$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
455 reviews
great hotel to see the sites

Great location, beautiful hotel, friendly staff, overall a great experience. My only complaint was... See full review

  • preggomom
  • Aug 19, 2014
Excellent place for a DC family vacation!

Rooms were big and clean. The breakfast buffet that was included in the price of the room was... See full review

  • Gold Softball Coach
  • Aug 18, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom w

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (455)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
455 out of 455
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BettyB123
New Jersey
Mar 10, 2014

Great Hotel

My husband and I spent a Saturday night there. The hotel is beautiful on the inside with a huge atrium in the middle. Our room was clean and comfortable with modern furnishings. Great staff. Excellent location for museums, penn quarter restaurants and the national mall. Also close to Metro stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stroudsburg, PA
Mar 2, 2010

Weekend Trip

Hotel was beautiful, staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was located right next to the elevator (room # 1187) and we heard it the entire night which was disappointing because the room was beautiful and clean. Great mini bar and flat screen T.V. Breakfast buffet was okay but not great and the restaurant downstairs was good for a quick bite but mostly a "bar food" selection. Not a lot of restaurants in walking distance. Really great location for walking distance to monuments and Warner Theater. Not a good spot for those looking for any type of night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MD
Feb 22, 2010

Great Place

great place to stay- perfect location for sight seeing and restuarants!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Great stay, great price

Needed a room for a weekend wedding. They were very polite, the facilities are BEAUTIFUL and the rooms were clean. I did not like that when I tried to call for early check-in, I was put on hold or transferred about 6-9 times, and eventually hung up on twice. They were too busy and so was the manager. Also, the lady that cleaned our room didn't restock our bathroom supplies and did not make our beds. But for the price, we couldn't beat it,[...]. Located right next to the Metro w/in walking distance to eats and banks, etc. Fitness (best fitness center ever) and internet charges though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cabs are jerks out there, be careful not to get ripped off.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha NE
Jan 20, 2010

Great value

The location can't be beat and we obtained a great special rate. Close to the metro (you don't even have to go outside), $2.00 ride to Reagan Nat'l, and within walking distance of the Mall. The only complaint we had was the water pressure of the showers was a little low...but otherwise great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Take to Metro located entrace located beneath the hotel.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valley Forge, PA
Jan 18, 2010

Good price for the locatio and amenities

This hotel is in a great location!! 2 blocks to Chinatown, and direct access to Metro Center subway station. The room is a great size and it had the biggest tv I've ever seen in a hotel room, 46" HD flat screen. The sports bar is nice, Cure is a little overpriced and presuptuous, but otherwise the hotel has pretty good food offerings, if you aren't in the mood to go looking for a meal. Never got to the pool/ gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

When in DC on a Sunday go to Sunday brunch at Levente's. Take Metro to Dupont Circle (red line towards Shady Grove) and exit towards Dupont Circle south. Its across the sleep from the station exit. Look for the blue sign. The best Greek/ Turkish food you will ever have.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frugal Steve
Fort Collins, CO
Jan 5, 2010

Way beyond my expectations!

It was a beautiful hotel with an entrance to the subway. It was centrally located so that we could have walked to most attractions if we wanted to. They were doing construction in the room across the hall but they did not start until 8:30am and the hotel gave us breakfasts that was not part of our package. The staff was very plesant and helpful. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

That area is pretty much a food desert, you can only get restraunts and fast food. We did find a grocery store on one of the subway line to buy soda and snacks. Make the trip to the grocery store the first day so that you save money and eat better.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mobile, AL
Jan 4, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Very good location. Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Access to metro from the hotel

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SRQ homebound
Tallahassee, Florida
Jan 4, 2010

Nice Hotel but like to overbook

The First night I had prepaid for my stay but they had given away my room that night. So I got to stay in the living room part of a suite on a queen sofa bed. If it was just me that would have been fine but there were 3 guys staying in a room with only a queen sofa bed... The next night we were moved into another room with the beds we had requested but nothing like a bad situation to start off your vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The Hotel has its own underground entrance to the Metro Subway system. It is great! Its directly on top of the Metro Center stop!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nitpik
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 3, 2010

Terrific stay at Grand Hyatt

This stay really represented the ideal, appropriate hotel experience for us. The staff was gracious and accommodating. The location could not have been better. The rooms are large enough to stay a week and be quite comfortable. The premier restaurant on site, CURE, could have been more inviting but this is a small issue as there are so many really nice places to dine nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy Penn Quarter and all of its many attractions including dining, nightlife, shopping, theater and sports...just fantastic!!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jan 1, 2010

Overnight at the Grand Hyatt in Washingt

The main floor lobby area spans the entire hotel footprint. It's very comfortable and inviting for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search