$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 26, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter and Roxy
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Aug 16, 2013

Okay place to stay

The place is good in terms of location. The front-desk staffs, the valets are great. The cleaning staff did not clear out the garbage that we left in the room. The breakfast was not great either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shopperqueen
Business
York, PA
May 7, 2011

Average stay but very attractive decor.

Very disappointed that coffee was not in the room in the morning. Surprised at "continental" breakfast when charged for the bagel! Had a Mastercard notation on my bill which I do not carry - messed up the billing but I believe my bank statement will clear this up. No good mirror in the room. Fabulous outdoor seating area for drinks, conversation, breakfast. Pleasant, helpful and polite staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We were there for a jazz performance in Georgetown which was Fabulous and offered every weekend entertainment with excellent meals.

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 15, 2008

a strange stay

I feel like i spent a lot of money for a college partying playground. the room was fun, but not especially clean...not overly friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good food

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellabythesea
Business
Long Beach
Feb 10, 2014

Good vibe vs poor design and not so clean

If you like your hotel pic sparkly clean just keep looking- hallways always needed help, there were things overlooked in the room etc. The room design itself made no sense with a large but cool looking dresser/minibar making the flow to the bathroom a trickle of space and a huge lamp placed right in front of wall art. Now to the good. The front service staff are friendly. The artsy feel is fun. The location is pretty good and there's a name brand coffee shop and organic food store within easy walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the brand new restaurant roofer's union for great food and casual yet trendy atmosphere atmosphere overlooking great block. The chef is all about great tasting food that pairs successful combinations of favors. Try the fried brussel sprouts but just ask for two orders right away because- YUM Then ask the bartender to make something up - we did with non alcoholic drinks and it was amazing - they are using herbs and spices to mix things up bringing a whole new palette to beverages! I'll return as soon as I'm back in DC

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melissaann
Business
Paramus, New Jersey
Mar 7, 2014

Not Bad

The location of this hotel is excellent, surrounded by many local eateries and bars but the hotel itself is so-so. Rooms are a decent size but it was very stuffy not a good sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kikosal
Business
San Francisco, California
Dec 13, 2011

Adult Getaway.

All the staff are very friendlly and the Hotel is very clean. However, some one was smoking inside of the hotel (Mariguana). I didn't like it. I think this hotel is only for adults, not for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurants.

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 30, 2012

Helix stay

The location is ideal and the interior is full of pop art. It's a nice change from redundant chain hotels throughout the city. The service was spotty- one staff member was fantastic and went beyond expectations, the other ignored us when my friend asked for a toothbrush. Overall, good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sadalla
Business
sao paulo, brazil
Jul 17, 2012

Just a night in DC

The hotel is good enough for a only night stay, but it is a little old fashioned for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jean g
Business
Washington
Aug 29, 2012

Funky hotel, slightly dated

Very fun place and would stay here again. However, the sofa in the room was not comfortable and had a few small stains and the room needed to be touched up. I would still recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ashanthaik
Business
New York, NY
Nov 20, 2012

Not too shabby, rather eccentric

A business colleague and I stayed here last Friday night. The room was rather eccentric, and well-designed (they really went in for the good furniture). Functional gym on the first floor, rather rowdy bar scene late Friday night in the lounge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top