$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
620 reviews
Grand Hyatt DC

This hotel is one of a few which we would rate as welcoming. We go on a trip but don't stay many... See full review

  • Sennen
  • Jun 24, 2014
Great stay in a perfect location

The Grand Hyatt is located very conveniently and the rooms were very comfortable and up to date. See full review

  • kennyc2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King or 2 double beds /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom with cres

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (620)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
620 out of 620
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sena
Bolton, CT
Jul 12, 2010

DC visit

good location....clean and comfortable rooms....easy access to the MALL area...access to the metro...but nothing GRAND about it all!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the cafe du park at the Willard intercontinental...food is great and the waiter "[...]" ha s story about the time be served Obama and Biden...although little on the steeper side...

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I am back again
LA
Jan 17, 2012

It could be better...

Having great location in town, but disappointed with the cleanliness, meanwhile, lobby attendent looks bit cold there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kris2012
Business
Orlando fl
Jun 9, 2012

Overvalued - find alternative

I paid $300 per night for 2 days in early June for a conference. Good location and upon entering well lit and classy. Staff was friendly and conference rooms were good. Bed was comfy. Bad things: 8th floor outside room had loud A/c fan noise. Glass walls are not well insulated. Heavy noise from vehicles outside and had trouble sleeping. 10$ charge for gym per day and for reason they are rationing towels. Was incorrectly invoiced for 89$ dinner that never had - friendly staff corrected it during check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk towards china town and execellent places to dine.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chesapeake, VA
Nov 29, 2010

Not that impressed!

The hotel was beautiful inside and conveniently located close to the Metro. However, the indoor pool and Fit Club was a huge disappointment and there was no hot tub! The Grand Cafe and the Cure Bistro was nothing to brag about. I would select places outside of the hotel to eat instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L.Carr
Winchester, VA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Failed to notify of overbooking

I often stay at this hotel and was appalled when I arrived the day of check in and was told they made an error and overbooked. I understand this happens but was furious that I made the drive out there to be told my room was downgraded from a 2 queen bed to a queen pullout. Not a queen bed w/ a pullout but just a pullout!The clerk tried to bring light to the situation by giving me free breakfast and $40 credit but it didn't make up for the amount I paid and the room I originally choose. She then told me there was no way to contact me to inform me that they didn't have a room but yet upon booking you are required to enter your contact information. I didn't even know rooms like that existed. The hotel overall is lovely and the best in my book so I would recommend to others but call beforehand to make sure they didn't give your room up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas fam
Texas
Jan 10, 2014

Great location and hotel...security needs improvements

We stayed at this hotel during our summer vacation. We loved the convenient location near the metro. The hotel was beautiful and our room and amenities on the concierge level was very nice. The restaurants were delicious. I only have one complaint, but it is a big one, about their security. The early morning (about 5 am) of our checkout day a man started messing with our doorknob and trying to open it, and even after we told him through door to leave, he remained there about 5 minutes. He finally walked away, but we were very scared and called down to security during this time. They assured us they were on the way. I called back two more times. Finally about 6:20, I grabbed a pen for defense, and went down to the front desk myself to get help and they said security had never been notified. Very scary experience for my family with 2 kids. Will not stay there again just because of this incident. Too bad because its a very nice hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bizpsych
Waukesha, WI
Aug 23, 2009

Very Good Rates

The room we got was near the elevators and it was noisy pretty much all of the time. The new restaurant in the hotel was also very disappointing. However, the location was perfect for our sightseeing, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at the Cafe Atlantico, which is certainly a world class restaurant.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RichmondToughCritic
Richmond, VA
Dec 31, 2009

Staff Not Concerned

There was construction going on in the hotel and they started using a jack hammer prior to 8:00am. Additionally, the housekeeping staff started knocking on the door prior to 8:00am. When told we were still in bed, they came back only 30 minutes later. When I checked out the staff did not seem at all concerned about the inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for seeing the major DC sites from a walking distance.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
P.K.
Tampa FL.
Sep 17, 2012

Family and Business visit

Good location and convenient esp by Metro.Rooms still have old beds and old furniture, but it is not bad, just average, Staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm a back seat driver
New Hampshire
Aug 7, 2013

Quick weekend getaway

My flight arrived late to Philly and it took a long time to get to DC so we arrived very late. After midnight actually. I reserved a King bed, wound up getting a pull out sofa bed because we arrived very late and they were booked solid. Not sure if this could have been prevented, although I did make specific reservations I overheard another desk clerk telling a different customer it was pretty much first come, first served. The sofa bed actually turned out to have a comfortable memory foam mattress and they comped us access to a special room with free breakfast, snacks and desserts that was surprisingly well appointed. Some of the staff could use some training in being nicer. They seemed to be either stressed or just miserable. But I encountered two other staff members who were very pleasant and helpful so I guess the others were just having a bad day. When we first arrived and I found out we would be sleeping on a sofa bed I was angry but all in all it turned out to be OK. FYI, things in DC are very expensive. Good thing the Smithsonian museums are free! We also took the Old Town Trolly tour which was great! The trolly has a stop at the hotel. I would like to go back and spend longer so we can see more. Lots to see, not enough time. Also, having the Metro stop in the hotel is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top