$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
178 reviews
Funky hotel in a great part of town

We booked this hotel because of it's advertised rates and advice from friends who had once stayed... See full review

  • JPfromDC
  • Jun 25, 2014
Loved it

Absolutely loved it!!! Very unique hotel! Fun! Fun! Fun! The only thing was expensive is overnight... See full review

  • Tanufka
  • May 14, 2014
One-of-a-kind Logan Circle hotel puts the emphasis on art
Pop art meets professionalism at the Helix, a Kimpton Hotel. Located near Logan Circle, visitors recognize the Washington, D.C. hotel even before entering -- it's the one with the man-in-the-clouds painting and giant, aqua-blue throne sculptures in front. Expect retro-cool details at every turn, paired with up-to-the-minute amenities like 37-inch flat-panel TVs. Helix, a Kimpton Hotel gets serious about meetings and events with a 24-hour business center and 2,400 square feet of function space. 
Highlights

  • Daily Bubbly Hour and weekly Backyard BBQ Bash
  • Weekly Doggie Happy Hour caters to canine guests (humans also welcome)
  • Sexy style in guest rooms and the Helix Lounge
  • Washington, D.C. boutique hotel near Dupont Circle

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Marilyn Monroe and Jackie O. live here alongside surfer dudes, all in Warhol prints and attention-grabbing photographic tapestries. A fun, funky vibe permeates every element of guest rooms and suites at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel - find it in ottomans in primary colors, sleek black furnishings and polka-dot accessories. Comfort doesn't suffer for fashion: European linens, down comforters, plush animal print robes and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities are all standard.


Choose from deluxe rooms, kitchenette studios and the 700-square-foot Helix suite. Families and groups love the bunk bed room, with its two separate sleeping areas. The flex room appeals to health-conscious guests with a workout area equipped with cardio and yoga equipment. Pets are welcome at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel at no additional charge.
Features
Kerstin Florian organic body and skin products are some of the tools used at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel to create muscle-relaxing, mind-melting in-room spa treatments like the aroma journey massage and lavender dreams aromatherapy treatment.
Dining
A Space Age-goes-underwater vibe and custom cocktail creations like Pajama Party, Material Girl and The Curious Bee make the Helix Lounge a delicious feast for all the senses. Expect white vinyl ottomans and lime-hued side tables behind sheer privacy curtains, all awash in royal blue light.
Transportation

  • Farragut North Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.3 km)

Attractions

  • Dupont Circle (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • National Mall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 2,240 square feet of function space 

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 400 sq ft non-smoking room with king sized platform bed
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room 400 sq ft 2 Queen platform beds non-smoking
03. Access Qn/Qn Deluxe Rm Roll
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2 queen beds 400 sq ft with roll in shower
King Studio Kitchenette
King Studio with kitchenette and eating area 400 sq ft non-smoking room with king sized bed
Flex Room with Cardio Equipment
Flex Room with cardio and yoga equipment 400 sq ft non-smoking king bed
Bunk Room
Bunk Room with separate king bed and bunk bed with twin beds 400 sq ft
Helix Suite
Helix Suite with king platform bed 700 sq ft L-shaped sectional sofa walk-in dressing rm

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Helix, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9081 -77.033
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, S; Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.2 mi
  • Newseum: 1.3 mi

Dining

Helix Lounge
Savor every moment at this indescribably delicious Downtown Washington DC lounge - just an elevator ride away from your guest room. Helix Lounge is the also the perfect place for a star-studded private party- adding a Hollywood twist to your celebration

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 178
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ElVerdadero
Washington DC
Oct 4, 2013

Good value & location but terrible customer service

A substandard service accompanied by unprofessional stuff (some of them not all to their defense) & untidy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ElVerdadero
Washington DC
Aug 30, 2013

Unprofessional and lack customer courtesy

I don't usually enjoy writing a negative review; however, I am obliged to warn potential guests who may be swayed for its relatively 'cheaper' price: 1. They change your rate after you reserved the room without notice. surprise! if you reserved for a single king bedroom you get a double bedroom without any fault of your own and charged at a higher rate. 2. Their food and beverage department is terrible to say the least; they leave an expired beverage in the freezer; guess what if you drink it after a long flight without notice they would say :"oh no problem you get a $ 25 drink on us" but later they charge it from your credit card. 3. They treat a customer like a walking ATM machine; they even charged me for the breakfast that I have paid in cash along the tip $30 dollars! for a ~$11 worth breakfast! not to mention for an arrogant & condescending service I have received. I hope this warn people and possibly by off chance the manager of this hotel make an adjustment with its service delivery b/c the hotel is situated in a good place if it run by well trained stuffs who are able to meet the basic customer service standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Curly Adventurer
Lake Stevens, WA
Aug 20, 2013

Great DC Experience

Wonderfully appointed boutique hotel at a perfect location in D.C. Great walking and cycling to be had and excellent hotel staff. Mellow vibe amidst a frantic city. Interesting menu; pricy parking so leave your car or forget the rental - you won't need it. Pets are welcomed and quite a part of the experience. Would return with no hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Valet parking available, but very expensive. You really don't need a car at all.

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sturge
San Francisco, Ca
Aug 1, 2013

off the beaten path

The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful when i showed up 3 hours before check in to drop off my luggage and let me know my room was ready and let me check in right away. The room was bright and omg was it huge. It was bigger than my first apt in DC. The location is my favourite part of the hotel, its not down in the heart of the tourist area nor is it out in the middle of nowhere. Logan Circle is an awesome little area that makes it worth it. theres plenty of eateries and bars around the hotel to keep you occupied at night without having to wonder to far around the District. Overall great hotel, great location and for the price it cant be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if youve never had ethiopian food, do yourself a favour and go to Dukem on 12th and U st NW and give it a go. Best place in the country in my opinion to get Ethiopian food. Also if you like places that are institutions go to Bens Chili Bowl and have a chili half-smoke.

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beck 2
OHIO
Jun 18, 2013

Fantastic

The front desk clerk Jay was excellent!! He was so helpful and courteous and made my stay at the hotel a fantastic experience. The location was great the room was nice comfortable and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jolm
wash dc
Apr 1, 2013

Great getaway

Great boutique hotel in the heart of city, plenty of food and fun near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonrisa412
Pittsburgh
Sep 18, 2012

fun! Clean! cool!

Enjoyed the atmosphere, kind staff, and beautiful bar area! will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonrisa412
Pittsburgh
Sep 18, 2012

Hip Fun Chill!

Great location, kind staff, clean rooms and great wine bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 30, 2011

love helix

i stayed at the helix for 3 days and loved it!!! every one at the helix is super nice, when we were checking in the the girl at the front desk suggested some places to eat at and printed out menus of the places for us! even though we didnt end up going because there is a whole foods on the other street over. Also they are fast to get stuff sent to your room, like i called down for extra towels and a humidifier and with in 5 mins they were knocking at my door. plus i loved the decor of the hotel. the beds are clean and soft and they have feather pillows which i love!!! its about a 5mins taxi ride from downtown or about 5-10mins walk to dunpont train station. i will be staying at this hotel again when i go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 30, 2011

love helix

i stayed at the helix for 3 days and loved it!!! every one at the helix is super nice, when we were checking in the the girl at the front desk suggested some places to eat at and printed out menus of the places for us! even though we didnt end up going because there is a whole foods on the other street over. Also they are fast to get stuff sent to your room, like i called down for extra towels and a humidifier and with in 5 mins they were knocking at my door. plus i loved the decor of the hotel. the beds are clean and soft and they have feather pillows which i love!!! its about a 5mins taxi ride from downtown or about 5-10mins walk to dunpont train station. i will be staying at this hotel again when i go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top