$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Harrington Hotel

2 stars
436 11TH St. Nw, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
32 reviews
perfect place to walk around downtown

it is a great place to stay if you want to explore DC downtown, very easy to go to many attractions... See full review

  • Deporah
  • Jul 27, 2013
wonderful getaway

friendly staff, convenient to everywhere we wanted to go. Lovely! See full review

  • Mona 4 truth
  • Apr 4, 2013
National Airport DCA 3 mi, White House Situated 4 Blocks Away., Convention Center Located 3 blocks Away., Metro Subway Situated 1 Block Away., Smithsonian Museums 0.5 mi, U.S. Capitol Located 10 Blocks Away.

Hotel Map

38.8959 -77.0271
Nearby airports
Washington Reagan, (DCA), 3.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Harrington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fords Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • National Archives: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • National Archives: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.5 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.5 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Harrington Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Harrington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mickey11030
Long Island, NY
Apr 26, 2013

Second-Rate Hotel in Excellent Location

Only 1 block from Pennsylvania Ave this hotel is in an excellent location, but it's run down. The bed was sagging (a little) and the closet was not usable. The advertised WiFi doesn't work in the rooms, only in the lobby. But the price is good, and they gave me an extra 10% off when I mentioned AARP at check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oyamel is a spectacular restaurant. If I lived in DC I would eat there at least once a month. (and more often if I could afford it.)

Review of Harrington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hate this dump
Business
SC
Apr 21, 2013

Should be condemned

Stay away!!! Horrible place. Might have been nice in 1940 but has not been updated or taken care of since. Bum in lobby. Asked if I wanted to pay cash. Rod hangs from ceiling vent and that is "heat and ac".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harrington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cocoa Nib
San Francisco California
Apr 5, 2013

In really rough shape

Very small dingy room. Paint chips would fall on the floor. Coat hook dangling from 1 loose screw. Lighting was poor. Fire extinguisher sitting in the corner on the floor. Wife and I could not pass each other walking around bed. The bed was soft and springy. Bus loads of teenagers frequently filled the hallways and made plenty noise. This place is more suitable for back-packers. We are a mature couple who will find a different hotel next time in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you go during Spring Break for the Cherry Blossoms, book everything in advance, INCLUDING all dinners. DC restaurants don't like walk-ins, and the wait is almost always over 1 hour for a table.

Review of Harrington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mona 4 truth
Steubenville, Ohip\o
Apr 4, 2013

wonderful getaway

friendly staff, convenient to everywhere we wanted to go. Lovely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

just a few blocks from the National Mall area and Smithsonian Museum of Natural History

Review of Harrington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jersey Joey of Westfield
Westfield, NJ
Jan 24, 2013

Inauguration 2013

Staff was pleasant, rooms adequate at best. I appreciate the pet friendly hotels and this one went out of their way to accomodate me and my little pup.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Harrington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hi there
Dubuque, Iowa
Oct 3, 2012

Great location

My husband and I went to DC for a week long vacation of site seeing and museums. The hotel was a great value and perfectly situated for walking to everything. We booked the tiny queen room, but got a free upgrade to one of the rooms with double beds since the nice lady at the front desk didn't think we would be comfortable in the tiny room for a whole week. Our only complaint is that the water pressure in the shower was really low. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good value in walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

When your feet get tired, rent a bike from Bike and Roll nearby. It's a better deal than the Bikeshare program.

Review of Harrington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin' Oly Ladies
Olympia, Washington
Sep 16, 2012

Easy First DC Trip

From Felipe's greeting at the curb to the desk staff's quick answers as to where to find a wonderful steak, we were treated like stars. The White House is 4 blocks away while the Capital is just 6 blocks in the opposite direction. We didn't have to drive anywhere. The map provided by the Front Desk directed us to all the Smithsonian Museums and the Monuments we wanted to see and we were always able to find our way back. The Harrington is not "fancy" - no pool, no exercise room - but we felt at home and very safe. The beds were comfortable and the Housekeeping staff kept the room and bath clean. Traveling alone is hard enough so to have a safe and friendly place to stay is worth a lot. The passive air conditioning system took a little getting use to but the Front Desk sent up an engineer to show us how to use it, and after that we were happy. I have not traveled much on pleasure so this was a wonderful first adventure. My friend and I were only in DC for 5 days but I am coming back and will definitely stay at the Harrington. Miss Terry and her staff are wonderful. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Harrington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeCapeJack
Business
Delaware
Sep 15, 2012

Good Value and Location

We needed a hotel that wouldn't break the bank and was close to the National Mall. The Harrington is within blocks of the White House and was very much cheaper than any other hotel in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harrington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
QT10
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 18, 2012

Affordable - Reminded me of European Hotels OLD !!

Upon arrival, the apearance was grand,, and once insode it felt like college days traveling on a budget, young people - foriegners and an atmosphere of transient with a musty smell. I used an older elevator in the back past the kitchen to the attached resturaunt,, ordorful,, and landed on a surprisingly clean floor with a tiny room and over painted doors,, the kind you would find in Europe. Very Clean and very inexpensive sheets to see the mattress,,, kept my trip affordable and would go back alone only on a strict budget -- and not to impress anyone !! Great location to everything for walking,,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harrington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
osen2
Business
chicago
Jul 5, 2012

Great deal

Great hotel for its value! Very close to many sightseeing options

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top