$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
629 reviews
Nice place to stay in the centre city

It was a fantastic experience staying at Hyatt! Located in centre city, the hotel is within minutes... See full review

  • Jasonlice
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great stay for parents' getaway

We had unexpected extra time in DC and since this hotel is centrally located, it was perfect for... See full review

  • Joy Educator
  • Jul 15, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom w

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (629)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
629 out of 629
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marbell
Marina Del Rey ,California
Apr 11, 2013

fantastic weeken getaway

I loved this hotel. It was covenient to all the major sites in Washington. The rooms were impeccable as was the room service. Thanks Grand Hyatt Washington!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Waflles is round the corner and it was delish!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lando11
Maryland, USA
Dec 18, 2013

Perfect downtown getaway

Always a pleasurable experience when I stay here. Is a walk away from all attractions in DC and staff is always great and pleasurable.. Always my choice when I stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kram789
Raleigh, NC
Dec 16, 2013

Great Hotel with Super Access to Metro and all DC

We had a wonderful experience. The staff is very helpful. We used the concierge service extensively and Kimu always sent to great restaurants. We stayed in a outward facing room on the 9th floor and it was very quiet despite a full hotel. Breakfast in the deli is reasonable for downtown DC (about $10/adult). The best feature is that you can exit the Metro Central station directly into the hotel. That gives you access to all of DC and minimizes exposure to weather. It was very nice to have on December 13-15.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the concierge. Kimu is very knowledgeable and never steered us wrong.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alec Z
New York City
Dec 2, 2013

Nice Hotel, Bad Experience

I stayed for just one night, and was pleased by the look of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff upon check-in. All was fine until about 2am, when the tenants of the room next to us began playing spanish music on their TV and singing along. I was fast asleep by this point (a very sound sleeper), but when I awoke at 6am to the music next door, my girlfriend told me she had been unable to fall asleep all night. I called the front desk, informed them of the problem, and they said they would give the room a call. About half an hour later, the music was still playing, and the party was clearly still on. I called the front desk again, and asked for earplugs. Twenty minutes later, when the earplugs had still not arrived, I went down to the front desk to get earplugs directly (which the man at the front desk had to scrounge around for in the back room). Needless to say, this was a very unsatisfying stay. The hotel itself was in great condition, but the level of service we received was not fantastic, nor was the quality of our sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Admissions
Pennsylvania
Nov 25, 2013

Weekend Vaca

Great hotel! We were in town to see a show and it was a good choice for a good price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie33
Albuquerque, NM
Nov 14, 2013

Great location!!

I love to stay at this hotel because it is conveniently located to Chinatown and the metro (you can get to the red line without leaving the hotel!). The staff are very helpful and the rooms are good size. I order room service and it was fast and yummy. I called to request an item I forgot to pack (they have items like flat irons, phone chargers, etc. - which I love) but unfortunately they didn't have it, which kind of defeats the purpose of this amenity. Even with that issue, I was very comfortable at this hotel and will continue to stay here when I visit Washington, DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a beer lover, Capitol City Brewery is located caddy-corner to the hotel! The restaurant has great food too - super easy and convenient for travelers. I always love going there when I stay at this hotel!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joanie pony
Orlando
Oct 22, 2013

Trip to dc

Hotel is to big for my liking. Long,long way to get to room. Very,very large hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great museums

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph from Boston.
Boston, MA
Sep 26, 2013

Good hotel, excellent location

Location is very convenient. Hotel interior is outstanding. Rooms are pretty large, comfortable, bathroom - modest. Internet $16 for 24 hours. Staff - perfect, all requests were serviced immediately. Many places to eat in with modest prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Clyde's at 707 7th St and taco's place across the street from it .

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary G.C
NJ
Sep 24, 2013

weekend getaway

staff was very friendly.bathroom and bedroom was clean.parking was expensive though ,but its not affiliated with the hotel ,i think

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

china town is just a few blocks away

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vermont gal
Waterbury VT
Sep 24, 2013

Convenient location

Stayed while visiting family. Convenient location for our purpose. Other than sleeping there, did not use ant of the, amenities. It was very quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Reagan airport is very close to hotel.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZZZZTO
Florida
Sep 19, 2013

Great Hotel in super location

Helpful staff, attractive hotel, very good location for all DC sights and activities. Within walking distance of the Memorials , Mall and Monuments . Five minutes walk to the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many very good restaurants within a short walk from Hotel.

Back to menu Return to top