$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
518 out of 518
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SoCal121
LA, CA
Jan 8, 2013

Night out

Hotel was very nice and staff was excellent. Walls are a little thin, you could hear toilet flushing from next door and the guests laughing and talking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 26, 2011

Not Clean

I initally had to change rooms upon check in as I was given an atrium room and the sliding glass doors would not fully close-just enough room for the toddler to get through, not enough room for an adult to get through to get him. The second room we were in was not clean! I reported a very specific list of items to housekeeping: Trash behind dresser (clearly visible when I sat down on the bed to take off my shoes), trash left by the previous person in the room on top of the dresser, what looked like a dark liquid sprayed on the bathroom door to above the doorknob level, dirty backsplash (toothpaste foam i hope) clearly visible, hair in the bathtub, and a mini-fridge that had 1/2 inch of water in the bottom. Housekeeping took care of the following: removal of trash and wiping portions of door. I complained again the next day. The door was still not taken care of, I washed the tub, the refrigerator was not changed out (I guess I understand this), the door was not wiped, the backsplash was not wiped (all week). I became weary of complaining. I was on vacation after all. Upon checkout, the breakfast that they "comped" me was still on the bill. Why should I have to take care of this? There are other things, including the floor was not vacuumed all week based on floor debris, but this review is too long already. Suffice to say, I have never taken time to do one of these, but do not stay in this hotel. It is not a 4-star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Jul 19, 2011

Overal GOOD

The only real problem was about the Noise we could hear from next room !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Street Parking is available, Also some close by Parking Lots are half the price of the Hotel Parking lot

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 11, 2011

Great location!

This hotel is beautiful and perfectly located within walking distance of the mall, museums, and china town. Parking is a bit expensive, so I rode the metro in. The metro stop is on the same block as the hotel, so it doesn't get more convenient than that! There are plenty of dining options at different price points in and around the hotel and the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The only downside is that they charge $15.99 for each 24hrs of wireless for [...]customers and they don't let you earn reward points when booking through [...]. Felt a bit punished for that, but hey, it was more than $100 less than their regular room price! The bed was super comfy and the room was very clean and well ventilated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The basement of the hotel connects to the Metro Center metro stop. Take the metro in or use public parking nearby for about $15/day because hotel parking is $30/day.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Artiste
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jul 7, 2011

Not what I paid for...but fine

I booked, and was guaranteed,three nights for an atrium view room with two double beds. When I arrived, there were no doubles available, so they had to cram us into a king room...with rollaways (ugh!..they are awful!) for the first evening. The desk was super apologetic, but there was nothing they could do. The second and third evenings we were moved to a double...but not the atrium view. Aside from that, our stay was great. The hotel has its own Starbucks in the lobby (always a plus!), sits above a Metro stop,is close to great shopping and restaurants, and very clean. The staff is helpful and friendly, and eager to assist with any problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a ten minute walk to the National Mall...or a short Metro trip (or taxi cab ride) to Georgetown, the National Cathedral, Zoo, or Arlington attractions.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
raleigh nc
Jul 4, 2011

Very nice!

stayed for one night during 4th of July weekend. We were able to nook a room last minute and when we showed up early, they let us check in early. Great room and great location. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Jun 18, 2011

a week in washington

they charged 16.00 a day for internet, and 10.00 a day for pool and workout area use. That was new for me... The hotel is in a great location; overall I loved my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bel Air, MD
Jun 16, 2011

Nice hotel with good service

Nice hotel and great location; was on a trip to visit the National Mall and other museum's. Staff was attentive to intial problem and responded immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Capital City Brewing; terffic place to grab a bite.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anniverary
Business
Washington DC
Jun 12, 2011

Perfect for weekend getaway

Beutifull hotel. Room was great. Only downside was 30 a night to park. Saturday night, we found a space on on of the streets close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Only downside was 30 a night to park. Saturday night, we found a space on on of the streets close by.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joan Happy traveler
Business
Lafayette, CA
Jun 4, 2011

Great Place to Stay

Not having been to D.C. in over 20 years, we were not sure where to stay. It turned out that this location was perfect. We used the Metro, walked, and occasionally used a cab. It was convenient to get to tour buses as well as to go off on our own. It was close to many eating places. The service at the hotel was very good. All the staff and personnel were helpful and friendly. The accomodations were very nice. The accomodations were very nice. Se would definitely go there again and recommend it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveling gps
Business
Oakland, CA
Jun 4, 2011

Washington DC gem

The Grand Hyatt was in the best location: minutes from most attractions, close to the Metro Center (has own a/c walkway to station), shops, restaurants. Early check-in was available, as was late check-out. Concierge was most helpful in booking tours. I'd rate all staff members as 5-star for their service -- friendly, reliable, personable. Our room was spacious, clean. Just wish there were a little refrigerator. Overall, I'd stay again & recommend this hotel without hesitation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the advice of Concierge [...]. He was most helpful, especially with his knowledge of all the tours and attractions.

Back to menu Return to top