$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
479 out of 479
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TeeTraveling Gal
Business
Columbus Ga
Jul 11, 2012

over booked

I would have rated it as a four star if it had not been over booked the first night and I ended up sleeping on a couch with a pull out bed, which was very uncomfortable to me. They gave me a free breakfast for the inconvenience. The second night was very good. I really love the hotel and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

nice places to eat but can be expensive.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kris2012
Business
Orlando fl
Jun 9, 2012

Overvalued - find alternative

I paid $300 per night for 2 days in early June for a conference. Good location and upon entering well lit and classy. Staff was friendly and conference rooms were good. Bed was comfy. Bad things: 8th floor outside room had loud A/c fan noise. Glass walls are not well insulated. Heavy noise from vehicles outside and had trouble sleeping. 10$ charge for gym per day and for reason they are rationing towels. Was incorrectly invoiced for 89$ dinner that never had - friendly staff corrected it during check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk towards china town and execellent places to dine.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JackSon 2
Business
Pasadena, Ca
Aug 17, 2012

For this I paid 300 dollars?

The hotel was nice but the room could have been larger for the price paid. It is at a central location so I guess that has a lot to do with the price but I've stayed at mid tier hotels that are much cheaper with rooms that are just as nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jlcarid
Business
Texas
Aug 19, 2012

Too much for what it was

Nicenhotel don't get me wrong, but for the amount charged it was missing that special something to make it feelmtrulynworth the cash

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim of Arabia
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Dec 18, 2012

Weekender

Very good location, staff and restaurants. Remodeliing underway and very much needed as rooms are dated and not to the standard of a Grand Hyatt hotel. A Christmas party on Sunday evening lasted all night with considerable noise from the venue heard in the rooms along with loud noises in the hallways from inebriated guests; much evidence of excessive drinking and partying on Monday morning--incluidng presence of house security personnel escorting people out of their hotel rooms. The room price was very competitive although parking at $40/night a bit steep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many varied and good restaurants within walking distance and in hotel itself

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
m Bee
Business
nyc
Dec 28, 2012

"old" faithful

I stay here often when coming to DC. It is conveniently located and usually the service is pretty good. They are starting to renovate the rooms on certain floors and I noticed on my last stay that this is much overdue. They should start by putting more electrical outlets in the rooms. No place to charge phones, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

breakfast buffet is very good

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tiny vacations
Business
New York, NY
Jun 24, 2013

totally fine

A few little things were not ideal--the chambermaid came into our room without knocking a few minutes after we'd arrived, and they gave us the Post when we'd asked for the NYT, but otherwise, totally satisfactory. The lobby/atrium is kind of hilariously gaudy, with a piano on an island in a shallow pool on the lower level, but the bed was great, it was quiet, and clean, and very convenient. I'd go back, if I'm looking for a reliably pleasant experience in downtown DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm a back seat driver
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 7, 2013

Quick weekend getaway

My flight arrived late to Philly and it took a long time to get to DC so we arrived very late. After midnight actually. I reserved a King bed, wound up getting a pull out sofa bed because we arrived very late and they were booked solid. Not sure if this could have been prevented, although I did make specific reservations I overheard another desk clerk telling a different customer it was pretty much first come, first served. The sofa bed actually turned out to have a comfortable memory foam mattress and they comped us access to a special room with free breakfast, snacks and desserts that was surprisingly well appointed. Some of the staff could use some training in being nicer. They seemed to be either stressed or just miserable. But I encountered two other staff members who were very pleasant and helpful so I guess the others were just having a bad day. When we first arrived and I found out we would be sleeping on a sofa bed I was angry but all in all it turned out to be OK. FYI, things in DC are very expensive. Good thing the Smithsonian museums are free! We also took the Old Town Trolly tour which was great! The trolly has a stop at the hotel. I would like to go back and spend longer so we can see more. Lots to see, not enough time. Also, having the Metro stop in the hotel is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joanie pony
Business
Orlando
Oct 22, 2013

Trip to dc

Hotel is to big for my liking. Long,long way to get to room. Very,very large hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great museums

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alec Z
Business
New York City
Dec 2, 2013

Nice Hotel, Bad Experience

I stayed for just one night, and was pleased by the look of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff upon check-in. All was fine until about 2am, when the tenants of the room next to us began playing spanish music on their TV and singing along. I was fast asleep by this point (a very sound sleeper), but when I awoke at 6am to the music next door, my girlfriend told me she had been unable to fall asleep all night. I called the front desk, informed them of the problem, and they said they would give the room a call. About half an hour later, the music was still playing, and the party was clearly still on. I called the front desk again, and asked for earplugs. Twenty minutes later, when the earplugs had still not arrived, I went down to the front desk to get earplugs directly (which the man at the front desk had to scrounge around for in the back room). Needless to say, this was a very unsatisfying stay. The hotel itself was in great condition, but the level of service we received was not fantastic, nor was the quality of our sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top