$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
124 reviews
Great boutique hotel

I've stayed here several times before. Loved it each time! They are dog friendly, too! Clean and... See full review

  • BklynScott
  • Sep 5, 2014
Funky hotel in a great part of town

We booked this hotel because of it's advertised rates and advice from friends who had once stayed... See full review

  • JPfromDC
  • Jun 25, 2014
One-of-a-kind Logan Circle hotel puts the emphasis on art
Pop art meets professionalism at the Helix, a Kimpton Hotel. Located near Logan Circle, visitors recognize the Washington, D.C. hotel even before entering -- it's the one with the man-in-the-clouds painting and giant, aqua-blue throne sculptures in front. Expect retro-cool details at every turn, paired with up-to-the-minute amenities like 37-inch flat-panel TVs. Helix, a Kimpton Hotel gets serious about meetings and events with a 24-hour business center and 2,400 square feet of function space. 
Highlights

  • Daily Bubbly Hour and weekly Backyard BBQ Bash
  • Weekly Doggie Happy Hour caters to canine guests (humans also welcome)
  • Sexy style in guest rooms and the Helix Lounge
  • Washington, D.C. boutique hotel near Dupont Circle

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Marilyn Monroe and Jackie O. live here alongside surfer dudes, all in Warhol prints and attention-grabbing photographic tapestries. A fun, funky vibe permeates every element of guest rooms and suites at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel - find it in ottomans in primary colors, sleek black furnishings and polka-dot accessories. Comfort doesn't suffer for fashion: European linens, down comforters, plush animal print robes and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities are all standard.


Choose from deluxe rooms, kitchenette studios and the 700-square-foot Helix suite. Families and groups love the bunk bed room, with its two separate sleeping areas. The flex room appeals to health-conscious guests with a workout area equipped with cardio and yoga equipment. Pets are welcome at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel at no additional charge.
Features
Kerstin Florian organic body and skin products are some of the tools used at Helix, a Kimpton Hotel to create muscle-relaxing, mind-melting in-room spa treatments like the aroma journey massage and lavender dreams aromatherapy treatment.
Dining
A Space Age-goes-underwater vibe and custom cocktail creations like Pajama Party, Material Girl and The Curious Bee make the Helix Lounge a delicious feast for all the senses. Expect white vinyl ottomans and lime-hued side tables behind sheer privacy curtains, all awash in royal blue light.
Transportation

  • Farragut North Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (22.5 mi/36.3 km)

Attractions

  • Dupont Circle (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • National Mall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 2,240 square feet of function space 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Helix, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 400 sq ft non-smoking room with king sized platform bed
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room 400 sq ft 2 Queen platform beds non-smoking
03. Access Qn/Qn Deluxe Rm Roll
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2 queen beds 400 sq ft with roll in shower
King Studio Kitchenette
King Studio with kitchenette and eating area 400 sq ft non-smoking room with king sized bed
Flex Room with Cardio Equipment
Flex Room with cardio and yoga equipment 400 sq ft non-smoking king bed
Bunk Room
Bunk Room with separate king bed and bunk bed with twin beds 400 sq ft
Helix Suite
Helix Suite with king platform bed 700 sq ft L-shaped sectional sofa walk-in dressing rm

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.2 mi
  • Newseum: 1.3 mi

Dining

Helix Lounge
Savor every moment at this indescribably delicious Downtown Washington DC lounge - just an elevator ride away from your guest room. Helix Lounge is the also the perfect place for a star-studded private party- adding a Hollywood twist to your celebration

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMDO
Business
Chicago
Aug 22, 2011

Good value, but garish

I got a very good rate on this hotel, and for the money, it was a good value. But I wouldn't seek it out, necessarily. It's not incredibly convenient to the Metro--10 minutes walk to Red or Blue line--and the decor is hideous. Overdone attempts to be hip that fail at every turn. You can't make a hotel hip just by playing funk in the elevator and providing a fake tiger-skin robe in each room (blech!) Still, it was clean and the bed was comfortable--but no in-room coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 7, 2011

great stay!

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, gave great directions and tips for local restaurants...went out of their way to help!!!! Definitely stay here!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sweetgreens, Whole Foods, Commisary..all were right around the corner, all have great organic locally grown food. Very delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warwick, NY
Aug 5, 2011

Not What I expected

The Helix Hotel was very novel. Clean and decorated true to the Art Deco theme. I wouldn't consider this a four star hotel,but the customer service was friendly and my friend and I had a comfortable room. It felt more like a teenager bedroom with surfer pictures and a pair of bunkbeds next to the king bed! We laughed and thought it was funny but the price was fair and we knew that the hotel was a little further than walking distance to the monuments when we booked it. I just wished that it was more elegantly decorated and they could spare the toiletries. Refillable shampoo, and conditioner bottles bolted to the shower were a real turn off, and the curtain entrance with stage lights were a little tacky. Other than that no complaints. Relatively easy to check in and out and the hotel was more than happy to hold our luggage for us while we were sightseeing on the last day after we checked out. Over all, I think a younger clientele would appreciate this hotel. Next time, I would up the standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 20, 2011

Loved our experience at the Helix!

My girlfriend and I just took a quick weekend trip to DC to relax. We loved staying at the Helix - very retro chic decor and extremely friendly staff. We were pleasantly surprised when we were told there is a free champagne hour every day from 5-6pm! The hotel is dog friendly (at no additional cost), and even hosts a doggy happy hour every Wednesday. The only downside to the hotel is that it is a bit of a walk to the nearest Metro station. Otherwise, great hotel at a great price. We will definitely be staying at the Helix again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester,NY
Jul 12, 2011

Nice hotel

Staff was very friendly n location was good.The room were very clean n doesn't smell like other hotels.The only bad thing was parking but overall its a very good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beijing, china
Jul 11, 2011

Such a cute hotel!

really cute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Jun 28, 2011

different then other hotels...

nice design of the hotel with a lounge which is more than hotel standard, design is really different from other hotels in this category and really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take the bike station just next to the hotel (left) with a 5$ 24 membership you can rent a bike 1/2 hour for free to get to the monuments, return the bike within the 1/2 hour in a downton bike station and the ride was for free, back the same. you can walk but this will take you approx. 20 minutes, with the bike not more than 5 min. great service!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montclair, NJ
Jun 27, 2011

wonderful stay & friendly staff

We loved the decor, enjoyed how helpful the staff was, and all in all had a great stay. We will return. The area is also very LGBT friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect for walking to the mall, for great dining...we were very happy with our choice of hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 14, 2011

Great Hotel and Location

Booked a last minute hotel room at Helix and was very impressed. Free wifi was great as well as the free happy hour that evening--champagne toast anyone?! Fun decor and friendly staff. I think my days at staying at large hotel chains is over--esp since I wasn't charged for wifi unlike other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shopperqueen
Business
York, PA
May 7, 2011

Average stay but very attractive decor.

Very disappointed that coffee was not in the room in the morning. Surprised at "continental" breakfast when charged for the bagel! Had a Mastercard notation on my bill which I do not carry - messed up the billing but I believe my bank statement will clear this up. No good mirror in the room. Fabulous outdoor seating area for drinks, conversation, breakfast. Pleasant, helpful and polite staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We were there for a jazz performance in Georgetown which was Fabulous and offered every weekend entertainment with excellent meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top