$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
629 reviews
Nice place to stay in the centre city

It was a fantastic experience staying at Hyatt! Located in centre city, the hotel is within minutes... See full review

  • Jasonlice
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great stay for parents' getaway

We had unexpected extra time in DC and since this hotel is centrally located, it was perfect for... See full review

  • Joy Educator
  • Jul 15, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom w

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (629)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
629 out of 629
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JamesEC
Business
Rochester NY
Feb 25, 2014

Never again

$34 per night to park with no in and out privileges or $45 if you want them, breakfast buffet $24 per person, lobby furniture was worn out and torn. room was so hot we couldn't sleep and thermostat would only read 65 which it never got to. also noise all night long in hallway and restaurants in lobby closed by 6pm. Never again folks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Washington Bar and Grille was good place to eat with great variety

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BarbieJ1964
Spartanburg, SC
Dec 31, 2012

Would not stay here

I expected better service. Had requested double beds due to issues. I made request in October and followed up with another request in early December. Requested room was not available first night. Staff did nothing to assist or accommodate. Internet service was $15-30/day depending on requested service. After 12 hour drive was awakened by drilling/renovations at 9:00. Expressed my displeasure and another guest in hotel went into hallway and yelled for them to stop. Again nothing was done by hotel. Don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Future Jet
DFW
Aug 9, 2009

Grand Hyatt Wash, DC

very noisy and the staff was not friendly, i would never stay at this location/hotel ever again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Running Man 1771
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 18, 2013

Bad sleep

The biggest concern about my recent stay was the fact that even though I specifically booked a room with two double beds, my colleague and I were given one with a King. When questioned, the hotel blamed the third party booking agent and suggested that they could not guarantee the bed selection even though the two double bed room was guaranteed in our reservation. I wound up sleeping on a cot. The front desk was responsive and did comp our parking but could not do anything about the room charge since it was prepaid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TIA180
MN
Aug 4, 2009

No Beds!

This was a trip for my husbands birthday. So I sent him and a friend for a 5 day stay to the Grand Hyatt in D.C. What a joke. When trying to check in the room was not ready until 7p.m. and then they were given a room kinda like a conference room with no beds! I am not kidding either. My husband called so upset. So we contacted the hotel manager and they sent up a pull out couch and a roll away. So you can see they did not get much sleep the week they were there. The manager did try to make things right by giving a free breakfast everyday. I personally think they could have done more than a free breakfast. My husband did comment on how beautiful the lobby was and great location for sight seeing. So if you go make sure you have beds in your room before checking in and dont settle for breakfast if they dont!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Smithsonian is free!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patva
Washington, D.C.
Dec 29, 2011

Needed to turn in marriage papers for approval.

1. We waited in the street with our car for 45 min. to get into the hotel. When we finally did reach it they were out of parking places. 2. Key didn't work in room. 3. When guy brought working key up, there was someone already renting the room. 4. Had to wait another 10 min. to get a room with the right key.' 5. Had to park the car quite a distance away for $34. All this sort of made the Hotel a bummer. They really needed some management outside to keep things rolling. Many cars were blocking traffic and people trying to cross the street at the light. We were kind of disappointed. Glad we were there for only one night. Won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Future Jet
DFW
Aug 9, 2009

Grand Hyatt Wash, DC

very noisy and the staff was not friendly, i would never stay at this location/hotel ever again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jlcarid
Texas
Aug 19, 2012

Too much for what it was

Nicenhotel don't get me wrong, but for the amount charged it was missing that special something to make it feelmtrulynworth the cash

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minnesota
Nov 13, 2010

it was ok

room was neat and clean. pillows were too big. free tv channel selection was very good. street noise was audible on the third floor. flags hanging from exterior of the building were faded. restaurants in the hotel were expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

arriving from national airport, take the metro to the hotel. it was not easy to find the hotel door, however, so have the hotel address handy in case you exit the metro on the street nearby.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
Dec 16, 2009

Grand Hyatt

Overall, very good. However, I do not expect to see only margarine suppied at the breakfast buffet. When butter requested, a single small pat was provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top