$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1430 Rhode Island NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
victorialuvs2travel
washington dc
Mar 3, 2013

Great fun night

The Helix provided the perfect bounce off into a night of fun in Dupont Circle. Although we missed the wine happy hour, the front desk graciously offered us a complimentary glass of wine. The room was large enough for three of us to spread out and get ready in. I love the quirky Kimpton touches, and this one doesn't disappoint! Everything was great, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Boqueria - fantastic fair priced tapas restaurant that was really incredible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ElVerdadero
Business
Washington DC
Aug 30, 2013

Unprofessional and lack customer courtesy

I don't usually enjoy writing a negative review; however, I am obliged to warn potential guests who may be swayed for its relatively 'cheaper' price: 1. They change your rate after you reserved the room without notice. surprise! if you reserved for a single king bedroom you get a double bedroom without any fault of your own and charged at a higher rate. 2. Their food and beverage department is terrible to say the least; they leave an expired beverage in the freezer; guess what if you drink it after a long flight without notice they would say :"oh no problem you get a $ 25 drink on us" but later they charge it from your credit card. 3. They treat a customer like a walking ATM machine; they even charged me for the breakfast that I have paid in cash along the tip $30 dollars! for a ~$11 worth breakfast! not to mention for an arrogant & condescending service I have received. I hope this warn people and possibly by off chance the manager of this hotel make an adjustment with its service delivery b/c the hotel is situated in a good place if it run by well trained stuffs who are able to meet the basic customer service standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Curly Adventurer
Business
Lake Stevens, WA
Aug 20, 2013

Great DC Experience

Wonderfully appointed boutique hotel at a perfect location in D.C. Great walking and cycling to be had and excellent hotel staff. Mellow vibe amidst a frantic city. Interesting menu; pricy parking so leave your car or forget the rental - you won't need it. Pets are welcomed and quite a part of the experience. Would return with no hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Valet parking available, but very expensive. You really don't need a car at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dan a. minnesota
Business
minnesota
Aug 17, 2013

nice family time.

the location of the hotel is good if you plan to walk to the national mall.i was a guest there for three nights and i walk every day to visit the white house and the museums and all monuments in national mall.also the metro stations are very close.a good experience,i would stay at the same hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter and Roxy
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Aug 16, 2013

Okay place to stay

The place is good in terms of location. The front-desk staffs, the valets are great. The cleaning staff did not clear out the garbage that we left in the room. The breakfast was not great either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sturge
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Aug 1, 2013

off the beaten path

The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful when i showed up 3 hours before check in to drop off my luggage and let me know my room was ready and let me check in right away. The room was bright and omg was it huge. It was bigger than my first apt in DC. The location is my favourite part of the hotel, its not down in the heart of the tourist area nor is it out in the middle of nowhere. Logan Circle is an awesome little area that makes it worth it. theres plenty of eateries and bars around the hotel to keep you occupied at night without having to wonder to far around the District. Overall great hotel, great location and for the price it cant be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if youve never had ethiopian food, do yourself a favour and go to Dukem on 12th and U st NW and give it a go. Best place in the country in my opinion to get Ethiopian food. Also if you like places that are institutions go to Bens Chili Bowl and have a chili half-smoke.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wondawoman
Business
Bel Air, Md
Jul 31, 2013

Very pleasant!

A good value for the most part. I wasn't crazy about the IKEA dorm room feel of the contemporary furnishings but I liked the price, the staff and the location. It was very nice to be able to enjoy a complimentary glass of wine and feel like you were a guest in the staff's home. Very well run and efficient. I do wish the shower head was higher though. i am 5'11 with a fused cervical spine so showering was a challenge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beck 2
Business
OHIO
Jun 18, 2013

Fantastic

The front desk clerk Jay was excellent!! He was so helpful and courteous and made my stay at the hotel a fantastic experience. The location was great the room was nice comfortable and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4hanover
Business
Atlanta
Jun 4, 2013

Hipp Hotel

Nice hotel with good walking distance to sites. Hipp decoration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a couple of good restaurants on the next street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GRTKF
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 2, 2013

a bit different

An attractive, laid back environment; does not seem to attract the usual DC traveler crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Helix, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TVG2006
Business
Maine
Jun 1, 2013

Great location, lousy customer service, pay for parking

Be prepared to pay for parking or you have to park on the street and take your chances. The parking is 42 - 50 / per night. This was not published in the fine print either. we found out later that they simply park your car on the street...we could have done that ourselves... NOT GOOD! Asked for late check out and promptly denied. Amazing! We won't be back....ever. We would have gotten a better value at the Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Please check out The Pig right around the corner on 14th Street. Amazing cocktails and amazing food. We had braised crispy pork shank....lovely :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top