$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R6 Rider
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 15, 2012

My first visit to Washington D.C.

This hotel is amazing!! It had a very eclectic feel to it, almost like I was in a Nightclub! I would definitely stay at this hotel during subsequent visits to the D.C. area!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LisaR1018
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 14, 2012

Not what I expected

I booked this hotel based on reviews and price special, but I wish I hadn't. The neighborhood wasn't the greatest, the building was old, the decor was not nearly as polished as in photos, the cleanliness of the room was questionable, the bathroom could not have been smaller and the door wouldn't shut, and I suspect there may have been bed bugs based on the large insect bite on my back when I woke up. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Not worth half of what it costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
parents visiting kids
Business
wisconsin
Aug 7, 2012

long weekend get away

The first night was frustrating. First we were given a room that someone was already in. Then when we got our next room, the TV did not work. They did comp us for that inconvenience which was much appreciated. They did feel bad. But after that first night, everything was great. The staff were OUTSTANDING!!!! The evening manager was top notch! If you needed anything they were right there to make sure it was done correctly. The food was great too! I definitely would stay there again! Like I said, the first night was frustrating, but they did everything in their power to make things right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJHKS
Business
Kansas City
Jul 19, 2012

Not your average hotel

The staff were very friendly upon check-in, and I loved the decor here. Instead of boring neutrals, the Helix has awesome patterns and colors, with fun artwork and lighting, too. The bed was comfy, the mini-bar well-stocked... seriously good stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sadalla
Business
sao paulo, brazil
Jul 17, 2012

Just a night in DC

The hotel is good enough for a only night stay, but it is a little old fashioned for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vica's FL
Business
Fort lauderdale, FL
Jul 17, 2012

Great for short stay

Very Friendly stuff. The price is affordable. Clean rooms. Good location to walk around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Levante's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Verovero
Business
Riverside, California
Jul 10, 2012

Great Location

The location of the hotel was perfect, near eveything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 30, 2012

Helix stay

The location is ideal and the interior is full of pop art. It's a nice change from redundant chain hotels throughout the city. The service was spotty- one staff member was fantastic and went beyond expectations, the other ignored us when my friend asked for a toothbrush. Overall, good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kbuggz
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 10, 2012

Great!

This hotel was fun and located near many bars and places to eat. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
andywarholiday
Business
Huntsville, AL, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Quirky 60s art safari

This hotel is not for everyone, but you'll know if it is the second you walk through the door, as this one wears its art on its sleeve! The swanktastic decor is retro-modern with a knowing wink and a cheeseball smirk at 60's pallets and patterns and the hotel obviously aims for fun. With free wine happy hour nightly, snakeskin elevators, and a mini-bar whose menu includes Pez, Wax Lips, and Pop Rocks, Hotel Helix bends over backwards to put a smile on your face and keep it there. Dog friendly AND people friendly, this hotel is heavy on the artsy but light on the fartsy. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thai Tanic! Cute Thai place with great food and reasonable prices literally just around the corner from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kikosal
Business
San Francisco, California
Dec 13, 2011

Adult Getaway.

All the staff are very friendlly and the Hotel is very clean. However, some one was smoking inside of the hotel (Mariguana). I didn't like it. I think this hotel is only for adults, not for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top