$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R6 Rider
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 15, 2012

My first visit to Washington D.C.

This hotel is amazing!! It had a very eclectic feel to it, almost like I was in a Nightclub! I would definitely stay at this hotel during subsequent visits to the D.C. area!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GOVUM
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
May 30, 2013

Comfortable and clean experience

It was a very comfortable stay. the hotel room was clean and the staff was very helpful. The location of the hotel was near everything I needed to get too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VLGBOS
Business
Boston. USA
May 14, 2013

Family Gateway

Traveling with young boy age of two. Nice big room where to play. Kitchenette almost useless (it is just a microwave and an additional fridge). Front desk people really distracted. Not helpful to facilitate stroller and access to the elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller2522
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 16, 2013

Good hotel

The hotel was on a nice street, however it was not close to the subway. Complementary coffee and tea in the morning was great, and I appreciated the organic food choices on the hotel menu, however I prefered to look for alternative/cheaper breakfast options outside the hotel. The room was large and seemed clean. More electrical outlets would be useful though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MosesRoss
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 7, 2013

Best night sleep in a hotel ever.

This Washington DC hotel took me by surprise. The staff was helpful and courteous. The room was large and airy. Minimalistic but modern. Tastefully decorated. Quiet room with strong wifi and a large flat screen TV mounted on a swivel for a 360 degree viewing, I was able to work as well as relax in the room. But the bed.... The sleeping area was an inset space separated by a curtain, which helped keep the sleeping area very dark and quiet. The bed and the environment both contributed to the best nights sleep in a hotel ever! The only negative I can give it is that they don't have in-room coffeepots, which was more than compensated by room service bringing a potfull at a specific time so I could have it upon waking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jolm
Business
wash dc
Apr 1, 2013

Great getaway

Great boutique hotel in the heart of city, plenty of food and fun near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Decently Satisfied
Business
WA
Mar 14, 2013

Good Hotel, but startling mix-up.

Hotel was good. Room not in as good condition as pictures. Location was very good, many good restaurants in walking distance of the hotel and half mile to the nearest metro rail. Initially arrived and came in with reservation, instead was entered in as if I had no reservation and was given keys to the room. Went to the room and someone was already in it!!! Needless to say that was definitely alarming. Went back down and talked to another person (who seemed to have a much better idea of what was going on), fixed their room mix-up and gave me complimentary continental breakfasts for the rest of the stay. The room was decent but didn't have robes for two and didn't seem to be in the best shape. I imagine this may have occurred to their room mix up and then ending up in a totally different floor. The complimentary breakfast is pastries, toast, yogurt, oatmeal, and OJ. Should be included with any room, not an additional fee since it is not really anything special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danadnc
Business
Greensboro, NC
Mar 13, 2013

Better than expected

I wasn't anticipating a great stay, but it truly was. The staff was really nice, the hotel was nice and quiet, the location was super-accessible and there were great places to eat nearby. We took the hotel's recommendation and dined at the Pig on 14th Street. It was absolutely wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at the Pig, but make a reservation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
victorialuvs2travel
Business
washington dc
Mar 3, 2013

Great fun night

The Helix provided the perfect bounce off into a night of fun in Dupont Circle. Although we missed the wine happy hour, the front desk graciously offered us a complimentary glass of wine. The room was large enough for three of us to spread out and get ready in. I love the quirky Kimpton touches, and this one doesn't disappoint! Everything was great, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Boqueria - fantastic fair priced tapas restaurant that was really incredible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Bean
Business
Washington DC
Feb 13, 2013

Awesome romantic getaway

If you like funky, offbeat hotels then Helix is perfect. Unique decor, friendly staff & the room was just too cool. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ceiba is a fantastic restaurant and it's only about a kilometer walk from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sheres100
Business
New Jersey
Dec 27, 2012

Excellent stay

We stayed in an amazing and HUGE room with a very very comfy king size bed! Very clean. Outdated art and decor but who cares? They serve complimentary wine, champagne and cider during happy hour in their lounge area :) :) :) Management and staff are VERY helpful. One night I really wanted to sip some tea and the bar was closed. The guy at the front desk brought me a whole kettle with hot water and gave me 6-7 bags of tea :) Would definitely recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole foods, a nice restaurant Ghana cafe, A nice crepe place - Point Chaud Cafe and Crepes are a short walk away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top