$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
479 out of 479
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Apr 24, 2011

It's very good.

I asked them to change one king bed room to 2-bed room. The front desk staff explained to me no room available that night, but they did it next day and moved our luggage for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

They always give the local maps to their customers. It's very helpful for travelers like as.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 16, 2011

Dated, worn out and not worth it...

This hotel has gone way past its expiry date. For the price, I would have expected a lot more. Here is an example of what the room was like: - the paint on the bathroom door is chipping away noticably - the grout in the bathtub was cracking and stained (from what, I have no idea) - the TV cable signal was weak and needed to be repaired during our stay - the handle on the door was mounted up/down instead of left/right - a bit cheap on the amenities (i.e., soap, etc) - there is no paper in the room to write on I would strongly recommend that you try one of the other hotels in the area if you are in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Martinsburg, WV
Apr 11, 2011

A Grand weekend in Washington

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for my birthday. The weather and scenery were great; it was just at the end of Cherry Blossom festival. The hotel was very clean and beautiful. The room was spacious, had a comfortable bed, and a beautiful view into the atrium which was especially nice after dark. The breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Grand Hyatt is in a GREAT location for sightseeing on foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is VERY close to the International Spy Museum and the Verizon Center, not to mention LOTS of great restaurants, like Asia Nine

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 21, 2011

Very Pleasant

Very comfortable and clean. Staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Mar 21, 2011

Great!

Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matoaka
Business
Gloucester, VA
Feb 8, 2011

Lovely hotel

This trip was planned in only a few days. This may have been the reason for not having knowledge of choices of parking. The bathroom tub would not drain properly which made it difficult for taking more than one shower. We would have liked a fan in the bathroom to keep the moisture problem to a minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a lovely evening at Good Stuff Eatery and highly recommend a visit there.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FoodD
Business
Boston MA
Jan 30, 2011

Stop nickel and dimeing me.

Room is fine but they charge for the fitness center, charge for the wifi. It's annoying. It makes them look cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Walk right into Metro

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rayboysmom
Business
Houston, Texas
Jan 20, 2011

What a great location!

The hotel itself was amazing! We flew into DC, so didn't use or rent a car. I did think charging me for a local call to a restaurant (which actually was inside the hotel) was a little silly. Also, they charge for internet access - WHAT? Overall, a FAB stay at Grand Hyatt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to be a true tourist - go ahead & purchase a ticket for a tour bus of sorts. It can help with time from location to location. The old trolley is located a 1 1/2 blocks away from the hotel - acrss from Ford's Theatre. Great location!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington dc
Jan 18, 2011

hyatt hotel

Had a great stay, very comfortable but a few glitches were, the bellcap staff was painfully slow. They will not allow you to get a cart yourself, so you have to wait and we had to leave. We waited 55 minutes for a bellcap. If they would allow you to get your own cart it would have been no problem, but they wont. Also they have a business center that charges you to use a computer and print. I paid 6.00 to print 4 pages. I thought for it to be a business hotel and travel hub that ammenity would have been included. And people had thrown up by ice machine and it wasnt cleaned until 12pm the next day. The atrium, and the room was very nice but they could work on efficiency and staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

great location for entertainment, sports, food.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fine Diner
Business
Saco, ME
Jan 3, 2011

Great location!

This hotel is in a great location, right in the Penn Quarter, near the Mall, Chinatown, the convention center, etc. There is an indoor entrance to the Metro at Metro Center so it was easy to travel to other areas of the city. The Smithsonian's art museum and the Spy Museum are nearby. The hotel room was a small basic room with a king-sized bed; this was satisfactory because we only needed it to sleep in. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful in answering our questions. We would definitely stay here again! We walked to several excellent restaurants in the Penn Quarter: Jaleo (Spanish tapas), Zaytinya (Greek and Turkish mezes and excellent spit-roasted leg of lamb), and Oyjamel (the best Mexican cuisine we have ever had). We also took the Metro to Eastern Market and enjoyed the Belga restaurant (great Belgian food and beers).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an open-air parking lot across the street from this hotel, run by the city, that is significantly cheaper to use than any of the parking garages at the hotel or in the area. If you do not need to use your car during your stay, this can save you some money. The Mega.bus and the Bolt.bus both drop off and pick up passengers in this parking lot if you're traveling this way.

Back to menu Return to top