$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nat Hayes
Business
Pittsburgh
Jun 9, 2014

Stylish hotel in welcoming DC neighborhood

Biked down to DC from Pittsburgh and stayed at the Helix. Bike parking is immediately outside the lobby and monitored by the staff. The hotel is situated in an area of DC that's more so locals that tourists, I believe. Plenty of bars, restaurants and basic amenities, such as, grocers, pharmacies and a bike shop, all a short walk from the hotel. Leopard print bath robes were a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Churchkey! With such a healthy variety of beers, skip the white house tour and knock back a few at this place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanufka
Business
Philadelphia
May 14, 2014

Loved it

Absolutely loved it!!! Very unique hotel! Fun! Fun! Fun! The only thing was expensive is overnight parking-50$ , however, chexk out time was 12, but hotel let me keep my car till 6 pm, sobi had some extra time to explore Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chuck52
Business
Knoxville, Tennessee
Apr 19, 2014

Another eclectic Kimpton

This is a conveniently located hotel near Logan Circle. It is the usual eclectic Kimpton style, and is a good value in my opinion. If you sign up for Kimpton InTouch, you will get free internet and $10 of free stuff from the minibar. As is typical for Kimpton, this is not a traditional hotel with a large lobby, gift shop, etc. Rather it is an older building that has been refurbished in a Museum of Modern Art style. It's not for everyone, but I like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants nearby and in the Dupont Circle area which is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ejmeerkat99
Business
Lyndhurst, NJ
Mar 24, 2014

Kitschy hotel that was clean throughout

Our room with the king bed was very roomy, came with a bathrobe and hair dryer. Nice first floor bar which was always filled with guests. We had a room over the bar but it was super quiet so it must have been sound proofed. Location was great for nearby restaurants and bars, and has a 10-12 minute walk to the nearest metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melissaann
Business
Paramus, New Jersey
Mar 7, 2014

Not Bad

The location of this hotel is excellent, surrounded by many local eateries and bars but the hotel itself is so-so. Rooms are a decent size but it was very stuffy not a good sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joely Bogan
Business
Ohio
Feb 25, 2014

not happy

I was told there was free parking, turned out it was 50 dollars a night!! Who charges that ? Someone who knows you have no other choice! Got into hotel it smelled funny. No amenities but a bar of soap. Room was decently clean. Room stayed at 80 degrees with the heat off, to hot to even sleep. was up until 5 am when i finally called down to front desk because of all the partying going on. It then got quiet. Room service messed up our order. And then it made my daughter sick. ice machines were all broken. Finally went down the next day to tell them all that was the matter and he told me to just check out if i was not happy. Staff act like you are a step lower then them. I checked out and still staff was rude by looking their noses down at us.. I do not recommend this hotel whatsoever !!! The decor is cute and different .. and that is why i booked this hotel. Wanted my daughter to have a good experience. She hated it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellabythesea
Business
Long Beach
Feb 10, 2014

Good vibe vs poor design and not so clean

If you like your hotel pic sparkly clean just keep looking- hallways always needed help, there were things overlooked in the room etc. The room design itself made no sense with a large but cool looking dresser/minibar making the flow to the bathroom a trickle of space and a huge lamp placed right in front of wall art. Now to the good. The front service staff are friendly. The artsy feel is fun. The location is pretty good and there's a name brand coffee shop and organic food store within easy walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the brand new restaurant roofer's union for great food and casual yet trendy atmosphere atmosphere overlooking great block. The chef is all about great tasting food that pairs successful combinations of favors. Try the fried brussel sprouts but just ask for two orders right away because- YUM Then ask the bartender to make something up - we did with non alcoholic drinks and it was amazing - they are using herbs and spices to mix things up bringing a whole new palette to beverages! I'll return as soon as I'm back in DC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emily B 72
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 29, 2014

fun hotel

clean, fun bar, good service. Enjoyed the interesting decor and amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emily B 72
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 27, 2014

Visiting friends

We stayed one night. Good price, clean rooms and interesting decor. Made a hotel stay more fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaye e
Business
VA
Jan 11, 2014

Good Experience

The pop art style of the hotel was great, although it did photograph a little bit nicer than it actually was. Service was good, the room was clean. They also offered a champagne hour and a hot chocolate bar hour which was a nice addition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top