$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
122 reviews
Great boutique hotel

I've stayed here several times before. Loved it each time! They are dog friendly, too! Clean and... See full review

  • BklynScott
  • Sep 5, 2014
Funky hotel in a great part of town

We booked this hotel because of it's advertised rates and advice from friends who had once stayed... See full review

  • JPfromDC
  • Jun 25, 2014
One-of-a-kind Logan Circle hotel puts the emphasis on art
Pop art meets professionalism at the Helix, a Kimpton Hotel. Located near Logan Circle, visitors recognize the Washington, D.C. hotel even before entering -- it's the one with the man-in-the-clouds painting and giant, aqua-blue throne sculptures in front. Expect retro-cool details at every turn, paired with up-to-the-minute amenities like 37-inch flat-panel TVs. Helix, a Kimpton Hotel gets serious about meetings and events with a 24-hour business center and 2,400 square feet of function space. 
Highlights

  • Daily Bubbly Hour and weekly Backyard BBQ Bash
  • Weekly Doggie Happy Hour caters to canine guests (humans also welcome)
  • Sexy style in guest rooms and the Helix Lounge
  • Washington, D.C. boutique hotel near Dupont Circle

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Marilyn Monroe and Jackie O. live here alongside surfer dudes, all in Warhol prints and attention-grabbing photographic tapestries. A fun, funky vibe permeates every element of guest rooms and suites at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel - find it in ottomans in primary colors, sleek black furnishings and polka-dot accessories. Comfort doesn't suffer for fashion: European linens, down comforters, plush animal print robes and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities are all standard.


Choose from deluxe rooms, kitchenette studios and the 700-square-foot Helix suite. Families and groups love the bunk bed room, with its two separate sleeping areas. The flex room appeals to health-conscious guests with a workout area equipped with cardio and yoga equipment. Pets are welcome at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel at no additional charge.
Features
Kerstin Florian organic body and skin products are some of the tools used at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel to create muscle-relaxing, mind-melting in-room spa treatments like the aroma journey massage and lavender dreams aromatherapy treatment.
Dining
A Space Age-goes-underwater vibe and custom cocktail creations like Pajama Party, Material Girl and The Curious Bee make the Helix Lounge a delicious feast for all the senses. Expect white vinyl ottomans and lime-hued side tables behind sheer privacy curtains, all awash in royal blue light.
Transportation

  • Farragut North Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.3 km)

Attractions

  • Dupont Circle (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • National Mall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 2,240 square feet of function space 

Hotel Map

38.9081 -77.033
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, S; Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Helix, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 400 sq ft non-smoking room with king sized platform bed
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room 400 sq ft 2 Queen platform beds non-smoking
03. Access Qn/Qn Deluxe Rm Roll
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2 queen beds 400 sq ft with roll in shower
King Studio Kitchenette
King Studio with kitchenette and eating area 400 sq ft non-smoking room with king sized bed
Flex Room with Cardio Equipment
Flex Room with cardio and yoga equipment 400 sq ft non-smoking king bed
Bunk Room
Bunk Room with separate king bed and bunk bed with twin beds 400 sq ft
Helix Suite
Helix Suite with king platform bed 700 sq ft L-shaped sectional sofa walk-in dressing rm

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.2 mi
  • Newseum: 1.3 mi

Dining

Helix Lounge
Savor every moment at this indescribably delicious Downtown Washington DC lounge - just an elevator ride away from your guest room. Helix Lounge is the also the perfect place for a star-studded private party- adding a Hollywood twist to your celebration

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Bean
Washington DC
Feb 13, 2013

Awesome romantic getaway

If you like funky, offbeat hotels then Helix is perfect. Unique decor, friendly staff & the room was just too cool. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ceiba is a fantastic restaurant and it's only about a kilometer walk from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jul 13, 2009

Funky & Fun, but a few BAD surprises

The hotel itself was amazing! The rooms were decorated in a fun vintage color and style with a splash of funk and class, which made us feel like we were movie stars! The not so fun surprises came when we realized that our reservation did not have a continental breakfast. We had to pay $14 dollars a person for breakfast, which wasn't cheap. We also didn't realize there were parking fees to park in Helix's parking lot. So we ended up paying $73 dollars in parking! We weren't expecting that. Other than the few oopsies, we enjoyed our stay and our room. If I was to refer this hotel to my friends I would make sure they understood all of the extra fees. I wouldn't want them to be surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJHKS
Business
Kansas City
Jul 19, 2012

Not your average hotel

The staff were very friendly upon check-in, and I loved the decor here. Instead of boring neutrals, the Helix has awesome patterns and colors, with fun artwork and lighting, too. The bed was comfy, the mini-bar well-stocked... seriously good stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beijing, china
Jul 11, 2011

Such a cute hotel!

really cute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nat Hayes
Pittsburgh
Jun 9, 2014

Stylish hotel in welcoming DC neighborhood

Biked down to DC from Pittsburgh and stayed at the Helix. Bike parking is immediately outside the lobby and monitored by the staff. The hotel is situated in an area of DC that's more so locals that tourists, I believe. Plenty of bars, restaurants and basic amenities, such as, grocers, pharmacies and a bike shop, all a short walk from the hotel. Leopard print bath robes were a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Churchkey! With such a healthy variety of beers, skip the white house tour and knock back a few at this place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond
Oct 19, 2008

Okay stay, but was kinda pricey for its mediocre looks and flavor

The Hotel Helix was like walking into an Austin Powers movie. Too groovy!! It was clean and it has a cute cafe area, but I wouldn't take a straight man there. Anywho, good location in DC. This hotel was too expensive for what you get, but if you need to be closer to Howard University, Adams Morgan, Dupont Circle, etc., I guess it will have to do. I coulda had a V8. :/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sturge
San Francisco, Ca
Aug 1, 2013

off the beaten path

The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful when i showed up 3 hours before check in to drop off my luggage and let me know my room was ready and let me check in right away. The room was bright and omg was it huge. It was bigger than my first apt in DC. The location is my favourite part of the hotel, its not down in the heart of the tourist area nor is it out in the middle of nowhere. Logan Circle is an awesome little area that makes it worth it. theres plenty of eateries and bars around the hotel to keep you occupied at night without having to wonder to far around the District. Overall great hotel, great location and for the price it cant be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if youve never had ethiopian food, do yourself a favour and go to Dukem on 12th and U st NW and give it a go. Best place in the country in my opinion to get Ethiopian food. Also if you like places that are institutions go to Bens Chili Bowl and have a chili half-smoke.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MRRAS
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Lively and upbeat

I found the Helix to be quite lively and upbeat. I enjoyed the energy from the moment I approached the automated entry curtain. And the decor was very modern and youthful. I would definitely recommend the Helix to family and friends looking to stay at a modern, chic establishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaye e
VA
Jan 11, 2014

Good Experience

The pop art style of the hotel was great, although it did photograph a little bit nicer than it actually was. Service was good, the room was clean. They also offered a champagne hour and a hot chocolate bar hour which was a nice addition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4hanover
Atlanta
Jun 4, 2013

Hipp Hotel

Nice hotel with good walking distance to sites. Hipp decoration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a couple of good restaurants on the next street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search