$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
492 out of 492
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ralph C.
Clemmons, NC
Apr 16, 2014

It Was Great!

When we checked in there was a glitch in their system and they temporarily lost our reservation. I asked the person doing the checking in for us to get a manager. A manager was promptly called and the situation was corrected at once. As a token of their concern for our happiness they gave us free access to the Hyatt Gold Club which included free breakfast, afternoon snacks and free soft drinks through out our stay and reduced pricing on mixed drinks, wine and beer through-out our stay. The staff was very nice and professional, the room was clean and comfortable plus everyone working there always seemed happy to see us whether we were just going out in the morning or coming in at night. As in all of Washington there were homeless people on the streets but we felt safe and secure at the hotel. Parking is available in the basement and for 5 nights self-park it was $170 which we felt was a little steep but then again parking is at a premium in Washington. The hotel is centrally located and everything from the museums to the monuments and great restaurants was easily within walking distance or accessible by the Metro Subway which is accessible within the hotel itself. All in all we greatly enjoyed our visit to Washington and a large part of this was because of the great service we received at the Grand Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Join the Hyatt Gold Club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
60th Birthday Guy
Business
The Buckeye State
Sep 3, 2014

Football Weekend

Hotel has a great location next to the Metro walking distance to Chinatown and the National Portrait gallery. We had noisy neighbors one night other than that a great stay. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The National portrait gallery atrium is great place for a light snack and unwind.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelTimeNow
Business
New York
Sep 2, 2014

Great stay!

Everything about our stay was great. The staff was friendly, our room was clean, comfortable and luxurious and over all this stay was near perfect.No complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proud Army Spouse
Business
Seattle, Wa
Sep 2, 2014

Beautiful but not worth it.

First off, the staff were very friendly. A+ The hotel lobby was gorgeous and it was nice having a Starbucks at my fingertips. The breakfast buffet $24 per person) was delicious but a bit overpriced for breakfast. I could see that kind of pricing for dinner. Our room was wheel chair accessible and the shower leaked out across the whole bathroom and bedroom hallway. Leak is an understatement. Flood is more appropriate. I was surprised that we had to pay for internet, parking was $52 (27 hours), no fridge or microwave and the pool closed at 5:30 pm. I would not stay here again. Not a good price for what you get, which is basically a mattress and a smile....!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you forget something there's a Forever 21 nearby!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hender
Business
Fairfield, Va
Aug 29, 2014

great amenities

The wait staff in the restaurants were especially attantive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Srussell
Business
Pittsboro nc
Aug 20, 2014

Little over priced for amenities

No free wifi and room service over priced. Good location. Front desk not very informative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
preggomom
Business
Lebanon, PA
Aug 19, 2014

great hotel to see the sites

Great location, beautiful hotel, friendly staff, overall a great experience. My only complaint was the air conditioner in the room was really loud and had a strange cycle that disrupted my sleep. Granted, we were on the 6th floor and it was August so the thing had to work pretty hard. Otherwise, wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Saturday and Sunday parking in the city is pretty cheap and there is a lot across the street from the hotel. Save your money om a weekend and don't park at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gold Softball Coach
Business
Coventry, RI
Aug 18, 2014

Excellent place for a DC family vacation!

Rooms were big and clean. The breakfast buffet that was included in the price of the room was great. Only thing that could have made the buffet better was waffles! The location of the hotel is perfect - within walking distance to many things! The Metro access in the hotel was a definite plus - I recommend getting a pass for the Metro - we used it all the time and it is very easy to figure out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Many excellent restaurants in and around the hotel. Most hotels in DC have great restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Grandma Sue
Business
Des Moine, IA
Aug 17, 2014

Great for DC Exploration

My teenage grandson and I spent 4 days in DC and walked everywhere. We were just a few blocks from the White House, a few blocks from the Mall, a couple of blocks from Chinatown --- all of the museums were in easy walking distance. And the hotel and its staff were wonderful. I definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a convenient and comfortable base for exploring DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi Aoi is a few blocks from the Grand Hyatt -- food was great and the ambiance comfortable. Inside and outside dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flitz
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 4, 2014

Good location, good hotel

Nicely located, spacious atrium atmosphere. It would help if they had banks of elevators at each end of atrium as our room was on the other side of hotel from elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YAYA Ro
Business
Houston TX
Aug 2, 2014

It was good, but parking is expensive

For location and the room are pretty good. But the parking fee is really expensive. $37/day, but if you drive out, each time you come back to park, it will cost another $37USD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top