$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
410 reviews
Nearly perfect

Location is excellent -- great for the business traveler. Metro Station, which is serviced by three... See full review

  • This Nickname business is
  • Apr 14, 2014
We loved it!

We enjoyed our stay. It was awesome. The rooms were clean, kids enjoyed the pool, amenities we... See full review

  • cdccdc
  • Apr 8, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King or 2 double beds /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom with cres

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (410)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
410 out of 410
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
Halina
Boston, MA
Aug 19, 2013

Grand Hyatt

My stay in Washington DC on H street was the perfect venue for my conference at the Verizon Center. Restaurants inside the hotel with coffee and breakfast, lunch menus was wonderful practical and accessible. Close to many wonderful restaurants, museums. The room was clean, comfortable and cozy. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great eaterys in walking distance, museums, church and garages.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
Eser
Turkey
Dec 28, 2009

Good service

I think I am happy with the hotel. Breakfast was exp but good. Room was good, heating in the room was good. Location was not bad not very good but we easly walked everywhere. We have stayed just 3 days so I can not give you more information . If I need to change something about the hotel I guess it would be about the decoration of the restaurant. First when I saw the bar area I didnt want to eat there since it looks like cheap. But since we were late an tired we have eatten at the bar. And the food was better than I thought. Last day we want to have breakfast at hotel before our departure. Again I had the same feeling but 1) it was delicous 2) staff and presantation was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Central Maryland
Dec 28, 2009

Gran Hyatt, Washington

Great Hotel, Fantastic staff, & Great Location!! Short walking distance to museums, Washington Monument & White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
CaitB
Washington, DC
Dec 27, 2009

Great hotel for a great price!

I just had a wonderful night in this beautiful hotel. I surprised my boyfriend for our one year anniversary by taking him here. The room was beautiful; it had granite countertops in the bathroom and on the dresser, as well as a huge flat screen tv. The room size was great, and the bed was so comfy we didn't want to leave in the morning! The only issue was the noise coming from the guests next door. The walls were pretty thin, so we woke up hearing children playing around, screaming, sneezing, and what not. But, other than that, the hotel is gorgeous. I would definitely recommend getting a room on the 12th floor like we did, and the one that overlooks the gorgeous atrium. I will definitely be back to celebrate another romantic occasion at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located just a few blocks from ChinaTown, so there are plenty of restaurants, a movie theater, museums, and more just a short walk down H st.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
ny
Dec 22, 2009

great hotel

The hotel is great! Our window faced the outside as opposed to the atrium due to some construction in the lobby, so we did encounter some noise from the street but otherwise great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New York, NY
Dec 20, 2009

College Travel

First Class Hotel. Room was only $100, Great Value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
Dec 16, 2009

Grand Hyatt

Overall, very good. However, I do not expect to see only margarine suppied at the breakfast buffet. When butter requested, a single small pat was provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
rayne La.
Dec 8, 2009

Just for two

Hotel was great, with easy access to the subway right in the hotel how easy is that.A little noisy from guest slamming doors one night but all in all great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

USE THE METRO FOR TAVEL COST IS AFFORDABLE and gets utheir fast

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
Card club friends
Michigan
Dec 7, 2009

Perfect Location.

Perfect spot for girls' pre Christmas weekend...very comfortable...fine staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Dec 5, 2009

Great hotel, location

This is a beautiful hotel, well located to the Mall and museums. Very helpful staff. Clean, comfortable room, plenty of linens, elevators at the ready all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro station access in hotel was convenient. Staff member gave us directions and help. The only negative comment was for happy hour wine tasting. The snacks were pickled vegetables--no cheese, wings, or tapas type food. For $12 each, we expected more.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
Happy family.
Livingston, NJ
Nov 30, 2009

The good and the bad.

The great experience about the Hotel is the professionalism friendlyness of the staff. The entrance is very beautiful. The location it is the best! However, the pool was not clean at all! We could see the dirty on the bottom and floating on the water. My son was very disappointed, because I did not let him in the pool. The room was not clean either, I was very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The price on the Hotel was reasonable,and the location it is really great. Walking distance to dining, shopping and museums. Great for families!

Back to menu Return to top