$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
123 reviews
Great boutique hotel

I've stayed here several times before. Loved it each time! They are dog friendly, too! Clean and... See full review

  • BklynScott
  • Sep 5, 2014
Funky hotel in a great part of town

We booked this hotel because of it's advertised rates and advice from friends who had once stayed... See full review

  • JPfromDC
  • Jun 25, 2014
One-of-a-kind Logan Circle hotel puts the emphasis on art
Pop art meets professionalism at the Helix, a Kimpton Hotel. Located near Logan Circle, visitors recognize the Washington, D.C. hotel even before entering -- it's the one with the man-in-the-clouds painting and giant, aqua-blue throne sculptures in front. Expect retro-cool details at every turn, paired with up-to-the-minute amenities like 37-inch flat-panel TVs. Helix, a Kimpton Hotel gets serious about meetings and events with a 24-hour business center and 2,400 square feet of function space. 
Highlights

  • Daily Bubbly Hour and weekly Backyard BBQ Bash
  • Weekly Doggie Happy Hour caters to canine guests (humans also welcome)
  • Sexy style in guest rooms and the Helix Lounge
  • Washington, D.C. boutique hotel near Dupont Circle

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Marilyn Monroe and Jackie O. live here alongside surfer dudes, all in Warhol prints and attention-grabbing photographic tapestries. A fun, funky vibe permeates every element of guest rooms and suites at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel - find it in ottomans in primary colors, sleek black furnishings and polka-dot accessories. Comfort doesn't suffer for fashion: European linens, down comforters, plush animal print robes and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities are all standard.


Choose from deluxe rooms, kitchenette studios and the 700-square-foot Helix suite. Families and groups love the bunk bed room, with its two separate sleeping areas. The flex room appeals to health-conscious guests with a workout area equipped with cardio and yoga equipment. Pets are welcome at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel at no additional charge.
Features
Kerstin Florian organic body and skin products are some of the tools used at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel to create muscle-relaxing, mind-melting in-room spa treatments like the aroma journey massage and lavender dreams aromatherapy treatment.
Dining
A Space Age-goes-underwater vibe and custom cocktail creations like Pajama Party, Material Girl and The Curious Bee make the Helix Lounge a delicious feast for all the senses. Expect white vinyl ottomans and lime-hued side tables behind sheer privacy curtains, all awash in royal blue light.
Transportation

  • Farragut North Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.3 km)

Attractions

  • Dupont Circle (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • National Mall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 2,240 square feet of function space 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Helix, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 400 sq ft non-smoking room with king sized platform bed
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room 400 sq ft 2 Queen platform beds non-smoking
03. Access Qn/Qn Deluxe Rm Roll
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2 queen beds 400 sq ft with roll in shower
King Studio Kitchenette
King Studio with kitchenette and eating area 400 sq ft non-smoking room with king sized bed
Flex Room with Cardio Equipment
Flex Room with cardio and yoga equipment 400 sq ft non-smoking king bed
Bunk Room
Bunk Room with separate king bed and bunk bed with twin beds 400 sq ft
Helix Suite
Helix Suite with king platform bed 700 sq ft L-shaped sectional sofa walk-in dressing rm

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.2 mi
  • Newseum: 1.3 mi

Dining

Helix Lounge
Savor every moment at this indescribably delicious Downtown Washington DC lounge - just an elevator ride away from your guest room. Helix Lounge is the also the perfect place for a star-studded private party- adding a Hollywood twist to your celebration

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R6 Rider
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 15, 2012

My first visit to Washington D.C.

This hotel is amazing!! It had a very eclectic feel to it, almost like I was in a Nightclub! I would definitely stay at this hotel during subsequent visits to the D.C. area!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joely Bogan
Business
Ohio
Feb 25, 2014

not happy

I was told there was free parking, turned out it was 50 dollars a night!! Who charges that ? Someone who knows you have no other choice! Got into hotel it smelled funny. No amenities but a bar of soap. Room was decently clean. Room stayed at 80 degrees with the heat off, to hot to even sleep. was up until 5 am when i finally called down to front desk because of all the partying going on. It then got quiet. Room service messed up our order. And then it made my daughter sick. ice machines were all broken. Finally went down the next day to tell them all that was the matter and he told me to just check out if i was not happy. Staff act like you are a step lower then them. I checked out and still staff was rude by looking their noses down at us.. I do not recommend this hotel whatsoever !!! The decor is cute and different .. and that is why i booked this hotel. Wanted my daughter to have a good experience. She hated it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
L. Cali
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Beware of mystery charges!

Today I got home and realized this hotel and charged me some very mysterious extra charges. In addition to the bill I was presented upon checkout, there was a charge for over $500 (!!!) and another separate charge for $240 (!!!). Of course I immediately called the hotel and was given absolutely no help. It was so frustrating. In fact, everything about this hotel was frustrating and poorly run and disorganized. When I arrived they had given away my room and I was placed in a room with bunk beds. The next day I was moved to a new room -- still not the room I booked and paid for -- and moved again the third day. I'm a pretty easygoing traveler but even for me three different rooms for three nights is a stretch. But the bill was the final straw. The person I spoke to at the hotel today said he could find "no record of the extra charges." My credit card sure has a record of them! After a completely frustrating phone call, the Helix representative simply said he couldn't help me resolve the issue and just told me to call my credit card company and issue a dispute. WHAT? Who runs a business that way? There are much better (and much CLEANER) hotels at better prices nearby. The Holiday Inn is just a block away and the Washington Plaza is also nearby and less expensive. This hotel was a disorganized mess. and the bathrooms could use some serious Clorox and a scrub. If you do decide to stay here, check your bill VERY CAREFULLY when you get home. I was extremely unhappy that the hotel charged me an extra $800 and then claimed to have no record at all of the transactions. This hotel was the only unpleasant part of an otherwise great trip. Beware!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TVG2006
Business
Maine
Jun 1, 2013

Great location, lousy customer service, pay for parking

Be prepared to pay for parking or you have to park on the street and take your chances. The parking is 42 - 50 / per night. This was not published in the fine print either. we found out later that they simply park your car on the street...we could have done that ourselves... NOT GOOD! Asked for late check out and promptly denied. Amazing! We won't be back....ever. We would have gotten a better value at the Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Please check out The Pig right around the corner on 14th Street. Amazing cocktails and amazing food. We had braised crispy pork shank....lovely :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ElVerdadero
Business
Washington DC
Aug 30, 2013

Unprofessional and lack customer courtesy

I don't usually enjoy writing a negative review; however, I am obliged to warn potential guests who may be swayed for its relatively 'cheaper' price: 1. They change your rate after you reserved the room without notice. surprise! if you reserved for a single king bedroom you get a double bedroom without any fault of your own and charged at a higher rate. 2. Their food and beverage department is terrible to say the least; they leave an expired beverage in the freezer; guess what if you drink it after a long flight without notice they would say :"oh no problem you get a $ 25 drink on us" but later they charge it from your credit card. 3. They treat a customer like a walking ATM machine; they even charged me for the breakfast that I have paid in cash along the tip $30 dollars! for a ~$11 worth breakfast! not to mention for an arrogant & condescending service I have received. I hope this warn people and possibly by off chance the manager of this hotel make an adjustment with its service delivery b/c the hotel is situated in a good place if it run by well trained stuffs who are able to meet the basic customer service standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ElVerdadero
Business
Washington DC
Oct 4, 2013

Good value & location but terrible customer service

A substandard service accompanied by unprofessional stuff (some of them not all to their defense) & untidy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bugged customer
Business
Berkeley, CA
Mar 26, 2011

Bedbugs

Came home with bedbugs. Could have been the airplane, I suppose, but probably the three nights at the Helix. Oh, and they forgot to make my 7am wake-up call on the last morning. Luckily I woke up myself only 15 minutes later, and made my flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Verovero
Business
Riverside, California
Jul 10, 2012

Great Location

The location of the hotel was perfect, near eveything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LisaR1018
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 14, 2012

Not what I expected

I booked this hotel based on reviews and price special, but I wish I hadn't. The neighborhood wasn't the greatest, the building was old, the decor was not nearly as polished as in photos, the cleanliness of the room was questionable, the bathroom could not have been smaller and the door wouldn't shut, and I suspect there may have been bed bugs based on the large insect bite on my back when I woke up. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Not worth half of what it costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ATL2visitor
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 14, 2012

Not bad

Its an old hotel that they renovated. The location is not bad, close to the metro. But the hotel is about a 2.5 star in my opinion

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dw11111
Business
connecticut
Dec 21, 2012

Business challenged

The accomodation, location, and service was reasonably good, but business support features were poor. The room's cell phone signal was too low (Verizon 4G# to sustain a call. The navigation to their WIFI was awckard and took two calls to their support desk #w/ long hold#. Then it was too light to sustain a Skype call. Failing that, I had to make a 30 minute #appx.# business call using their phone and they billed it at $97. #When I questioned it, the hostess reduced it to $37,) So you can play here, but be on the lookout for sand traps. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top