mixed feelings

The only thing good about the hotel was the location (close to convention center). Otherwise, this hotel ranks in the lowest tertile of hotels I'd been in. The room was very small. The windows open to a construction area right next door. We had to keep the windows close during the daytime because the construction workers can look right into our room. When they paint at the construction site, the smell lingers for hours in the room. There was a stain on the ceiling. We told the front desk about it and they sent someone to the room to check it out and said it was not a leak, just a stain. We were there for 5 nights and the stain got bigger and changed shape, so I'm pretty sure it was a leak and not just an old stain. The bed gave us itchy rashes. Both of us felt sick after we left the hotel. All in all, this hotel is worst than motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoche
Business
Gig Harbor, Washington
Jun 11, 2009

Romantic getaway

We had a misunderstanding between orbitz and the hotel concerning who was responsible for our military discount. The hotel gave us an upgrade room in place of the discount as they said it was the responsibility of orbitz as they are a third party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the hop on/hop off double decker bus service as it has frequent stops at all attractions and is less money that the tours. You can stay as long as you want at each stop and don't need to watch the clock for the tour bus which doesn't allow enough time at each location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south bend IN
Jun 7, 2009

Elegant restful and relaxing

Ecellent service and elegant surroundings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mer723
Business
Tampa. Fl
Jun 4, 2009

Small yet cozy

The rooms were small, yet very clean and cozy. There were several amenities that my husband and I had at the Henley that my brother didn't have at the Hilton on Embassy Row!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

pay attention to where different restaurants are. There aren't too many right around the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
May 30, 2009

Perks and Problems

We were in DC to visit family and see the sights. Positive aspects: the hotel was a reasonable walking distance to Metro, although safety was questionable at night. It is a beautiful, well-kept historic hotel, located near downtown. We had fairly easy access to tourist points of interest. We found the staff to be wonderfully pleasant, and they tried hard to be helpful. Three problems made staying there an unpleasant experience: 1. Toilets were very low to the floor, and the water level was high. Move just a little and "splash!" Disgusting! Especially if you're a man! That was a problem we just couldn't find a way to work around. 2. The shower was slippery, and there was nothing to hold for balance. 3. The key card did not work reliably. This hotel compared favorably in some ways with many of the places we have stayed across the country - with the glaring exception of the toilet. That seems to be a pretty basic need, so I can't imagine how it hasn't been a problem for lots of adults. If the toilets were replaced with easier-to-stay-dry toilets, if grab bars were installed in the shower, and if the key cards were more reliable, I would undoubtedly feel much more inclined to recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is about a four block walk to either of two Metro stops, and the DC Metro is a marvelous way to get around the city to visit all the attractions there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
May 29, 2009

Lovely hotel, not such good food

The Henley Park was lovely and a great bargain. It's close to several Metro stops as well as the bus lines that run from NY to DC. It's also walking distance from the mall. The only surprises/disappointments were that we didn't know that valet parking was virtually mandatory at $28/day (not a big expense in the city, but one we didn't plan on) and that both the in-room coffee and the dining room breakfast were substandard. We were with French friends, so tasteless coffee and soggy bread were not what any of us had in mind for breakfast at $13/person. Amazingly good orange juice, though, to be fair. There was a pleasant lobby and a bar, which was good because the rooms were far too small for any socializing outside of the two people staying in them. This all sounds a bit negative, but we really did enjoy the stay. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the rooms were very pretty and very clean. And the price was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are just staying in the city, leave your car somewhere else and take the Metro in. It's not really convenient to get to the car if you forgot something, and there is cheaper parking in lots outside the city -- Arlington, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ames, IA
May 28, 2009

Great Value, Great Hotel

We had a great experience at the hotel. The service was excellent, the room was very clean, the mini bar was reasonably priced. Since we used our room mostly for sleeping we were extremely please. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff checked with us if everything was ok on arrival and again before we departed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were close to many attractions by a short walk, other attractions were longer walks. We also had access to the metro which was only a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanuki
Business
Winchester, MA
May 27, 2009

What a find!

If you like hotels with class and character, this is the place to stay. Very near the convention center and Union Station but the real joy is inside. Very nicely appointed spacious rooms. Great staff and beautiful lobby, lounge and bar - all reflective of the 1920-1930s. Wonderful staff, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Henley Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nate Bonesaw
Business
Dallas, TX
May 27, 2009

No worries

First time to D.C. and got a great deal on flight and hotel stay over the Memorial Day weekend. This initially made me somewhat skeptical as to what I could expect from the accomodations, but this hotel exceeded my expectations. Great staff, great location, room was decent size, clean, comfortable, relatively quiet (you have to remember that you are in a big city). I was absolutely satisified with everything. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and would definitely recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top