$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 28, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
492 out of 492
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viff
Boston,MA
Nov 6, 2012

GRAND HYATT

I have been visiting DC for six years now and I have tried different hotels and different locations. I no longer have to experiment, this is the perfect location for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MATCHBOX, ecelctic yet delicious but expect a wait on Friday evening or Saturday evening. We went for Sunday brunch and it was phenomenal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alec Z
Business
New York City
Dec 2, 2013

Nice Hotel, Bad Experience

I stayed for just one night, and was pleased by the look of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff upon check-in. All was fine until about 2am, when the tenants of the room next to us began playing spanish music on their TV and singing along. I was fast asleep by this point (a very sound sleeper), but when I awoke at 6am to the music next door, my girlfriend told me she had been unable to fall asleep all night. I called the front desk, informed them of the problem, and they said they would give the room a call. About half an hour later, the music was still playing, and the party was clearly still on. I called the front desk again, and asked for earplugs. Twenty minutes later, when the earplugs had still not arrived, I went down to the front desk to get earplugs directly (which the man at the front desk had to scrounge around for in the back room). Needless to say, this was a very unsatisfying stay. The hotel itself was in great condition, but the level of service we received was not fantastic, nor was the quality of our sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas fam
Business
Texas
Jan 10, 2014

Great location and hotel...security needs improvements

We stayed at this hotel during our summer vacation. We loved the convenient location near the metro. The hotel was beautiful and our room and amenities on the concierge level was very nice. The restaurants were delicious. I only have one complaint, but it is a big one, about their security. The early morning (about 5 am) of our checkout day a man started messing with our doorknob and trying to open it, and even after we told him through door to leave, he remained there about 5 minutes. He finally walked away, but we were very scared and called down to security during this time. They assured us they were on the way. I called back two more times. Finally about 6:20, I grabbed a pen for defense, and went down to the front desk myself to get help and they said security had never been notified. Very scary experience for my family with 2 kids. Will not stay there again just because of this incident. Too bad because its a very nice hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bishop 2
Business
San Rafael, Ca
Feb 27, 2014

Party time

Just my luck local college booked lots of rooms on my floor. From the looks of things many floors. slamming doors 3-4 times a minute. Parties in rooms. loud very loud, but hen everything came to light.. School busses assembled outside my 3 rd floor room from midnight to one am. Thought I was at a sporting event. loud . security should of done a better job. They took care of my room service bill and gave me breakfast. Sleep is what I was after.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ldyd
Business
florida
Apr 19, 2014

mini break

The location of the hotel was great, common areas and staff were also very nice.However our room was a disappointment, no marble bathroom, no soft sheets no plush bedding,all of which had been advertised, really the bathroom was basic at best,kinda of a dated remodel,as for the sheets they felt like sand paper,the air unit in room was also very dusty when on, made it difficult to sleep, we actually came away from our vacation more tired. We had been to DC before staying at a different hotel and had a wonderful stay, but because of better pricing decided to book this one, based on our experience, would not go back unless room was much improved. Its a Shame because everything else with this hotel was well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The traveling dr
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 1, 2014

For a grand club room, i found it overpriced

In general it was a good hotel. But it had several flaws, valet parking was terribly slow. And i payed more for a junior suite and ended up with a regular one just on the grand floor. Honestly, nothing grand about it. But everything else i guess was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Near the shopping stores. Great !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minnesota
Nov 13, 2010

it was ok

room was neat and clean. pillows were too big. free tv channel selection was very good. street noise was audible on the third floor. flags hanging from exterior of the building were faded. restaurants in the hotel were expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

arriving from national airport, take the metro to the hotel. it was not easy to find the hotel door, however, so have the hotel address handy in case you exit the metro on the street nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Nov 29, 2010

Not that impressed!

The hotel was beautiful inside and conveniently located close to the Metro. However, the indoor pool and Fit Club was a huge disappointment and there was no hot tub! The Grand Cafe and the Cure Bistro was nothing to brag about. I would select places outside of the hotel to eat instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
May 30, 2011

luxury hotel, sound proof no good

The hotel is beautiful and seems luxury. But when I'm at the room at night, the sound proof is bad and the joint room is noisy. Anyway, it's not bad, but not perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Aug 18, 2009

weekend stay

Easy drive to and from with parking. The pool was in the basement, small and crowded. Easy walk to the National Mall and museums. Family restaurant near by, Hyatt pricey for breakfast for a family. Having the Metro stop at the hotel a plus, a few minutes to Union Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walked to all the museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 27, 2009

Great location

This is an older hotel that has been nicely renovated and has a great location. The front desk staff are not helpful or service oriented but the bell staff and housekeeping are okay. Housekeeping will bang on the door at 9:00 a.m., even on weekends, so put the do not disturb sign out if you want to sleep late and use ear plugs because they will be banging on all the doors. The plumbing periodically whines loudly and sounds like a whale call. Avoid the overpriced restaurant there are many great restaurants nearby. The price is reasonable for what you receive and the location makes it worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown or Ave F and beyond 12th have plenty of nice restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top