$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anonymous1234567
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 23, 2012

Nice room, but no free breakfast

Nice comfortable room with nice, brightly-colored decor and very comfortable bed. You need a free breakfast card to get the continental breakfast in the morning. Fortunately they told us before we started eating, it didn't look worth paying for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dw11111
Business
connecticut
Dec 21, 2012

Business challenged

The accomodation, location, and service was reasonably good, but business support features were poor. The room's cell phone signal was too low (Verizon 4G# to sustain a call. The navigation to their WIFI was awckard and took two calls to their support desk #w/ long hold#. Then it was too light to sustain a Skype call. Failing that, I had to make a 30 minute #appx.# business call using their phone and they billed it at $97. #When I questioned it, the hostess reduced it to $37,) So you can play here, but be on the lookout for sand traps. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ATL2visitor
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 14, 2012

Not bad

Its an old hotel that they renovated. The location is not bad, close to the metro. But the hotel is about a 2.5 star in my opinion

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Badger Mike
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Nov 25, 2012

Funky decor, fun time

The decor of the hotel is very interesting. We liked the shabby chic attitude and the trendy lounge & bar. The rooms aren't anything special, but the design and details are fun and pleasant. The king bed was very comfy. I'd recommend it as a change of pace from the ordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ashanthaik
Business
New York, NY
Nov 20, 2012

Not too shabby, rather eccentric

A business colleague and I stayed here last Friday night. The room was rather eccentric, and well-designed (they really went in for the good furniture). Functional gym on the first floor, rather rowdy bar scene late Friday night in the lounge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonrisa412
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 18, 2012

fun! Clean! cool!

Enjoyed the atmosphere, kind staff, and beautiful bar area! will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonrisa412
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 18, 2012

Hip Fun Chill!

Great location, kind staff, clean rooms and great wine bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jean g
Business
Washington
Aug 29, 2012

Funky hotel, slightly dated

Very fun place and would stay here again. However, the sofa in the room was not comfortable and had a few small stains and the room needed to be touched up. I would still recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R6 Rider
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 15, 2012

My first visit to Washington D.C.

This hotel is amazing!! It had a very eclectic feel to it, almost like I was in a Nightclub! I would definitely stay at this hotel during subsequent visits to the D.C. area!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LisaR1018
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 14, 2012

Not what I expected

I booked this hotel based on reviews and price special, but I wish I hadn't. The neighborhood wasn't the greatest, the building was old, the decor was not nearly as polished as in photos, the cleanliness of the room was questionable, the bathroom could not have been smaller and the door wouldn't shut, and I suspect there may have been bed bugs based on the large insect bite on my back when I woke up. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Not worth half of what it costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top