$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
519 reviews
Christmas getaway

We loved the hotel. The price was great. But, the best thing was the location. Close to everything.... See full review

  • ArmyFam
  • May 13, 2015
The perfect for my family

Might just be the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Also, being very close to the touristic was... See full review

  • D. B.
  • May 2, 2015

The Grand Hyatt Washington is an upscale elegant hotel centrally located in downtown Washington, D.C., and is perfectly situated for both leisure and business travelers. The Grand Hyatt Washington welcomes their guests with a wide selection of impressive amenities, including exclusive access to Fit Club, a fully equipped health club with an indoor swimming pool. Guests enjoy luxurious rooms and suites, event planning services, 32 meeting rooms and an executive business center. To top it all off, the hotel lobby conveniently leads directly into the Metro Center with subway links throughout the city and surrounding region.

Rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Highlights

The Grand Hyatt is situated in Washington's trendy Penn Quarter district, home to dozens of restaurants, bars, museums and art galleries. Major local attractions such as the Washington Monument, U.S. Capitol Building and the Smithsonian museums can be reached by a short walk or by using the Metro. CityCenterDC is located just across the street, which contains the DBGB Kitchen and Bar, Del Frisco's Double Eagle Steak House and the Mango Tree. In addition, the hotel is only three blocks from the Verizon Center, home to NBA's Washington Wizards and NHL's Washington Capitals. Guests can enjoy dining and drinks at the hotel's Cure Bar & Bistro, Grand Café, Starbucks and Zephyr Deli; room service is also available.

Nearby attractions
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom with crescent shower curtain, European style massag

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Dining

CURE Bar Bistro
Seasonal menu includes items such as artisan cheese selections, pork pate, roasted sausage with jam, flat iron steak and bread pudding. The wine, beer and spirit selections are extensive, offering a range of exceptional wines, international beers and unique cocktails.
Cabinet
Breakfast buffet omlet station

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 519
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friend
Business
N/A
Jul 1, 2015

One-Night Stay

The hotel is enormous, so it felt a little impersonal. I arrived late at night and the receptionist was not friendly or welcoming, unfortunately. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Water was not in visible sight, so I had to search for it. No mini bar in the room. Location is quite good and convenient. I would recommend it for its rooms and bed comfort, but not for anyone looking for a more friendly and personal experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jhonson
Business
Ridgewood
Apr 26, 2015

Business trip

amazing location, staff very friendly, very clean and nice rooms. highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bryan K.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Business Trip

Overall, I had a very good experience at the Grand Hyatt. My room was clean and comfortable. The staff were great and always had a smile on their faces when engaging with me. They were able to provide me with a razor and small bottle of shaving cream upon request shortly after I realized I had forgotten to bring those things along. The hotel was within walking distance of where I needed to go for my meetings as well as getting to the National Mall area to view some of the sights. I was disappointed that I wasn't made aware that the atrium area was under construction, but overall I was satisfied with the room, the staff, and my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TRtravels
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great Location but lobby under renovation

This was my 2nd time staying at the hotel while in DC on business. The stay would have been as comfortable as the first time if the hotel lobby had not been under renovation. Unfortunately at the time I booked there was no mention on the hotels site concerning the fact that the lobby would be under renovation during my stay. It was basically one big construction site including extremely loud drilling with jackhammers. So loud in fact that the jack hammers could be heard at times all the way up in my room on the 6th floor! A price break at the time of booking in order to compensate would have been in order but as previously noted there was no mention of the renovation on their site. On a positive note at check out one of the front desk staff comped my $50 room service charge. I would rather have known in advance that the entire lobby would be under renovation and been offered a lower room rate at the time of booking but at least the staff member did make some effort to make amends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GH425
Business
Flushing
Feb 21, 2015

Business Trip

I usually stay here whenever I head in to DC (about 3 times a year). Usually a very pleasant stay, but with the renovations going on, getting pink eye from the sheets (can't confirm it, but didnt have it before going to bed and woke up with it).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FarFetch7
Business
DC
Dec 9, 2014

Business Trip

Arrived at the check in time and went direct to the room and enjoy the rest of the night sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MsLauraCat
Business
Madison, WI
Dec 2, 2014

Great location in DC

Direct access to Metro is a big plus! Hotel lobby renovation was no an issue at all. Lovely atrium

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCR Success Lead
Business
Hazard, KY
Nov 22, 2014

Great Hotel for business and/or pleasure!

I am so glad I booked my stay at the Grand Hyatt. The hotel is close to the Ronald Reagan Airport and to sites in DC. Staff were exceptional. I would certainly stay here again! Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The Metro is just a few steps away.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Global Hipster
Business
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Oct 12, 2014

Great location, great stay

Had a great stay at the Grand Hyatt, have been staying here for years and it continues to be a solid option in DC. Location is great as well, right on top of the metro station doesn't get any better...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Metro station beneath the hotel.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VCTyson
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 13, 2014

GREAT HOTEL!!!

So I decided to stay at the Grand Hyatt instead of my conference hotel (The Wardman Park Marriott). I like Hyatts, and I've stayed at the Grand Hyatt in the past. The room was quiet and cool. The location of the Grand Hyatt is PHENOMENAL, as it has it's own entrance to the Metro Center Metro stop, which meant I never had to go outside in the sweltering heat. The staff was fantastic, from the front desk to housekeeping, and they were incredibly helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top