$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MRRAS
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Lively and upbeat

I found the Helix to be quite lively and upbeat. I enjoyed the energy from the moment I approached the automated entry curtain. And the decor was very modern and youthful. I would definitely recommend the Helix to family and friends looking to stay at a modern, chic establishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jul 13, 2009

Funky & Fun, but a few BAD surprises

The hotel itself was amazing! The rooms were decorated in a fun vintage color and style with a splash of funk and class, which made us feel like we were movie stars! The not so fun surprises came when we realized that our reservation did not have a continental breakfast. We had to pay $14 dollars a person for breakfast, which wasn't cheap. We also didn't realize there were parking fees to park in Helix's parking lot. So we ended up paying $73 dollars in parking! We weren't expecting that. Other than the few oopsies, we enjoyed our stay and our room. If I was to refer this hotel to my friends I would make sure they understood all of the extra fees. I wouldn't want them to be surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MPLS
Sep 2, 2009

Helix

The hotel was great, the only thing that was missing was a pool and/or hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Stoneys for a burger and a beer, only a block up from the hotel. Great prices and location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
May 31, 2010

Wow

The room was so nice. Very sexy for a young couple. It was expensive but worth it. The location was nice, we walked just down the street and had a nice dinner. We only stayed there for one night so I dont know much about the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
delaware
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great for exploring restaurants and DC highlights

The lobby was mediocre at best and we were a little apprehensive. But the staff friendliness and the room (large and comfortable) were a lovely surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful for all meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Aug 20, 2009

cool hotel

Excellent decoration. Nice environment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tai food restaurant right on the corner, 7 eleven is next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 23, 2009

a fair value hotel

i had a good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lincoln's ghost
Business
Nashville, TN
May 14, 2009

One hip hotel

Was in town in business and this Hotel was very close to my location. Very convienent to eating and the art galleries. Only a few blocks from the Metro. Had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't feel like going out to eat all the time, there's a whole foods grocery store only one block away that can handle your breakfast lunch or dinner needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 7, 2011

great stay!

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, gave great directions and tips for local restaurants...went out of their way to help!!!! Definitely stay here!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sweetgreens, Whole Foods, Commisary..all were right around the corner, all have great organic locally grown food. Very delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PandaPants
Business
Cambridge, MA
Jul 10, 2009

Fun!

What a fun and entertaining hotel! We were laughing the moment we walked in! Especially after taking a shower and putting on the leopard print bathrobes! Feels like you're in an Austin Powers movie! I wish I could have spent more time in it but was too busy doing 4th of July and touristy stuff. Great comfy bed. I just wish there was more room to get in and out of it. I hit myself in the shin with the platform several times. :o( Oh, and I wish there was an ice machine in every floor. I had to go down the 3rd floor each time I needed ice. Other than that, it was fun and in a very vibrant and hip neighborhood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top