$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
625 reviews
Great stay for parents' getaway

We had unexpected extra time in DC and since this hotel is centrally located, it was perfect for... See full review

  • Joy Educator
  • Jul 15, 2014
Great Time

I stayed at this hotel for the first time. it is conveniently located to a metro station. It's... See full review

  • Didi7484
  • Jul 15, 2014
Modern twelve story atrium hotel located 5 blocks from the Washington Convention Center and between the White House and Capitol Hill. This upscale hotel offers exceptional value for the business and leisure traveler. The Grand Hyatt Washington is located at Penn Quarter, with direct in lobby access to the metro. Beginning November 1, 2012 through March 5, 2013, the hotel will be undergoing a $23 Million renovation of all guestrooms, suites and guest corridors. The Grand Club will be closed starting December 15, 2012 after PM service and will reopen on January 2, 2013 for PM service. We care about making this process as seamless to you as possible, and therefore will make every attempt to isolate the work areas from our guest contact areas. We cannot wait to share our grand new rooms with you.

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom w

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (625)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
625 out of 625
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WendyKrealtor
Manalapan, NJ
Jul 21, 2013

Did not expect such a beautiful hotel

From the moment my family and I walked in we were treated like royalty. Lovely place. Restaurants a little high but great food. What should I expect we were in the heart of DC. Very compfortable. Did not want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask staff about restaurants outside of the hotel. They are really good with ideas for saving money.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rail Road Visitor
Business
Michigan
Mar 17, 2014

Friendly and Safe

The staff was very friendly they made me feel safe and pampered over. Would definitely say at the Hotel again. I will make it my base of operation when I am in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway while in DC takes you where you want to go.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cocorata
Business
Denver
Mar 16, 2014

Great last minute book

It was the best deal downtown 2 days before my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BettyB123
New Jersey
Mar 10, 2014

Great Hotel

My husband and I spent a Saturday night there. The hotel is beautiful on the inside with a huge atrium in the middle. Our room was clean and comfortable with modern furnishings. Great staff. Excellent location for museums, penn quarter restaurants and the national mall. Also close to Metro stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
laya labo shady
king of prussia, pa
Mar 9, 2014

great stay!

The service is phenomenal, rooms are very clean and comfortable and the location is perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bishop 2
San Rafael, Ca
Feb 27, 2014

Party time

Just my luck local college booked lots of rooms on my floor. From the looks of things many floors. slamming doors 3-4 times a minute. Parties in rooms. loud very loud, but hen everything came to light.. School busses assembled outside my 3 rd floor room from midnight to one am. Thought I was at a sporting event. loud . security should of done a better job. They took care of my room service bill and gave me breakfast. Sleep is what I was after.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JamesEC
Business
Rochester NY
Feb 25, 2014

Never again

$34 per night to park with no in and out privileges or $45 if you want them, breakfast buffet $24 per person, lobby furniture was worn out and torn. room was so hot we couldn't sleep and thermostat would only read 65 which it never got to. also noise all night long in hallway and restaurants in lobby closed by 6pm. Never again folks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Washington Bar and Grille was good place to eat with great variety

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Southern Beach Girl
Business
Charleston, South Carolina
Feb 23, 2014

Fantastic Hotel

The Grand Hyatt in Washinton is an awesome hotel with great amenities! I loved staying here! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Forever 21 is just across the street from the hotel near the gym side of the hotel which is awesome!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle traveling
Michigan
Feb 11, 2014

Great location

Right at downtown, near great restaurants and all the tourist spots/museums. The quality is what you'll expect at Hyatt. But like most high-end hotels, you'll need to pay for all the extras: wifi, toothbrush if you forgot it etc.; whereas the middle range hotels they tend to be complimentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great crepe place just 1 block away. Many great restaurants near the Verizon center too, only a 5-10min walk.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steffdogg7
NJ
Feb 10, 2014

LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THE HYATT

The location is perfect. Walking distance to the museums, monument, verizon center and 100 different eateries. The staff was exceptional. Room was clean. Exceeded my expectations for booking through a 3rd party. Booked a king, got a king. Highly reccomend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LucDC
NC
Feb 4, 2014

Happy with my stay

Hotel staff is helpful and very polite. Asked to change from a double bed to a king size bed right after check in and they were very quick and accommodating. Hotel is close to metro station, major attractions and tour bus stop. No free parking or breakfast, but other than that, not a bad choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paul Deli has a great french style breakfast just a few blocks away. Hotel bistro also great, but not many options to choose from

Back to menu Return to top