$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
493 out of 493
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tiny vacations
Business
New York, NY
Jun 24, 2013

totally fine

A few little things were not ideal--the chambermaid came into our room without knocking a few minutes after we'd arrived, and they gave us the Post when we'd asked for the NYT, but otherwise, totally satisfactory. The lobby/atrium is kind of hilariously gaudy, with a piano on an island in a shallow pool on the lower level, but the bed was great, it was quiet, and clean, and very convenient. I'd go back, if I'm looking for a reliably pleasant experience in downtown DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm a back seat driver
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 7, 2013

Quick weekend getaway

My flight arrived late to Philly and it took a long time to get to DC so we arrived very late. After midnight actually. I reserved a King bed, wound up getting a pull out sofa bed because we arrived very late and they were booked solid. Not sure if this could have been prevented, although I did make specific reservations I overheard another desk clerk telling a different customer it was pretty much first come, first served. The sofa bed actually turned out to have a comfortable memory foam mattress and they comped us access to a special room with free breakfast, snacks and desserts that was surprisingly well appointed. Some of the staff could use some training in being nicer. They seemed to be either stressed or just miserable. But I encountered two other staff members who were very pleasant and helpful so I guess the others were just having a bad day. When we first arrived and I found out we would be sleeping on a sofa bed I was angry but all in all it turned out to be OK. FYI, things in DC are very expensive. Good thing the Smithsonian museums are free! We also took the Old Town Trolly tour which was great! The trolly has a stop at the hotel. I would like to go back and spend longer so we can see more. Lots to see, not enough time. Also, having the Metro stop in the hotel is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joanie pony
Business
Orlando
Oct 22, 2013

Trip to dc

Hotel is to big for my liking. Long,long way to get to room. Very,very large hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great museums

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alec Z
Business
New York City
Dec 2, 2013

Nice Hotel, Bad Experience

I stayed for just one night, and was pleased by the look of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff upon check-in. All was fine until about 2am, when the tenants of the room next to us began playing spanish music on their TV and singing along. I was fast asleep by this point (a very sound sleeper), but when I awoke at 6am to the music next door, my girlfriend told me she had been unable to fall asleep all night. I called the front desk, informed them of the problem, and they said they would give the room a call. About half an hour later, the music was still playing, and the party was clearly still on. I called the front desk again, and asked for earplugs. Twenty minutes later, when the earplugs had still not arrived, I went down to the front desk to get earplugs directly (which the man at the front desk had to scrounge around for in the back room). Needless to say, this was a very unsatisfying stay. The hotel itself was in great condition, but the level of service we received was not fantastic, nor was the quality of our sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The traveling dr
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 1, 2014

For a grand club room, i found it overpriced

In general it was a good hotel. But it had several flaws, valet parking was terribly slow. And i payed more for a junior suite and ended up with a regular one just on the grand floor. Honestly, nothing grand about it. But everything else i guess was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Near the shopping stores. Great !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Aug 18, 2009

weekend stay

Easy drive to and from with parking. The pool was in the basement, small and crowded. Easy walk to the National Mall and museums. Family restaurant near by, Hyatt pricey for breakfast for a family. Having the Metro stop at the hotel a plus, a few minutes to Union Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walked to all the museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 27, 2009

Great location

This is an older hotel that has been nicely renovated and has a great location. The front desk staff are not helpful or service oriented but the bell staff and housekeeping are okay. Housekeeping will bang on the door at 9:00 a.m., even on weekends, so put the do not disturb sign out if you want to sleep late and use ear plugs because they will be banging on all the doors. The plumbing periodically whines loudly and sounds like a whale call. Avoid the overpriced restaurant there are many great restaurants nearby. The price is reasonable for what you receive and the location makes it worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown or Ave F and beyond 12th have plenty of nice restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John from Toledo
Business
Toledo, OH, USA
Sep 10, 2011

Good location

For the price I expected breakfast to be provided but it was not. Very convenient to the metro (connects from lobby) and walking distance to the White House. Decor is nice. No microwave and access to the refrigerator is $5 per day extra. Coming from the midwest, I can get better overall quality for a lot cheaper - you are paying for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

there is a connection in the lobby to the metro - very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Twin
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Hotel

This hotel was in a great location for walking to the attractions in the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The night life for me was fun just seeing so many people out and about enjoying themselves whether it was dinner, movie, taking a stroll or just taking in the view at the coffee shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Dec 16, 2009

Grand Hyatt

Overall, very good. However, I do not expect to see only margarine suppied at the breakfast buffet. When butter requested, a single small pat was provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top