$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 19, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danadnc
Business
Greensboro, NC
Mar 13, 2013

Better than expected

I wasn't anticipating a great stay, but it truly was. The staff was really nice, the hotel was nice and quiet, the location was super-accessible and there were great places to eat nearby. We took the hotel's recommendation and dined at the Pig on 14th Street. It was absolutely wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at the Pig, but make a reservation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Decently Satisfied
Business
WA
Mar 14, 2013

Good Hotel, but startling mix-up.

Hotel was good. Room not in as good condition as pictures. Location was very good, many good restaurants in walking distance of the hotel and half mile to the nearest metro rail. Initially arrived and came in with reservation, instead was entered in as if I had no reservation and was given keys to the room. Went to the room and someone was already in it!!! Needless to say that was definitely alarming. Went back down and talked to another person (who seemed to have a much better idea of what was going on), fixed their room mix-up and gave me complimentary continental breakfasts for the rest of the stay. The room was decent but didn't have robes for two and didn't seem to be in the best shape. I imagine this may have occurred to their room mix up and then ending up in a totally different floor. The complimentary breakfast is pastries, toast, yogurt, oatmeal, and OJ. Should be included with any room, not an additional fee since it is not really anything special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jolm
Business
wash dc
Apr 1, 2013

Great getaway

Great boutique hotel in the heart of city, plenty of food and fun near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller2522
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 16, 2013

Good hotel

The hotel was on a nice street, however it was not close to the subway. Complementary coffee and tea in the morning was great, and I appreciated the organic food choices on the hotel menu, however I prefered to look for alternative/cheaper breakfast options outside the hotel. The room was large and seemed clean. More electrical outlets would be useful though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GOVUM
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
May 30, 2013

Comfortable and clean experience

It was a very comfortable stay. the hotel room was clean and the staff was very helpful. The location of the hotel was near everything I needed to get too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GRTKF
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 2, 2013

a bit different

An attractive, laid back environment; does not seem to attract the usual DC traveler crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4hanover
Business
Atlanta
Jun 4, 2013

Hipp Hotel

Nice hotel with good walking distance to sites. Hipp decoration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a couple of good restaurants on the next street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sturge
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Aug 1, 2013

off the beaten path

The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful when i showed up 3 hours before check in to drop off my luggage and let me know my room was ready and let me check in right away. The room was bright and omg was it huge. It was bigger than my first apt in DC. The location is my favourite part of the hotel, its not down in the heart of the tourist area nor is it out in the middle of nowhere. Logan Circle is an awesome little area that makes it worth it. theres plenty of eateries and bars around the hotel to keep you occupied at night without having to wonder to far around the District. Overall great hotel, great location and for the price it cant be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if youve never had ethiopian food, do yourself a favour and go to Dukem on 12th and U st NW and give it a go. Best place in the country in my opinion to get Ethiopian food. Also if you like places that are institutions go to Bens Chili Bowl and have a chili half-smoke.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dan a. minnesota
Business
minnesota
Aug 17, 2013

nice family time.

the location of the hotel is good if you plan to walk to the national mall.i was a guest there for three nights and i walk every day to visit the white house and the museums and all monuments in national mall.also the metro stations are very close.a good experience,i would stay at the same hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Curly Adventurer
Business
Lake Stevens, WA
Aug 20, 2013

Great DC Experience

Wonderfully appointed boutique hotel at a perfect location in D.C. Great walking and cycling to be had and excellent hotel staff. Mellow vibe amidst a frantic city. Interesting menu; pricy parking so leave your car or forget the rental - you won't need it. Pets are welcomed and quite a part of the experience. Would return with no hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Valet parking available, but very expensive. You really don't need a car at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top