$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
492 out of 492
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SoCal121
LA, CA
Jan 8, 2013

Night out

Hotel was very nice and staff was excellent. Walls are a little thin, you could hear toilet flushing from next door and the guests laughing and talking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny Riff
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Washington Hyatt

The hotel was good, but the rooms were noisy. I could hear everyone in the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fine Diner
Business
Saco, ME
Jan 3, 2011

Great location!

This hotel is in a great location, right in the Penn Quarter, near the Mall, Chinatown, the convention center, etc. There is an indoor entrance to the Metro at Metro Center so it was easy to travel to other areas of the city. The Smithsonian's art museum and the Spy Museum are nearby. The hotel room was a small basic room with a king-sized bed; this was satisfactory because we only needed it to sleep in. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful in answering our questions. We would definitely stay here again! We walked to several excellent restaurants in the Penn Quarter: Jaleo (Spanish tapas), Zaytinya (Greek and Turkish mezes and excellent spit-roasted leg of lamb), and Oyjamel (the best Mexican cuisine we have ever had). We also took the Metro to Eastern Market and enjoyed the Belga restaurant (great Belgian food and beers).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an open-air parking lot across the street from this hotel, run by the city, that is significantly cheaper to use than any of the parking garages at the hotel or in the area. If you do not need to use your car during your stay, this can save you some money. The Mega.bus and the Bolt.bus both drop off and pick up passengers in this parking lot if you're traveling this way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Artiste
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jul 7, 2011

Not what I paid for...but fine

I booked, and was guaranteed,three nights for an atrium view room with two double beds. When I arrived, there were no doubles available, so they had to cram us into a king room...with rollaways (ugh!..they are awful!) for the first evening. The desk was super apologetic, but there was nothing they could do. The second and third evenings we were moved to a double...but not the atrium view. Aside from that, our stay was great. The hotel has its own Starbucks in the lobby (always a plus!), sits above a Metro stop,is close to great shopping and restaurants, and very clean. The staff is helpful and friendly, and eager to assist with any problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a ten minute walk to the National Mall...or a short Metro trip (or taxi cab ride) to Georgetown, the National Cathedral, Zoo, or Arlington attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canberra, ACT, Australia
Jul 10, 2010

Wonderful, luxurious hotel

Unfortunately, we only stay one day & one night here. We arrived very late and check in after 9:00pm. Everyone needed a good rest and we all did. We have a spaces room, very comfortable beds and very good night. After checked out, we went and started out sight seeing and have managed to see most of the attraction that we wanted to see. We have a very dinner at the Old Ebbitt Grill and make one final stopped at the Washington monument. Tonight we are staying at the Hilton Garden Inn,Baltimore Flying out early tomorrow to Niagara fall.So far, our trip has been more pleasant since I found the [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice meals, happy place, good service and good price at Old Ebbitt Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 26, 2010

Great location

We thought the location was great especially with the Metro right there. We had easy access to the area for walking and using the Metro system. The Concierge never steered us wrong on recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stroudsburg, PA
Mar 2, 2010

Weekend Trip

Hotel was beautiful, staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was located right next to the elevator (room # 1187) and we heard it the entire night which was disappointing because the room was beautiful and clean. Great mini bar and flat screen T.V. Breakfast buffet was okay but not great and the restaurant downstairs was good for a quick bite but mostly a "bar food" selection. Not a lot of restaurants in walking distance. Really great location for walking distance to monuments and Warner Theater. Not a good spot for those looking for any type of night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ct.
Dec 31, 2009

good price

short walk to the mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duponter
Business
Minneapolis
May 31, 2011

Surprisingly upscale at a low price

I was in DC for the weekend and stayed one night in this hotel. The common spaces were impressive, service was professional and courteous, and the room was spacious and comfortable. Very glad I randomly chose this hotel from the long list of options—had a first class experience at a coach price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 1, 2010

Overnight at the Grand Hyatt in Washingt

The main floor lobby area spans the entire hotel footprint. It's very comfortable and inviting for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matoaka
Business
Gloucester, VA
Feb 8, 2011

Lovely hotel

This trip was planned in only a few days. This may have been the reason for not having knowledge of choices of parking. The bathroom tub would not drain properly which made it difficult for taking more than one shower. We would have liked a fan in the bathroom to keep the moisture problem to a minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a lovely evening at Good Stuff Eatery and highly recommend a visit there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top