$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Mar 30, 2010

Nice and fun.

Overall my bf and I had a very enjoyable stay! The location is okay about 15 minutes away from the nearest metro station (Mcpherson Square). The neighborhood is quiet and beautiful. Theres a 24hr 7-11 on the corner which is great. The only drawback is that theres only two elevators and theyre rather slow..we were on the top floor (10th). The hotel room was super clean. The beds were average comfort. I would recommend this hotel because it was a great price. If you plan to go to the national mall, either be ready to walk a lot or pay for cabs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The corner store is great for snacks...avoid the mini-fridge...way too expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
asenath
Business
toronto - Canada
Jul 29, 2009

great hotel

The best is the location, the deco and ambiance is very very different, staff were nice and helpful, the bar at the hotel added a good ambiance (for single people that is) free complimentary drink every day @ happy hour. House keeping did an excellent job. Nice Caribou cafe just around the corner with nice summer patio, liqueur store and 7/11 also at the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montclair, NJ
Jun 27, 2011

wonderful stay & friendly staff

We loved the decor, enjoyed how helpful the staff was, and all in all had a great stay. We will return. The area is also very LGBT friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect for walking to the mall, for great dining...we were very happy with our choice of hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beijing, china
Jul 11, 2011

Such a cute hotel!

really cute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas,Tx
Jul 7, 2009

The best hotel ever!

Great staff, very friendly. Easy check in. The hotel is fun: cocktail at evening. Very nice lounge to hang out. Relaxing decoration. The rooms are clean, everything you need is there. Nice decoration... The location is great, just a couple of blocks from White House and major attractions. Not far from Georgetown either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location makes you save money on taxis. Short distance walking to Dupont Circle & White House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
May 9, 2009

Unique Hotel!

This hotel is located between three different metro lines (each 6-7 blocks away). It's a very nice location in a neighborhood. The decor is just odd (the pictures of Ken and Barbie in the room are just weird), but great service, great snacks (at decent prices) and drinks in the minibar. Despite the decor, we enjoyed our stay and would definately look into staying at a Kimpton hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phil. PA
Apr 8, 2011

Unexpected delightful experience

We took our daughter for a college visit. The upscale neighborhood was not explained in the hotels description. Great dining and socializing places were within walking distance and made the visit like a great relaxing getaway. We plan on making the Helix our private resort while visiting D.C. during my daughter's college life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester,NY
Jul 12, 2011

Nice hotel

Staff was very friendly n location was good.The room were very clean n doesn't smell like other hotels.The only bad thing was parking but overall its a very good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond
Oct 19, 2008

Okay stay, but was kinda pricey for its mediocre looks and flavor

The Hotel Helix was like walking into an Austin Powers movie. Too groovy!! It was clean and it has a cute cafe area, but I wouldn't take a straight man there. Anywho, good location in DC. This hotel was too expensive for what you get, but if you need to be closer to Howard University, Adams Morgan, Dupont Circle, etc., I guess it will have to do. I coulda had a V8. :/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 21, 2008

Good value

The Hotel Helix has large rooms, very centrally located, easy to get from the hotel to all attractions and the Central Business District. The lounge is great, the rest of the amenities were just okay. Utilized the free shoe shine service...when they returned the shoes appeared to be in the same condition as they were when left. Tried to order room service, decided against it after being on hold for too long. I extended my stay by one day and my room key no longer worked, had to return to the front desk twice to get this rectified. The morning newspaper arrived three of the five mornings I stayed at the hotel. The price was right so can't complain too much. I would only stay again for the price, other hotels in DC offer the same perks but generally follow through where the Hotel Helix lacked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location to walk to many restaurants and bars. Others may choose to take a short cab ride to the Dupont Circle or the 14th Street shopping areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top