$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 26, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
andywarholiday
Business
Huntsville, AL, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Quirky 60s art safari

This hotel is not for everyone, but you'll know if it is the second you walk through the door, as this one wears its art on its sleeve! The swanktastic decor is retro-modern with a knowing wink and a cheeseball smirk at 60's pallets and patterns and the hotel obviously aims for fun. With free wine happy hour nightly, snakeskin elevators, and a mini-bar whose menu includes Pez, Wax Lips, and Pop Rocks, Hotel Helix bends over backwards to put a smile on your face and keep it there. Dog friendly AND people friendly, this hotel is heavy on the artsy but light on the fartsy. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thai Tanic! Cute Thai place with great food and reasonable prices literally just around the corner from the hotel.

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kikosal
Business
San Francisco, California
Dec 13, 2011

Adult Getaway.

All the staff are very friendlly and the Hotel is very clean. However, some one was smoking inside of the hotel (Mariguana). I didn't like it. I think this hotel is only for adults, not for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurants.

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bluebonnet
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 26, 2011

Loved this hotel.

Comfortable not boring rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tax Traveller
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 7, 2011

OK For a Business Trip

The staff tries very hard and does a good job of making guests comfortable. The room does a slightly less good job, as there was definitely a tilt toward style over substance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Narada
Business
Boulder, CO
Oct 26, 2011

Great. Fun.

Lively, very comfortable. Good location. Staff very helpful. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
L. Cali
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Beware of mystery charges!

Today I got home and realized this hotel and charged me some very mysterious extra charges. In addition to the bill I was presented upon checkout, there was a charge for over $500 (!!!) and another separate charge for $240 (!!!). Of course I immediately called the hotel and was given absolutely no help. It was so frustrating. In fact, everything about this hotel was frustrating and poorly run and disorganized. When I arrived they had given away my room and I was placed in a room with bunk beds. The next day I was moved to a new room -- still not the room I booked and paid for -- and moved again the third day. I'm a pretty easygoing traveler but even for me three different rooms for three nights is a stretch. But the bill was the final straw. The person I spoke to at the hotel today said he could find "no record of the extra charges." My credit card sure has a record of them! After a completely frustrating phone call, the Helix representative simply said he couldn't help me resolve the issue and just told me to call my credit card company and issue a dispute. WHAT? Who runs a business that way? There are much better (and much CLEANER) hotels at better prices nearby. The Holiday Inn is just a block away and the Washington Plaza is also nearby and less expensive. This hotel was a disorganized mess. and the bathrooms could use some serious Clorox and a scrub. If you do decide to stay here, check your bill VERY CAREFULLY when you get home. I was extremely unhappy that the hotel charged me an extra $800 and then claimed to have no record at all of the transactions. This hotel was the only unpleasant part of an otherwise great trip. Beware!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MRRAS
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Lively and upbeat

I found the Helix to be quite lively and upbeat. I enjoyed the energy from the moment I approached the automated entry curtain. And the decor was very modern and youthful. I would definitely recommend the Helix to family and friends looking to stay at a modern, chic establishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
delaware
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great for exploring restaurants and DC highlights

The lobby was mediocre at best and we were a little apprehensive. But the staff friendliness and the room (large and comfortable) were a lovely surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful for all meals.

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dakota5414
Business
east coast
Aug 23, 2011

Very nice but...

The hotel was very nice the room was gorgeous. But if you one that like a decent sized bathroom this isn't the hotel for you. The shower and the bathroom were incredibly small they could have utilized the space alittle better and extended the bathroom Into the hallway or something. They provide tooth brushes for you and a few othe things if you forget which is nice and there is a cvs not to far away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMDO
Business
Chicago
Aug 22, 2011

Good value, but garish

I got a very good rate on this hotel, and for the money, it was a good value. But I wouldn't seek it out, necessarily. It's not incredibly convenient to the Metro--10 minutes walk to Red or Blue line--and the decor is hideous. Overdone attempts to be hip that fail at every turn. You can't make a hotel hip just by playing funk in the elevator and providing a fake tiger-skin robe in each room (blech!) Still, it was clean and the bed was comfortable--but no in-room coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top